Training for Tuesday….Springing into April….

training for Tuesday

It’s the last Tuesday of the month and I am happy to have found Alyssa  and Tracy and the Training for Tuesday link-up.

I can’t believe it is the lst day of March.  This day and tomorrow will always be a life changer for me in my fitness journey and a reminder to me everyday why a fit and healthy lifestyle is the only way for me!

Two years ago, my mom had gone into the hospital for what she thought was indigestion on GI tract issues and was scheduled to have a GI tract scope done. Well luckily she was at the hospital because the morning of the scope (April 1st) , she had nervous feelings and subsequently what we thought was an anxiety attack-which actually was a massive heart attack!  Thank the Lord she was at the hospital, in good hands with the Drs and was able to survive what should/could have been a life ending heart attack.  I can’t think about this and not get teary eyes to imagine that instead of celebrating her survival I could be mourning her death.  GOD is Good…..ALL THE TIME!!

Ok enough of the sappy stuff but thank you for ‘listening’.

With it being the end of the month, this means that it is time to start thinking about April’s fitness goals.  In March, I once again slacked on my weight training and gave more effort to my training miles for RnR DC Half (Recap here if you are interested).  I am finishing my training for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler next weekend and will transition into training for Zooma Annapolis Half at the end of May.

Last week after having significant knee pain during training and after the half, I went to the doctor for him to hopefully not give me bad news like I tore my meniscus again.  After initial conversation and x-rays, I sat holding my breath as he said…..you have arthritis in your knee.  As I exhaled, I was so happy….I know crazy right but I would have died if he had told me I tore my meniscus (i have had 3 knee surgeries on this knee already and the thought of having more surgery would have devastated me!) He recommended lubrication shots and PT.  YES!!! Both I can handle (outside of the needle part…..).  He recommended reducing running and doing more cross training and considering du or triathlons.  Well I can’t swim and I don’t have a bike, so for right now my cross training will be increased weight training.

My April fitness goals are:

-Have a good race at The Cherry Blossom 10 Miler…celebrate my accomplishments no matter what the clocks/Garmin say

-Continue training for Zooma including a local race for my son’s school.

-Reduce running from 3 times a week each week to running 2 times and 3 times a alternating weeks.

-Increasing weight training days for legs and abs to 2 times a week.

-I am participating in the Rock Your Core Challenge #rockyourcore with Jill and some other fit-bloggers.

-Eat whole 30ish (After Easter) except for fueling purposes during long runs

I feel confident in my abilities and my support system to master my goals for the month of April.  I am taking pictures tomorrow and use those as my measuring tool. I may also take measurements but that tends to be difficult to do on yourself….we will see.

What are your April fitness goals?  Did you stick with your fitness plan(s) for March? Achieve your March goals?

11 thoughts on “Training for Tuesday….Springing into April….

  1. fitfoodiemama says:

    I can’t believe it’s the last day of March either! I don’t have any super ambitious goals for April other than running a few races and focusing on strength training to prep for marathon training this summer! Hope your knee feels better, glad to hear that it wasn’t a tear!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tracy S says:

    How scary about your mom, but what a great reminder of how lucky you are not only to have her but to have your own health as well! Speaking of, I’m glad your doctor visit went better than expected and you got a diagnosis with a manageable treatment plan.
    I love love love your goals for this month. One of the things I’m trying to work on in balance and it sounds like you have such a good mix of activities and reasons for doing them. The Cherry Blossom 10-Miler is on my bucket list – like Alyssa said, we’re looking into it for maybe next year? Good luck and thanks for linking up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks!

      This was my first year doing the CB10 lottery-I was so excited to get in! I have told myself that I would not repeat races but I think I will try every year for the CB10! Hopefully Mother Nature wold have taken her meds and will act right!!

      Thanks for the link up-what a great way to hold me accountable and even better to have met/found you ladies!!

      Like

  3. shelly says:

    if there ever was a good place to have a heart attack, a hospital is definitely it! glad to hear your mom is doing well. those events, even after they are long over, definitely stick with a person.

    and man oh man can I relate to knee problems. they are just such a downer and really can put a cramp in a girl’s fitness routine. glad its soemthign you can manage without surgery!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. alyssa says:

    Oh my! How scary about your mom, but how fortunate it worked out the best it possibly could have.

    So cool that you were at RnR DC too! (My co-host and I and another friend ran the half marathon.) And Tracy and I are flirting with the idea of trying for Cherry Blossom next year too.

    Sounds like you’ve got some really great goals in place for the next month. My cohost has a whole series on triathlon if you want to take a peek there. Good luck with this next month and thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

