Weekend Update

Weekend Update Edition

It’s Monday so that means linking up with Tara at http://www.runningnreading.com for the weekend update!

FRIDAY

My weekend started on Friday night with my son’s Science Fair.  He is in 1st grade and was kind of excited about doing the science fair this year.  He had had a good experience doing last years Science Fair and wanted to participate again.  His science fair project was on taste perception.  The ‘judge’ said that he did a great job, was able to talk about his project well and knew exactly what he was trying to achieve and could describe his conclusion well’!

AE science 1 AE science 2

Proud mama moment!!

SATURDAY

On Saturday, I went for my 1st run since Rock and Roll DC last weekend.  I had been resting the week due to knee pain and sad feelings from the race (see previous post here-in case you missed it).  The run felt good-the air was crisp and getting out did wonders for my mood and energy.  It was a steady run, not running for pace-just needed to feel the goodness of my feet to the pavement.  I ended up running a 5k.

5k

Next up was kiddie activities of gymnastics and soccer.  My daughter started a new gymnastics class/location (Hills Gymnastics).  She had been taking gymnastics at another location but had begun to lose interest due to the high number of much younger participants in the class. This class is just right  for her with small groups and kids her same age.  She is really good (I know I am biased) but she is :).  She enjoyed the drop-in class and we will be signing her up permanently this upcoming weekend.  Then it was off to soccer for my son.  He has blossomed so much as a soccer player since starting last Fall.  When I asked him what sport he wanted to play, I thought he would have said Football as both his dad and I play but he choose soccer and is really good (I know I am biased but he is!).

ae soccer maddy gymnastics

Next we were off to a classmate’s birthday party. Nothing like kids, cake, pizza and rides!!! After 3 1/2 hrs-I was done and we headed home for some rest and relaxation (for mommy that is!)

SUNDAY

Sunday=Football Practice=Sore and Tired.  Football practice consists of drills, drills and more drills with sprints, sprints and more sprints!!! 2 hrs later it was off to Costco for kid lunch essentials and meat, veggies and sweet potatoes for my meal prep.

Meal Prepping:

I grill every weekend-even in the snow.  There is noting like grilled food! I season, grill and make sauces to add during the week to change up the taste (if needed).  I also make a batch of baked sweet potato cooked in coconut oil and have frozen veggies for a quick add to the meal.  This week I have chicken and steak. I will probably pick up some seafood sometime during the week to add variety.

This was from a few weeks ago-but you get the idea :)

This was from a few weeks ago-but you get the idea 🙂

In cleaning out my freezer,  I found some ripe bananas that I am sure I was saving to make something with and some point and since I needed room in the freezer took them out to make a banana bread.  We had 5 medium bananas so my son goggled ‘5 banana bread’ and found The Best Banana Bread recipe by Jaime at http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/.  This was super easy and turned out lovely and was DELICIOUS at breakfast this morning!

best banana 2 best banana

Before I knew it, it was bath, book and bedtime.  Put the kiddies to bed.

bedtime

Read a Chapter of Jodi Picoult’s The Storyteller and drifted off to sleep-well kind of…Spring has Spring which means Spring allergies :(.

How was your weekend?

14 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Chris says:

    Very busy weekend! I love banana bread which reminds me I have not made some in a while. My husband and I grill out in the winter too but not as much as you do! That is awesome!

    Like

  2. alsoranagain says:

    It sounds like you had a fun and busy weekend. I love banana bread and will have to check out that recipe. A coworker recently brought in homemade banana bread and–honestly–it was the best I’ve ever had. Her secret was using buttermilk.

    Like

  3. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Oh, my gosh…this food off the grill looks AMAZING! I’m so jealous and I may show up at your house this weekend – ha! 🙂 I’m so glad you had a good weekend; kudos to you for getting out there for football practice – whew! Thanks so much for linking up with the blog this week; hope your week is off to a great start!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

