Friday Five-5 things I LOVE about Spring!

Although you wouldn’t know it by the snow falling in the Maryland area, but today is the 1st day of Spring! Yippeee!! I suppose since Spring doesn’t officially start until 6 pm today, Mother Nature has time to do the right thing and warm the temperature up.  I am waiting Mother Nature…tick…tock!

dc_linkup

Today is Friday fives with Cynthia, Courtney and Mar…today’s theme is Spring. Spring is my second favorite season (Fall being my 1st).

5 things I love about spring:

1. My 1st born’s birthday!

7 years ago on a beautiful spring day of April 9th, I gave birth to my 1st born and my life has never been the same! Aidyn stole my heart from the moment I saw him and my love grows for him every day! He is a ‘mama’s boy’ and I love it!  He is the most caring, kind, sensitive, articulate and intelligent boy I know. I know I am a bit biased but he really is! I can’t believe he is going to be 7! I am cherishing every moment! AE

2. Running in the National Cherry Blossom 10 miler.

This was my 1st time entering the lottery and I was selected! I am so excited! It is suppose to be the peak week for the Cherry Blossoms the weekend of the race, It will be so beautiful if it is! running in the Nation’s Capital with them in full bloom will be a great experience. cherry blossoms

3. Mother’s Day and Race for the Cure (They fall on the same weekend)

What can I say, my mother is my world.  1 1/2 years ago, she had a massive heart attack and we almost lost her. The thought to this day brings tears to my eyes and heaviness to my heart.  From September 2013-June 2014, I was unemployed and was able to be by her side every step of her recovery.  I am a strong believer in everything happening for a reason.  If I were still employed as a school Director, I would not have been able to be there for my mom. However, since I had resigned at the end of the summer session, I was available and I would not have had it any other way.  Everyday and every Mother’s Day, I celebrate her. 1452481_10152015134207296_601934638_n

Race for the Cure: I have run this race for as long as I can remember.  Last year was the most personal as my best friend had been diagnosed earlier in the year and so happy to say beat it!!! Take that breast cancer F-U! Every year, I run it for those who have beat it, those who are fighting, those who have lost the battle and for the continued awareness of this disease that takes too many too soon. me and jackieRAce for the cure

4. Spring Football Season!!!

My other active activity is playing women’s contact flag football with an amazing group of ladies.  I have been playing for over 12 years and after 2 ACL and 4 meniscus surgeries, I wont stop playing until the Dr. says its time to hang the cleats up!! We are 3 time National Champions and I am excited to start the season in April.  I will miss the 1st game as it is the same day as the Cherry Blossom 10 miler, but I will be there in spirit!

I'm focused man!

I’m focused man!

LAM flag pull

5. My husband’s birthday!

He is turning 40 this year!  I still can’t believe that I am the girl married with kids!! I met my husband on the football field and he is the coach of my women’s flag football team.  We make a good team! We have been married for 8 years-together 10 and everyday we are learning, growing and loving each other more. Every day is not perfect but we take it as we come and keep it moving.

Hubby

Happy 1st Day of Spring! What do you like/love about Spring?

18 thoughts on “Friday Five-5 things I LOVE about Spring!

  1. irun4pizza says:

    Happy First Day of Spring to you, too! My favorite part of Spring in now my annual Spring 50k! 9 days away, eek! Happy running!

    Like

Leave a Reply

