Friday Fives and Fitness Friday-What’s Good with you?

It’s FRIDAY!!!! TGIF!!!

dc_linkupFitnessFridayRev3

Friday link- ups today with -DC Trifecta of Cynthia, Mar and and Courtney for Friday Fives and with Jill for Fitness Fridays!!

Happy Good Friday!

The Friday 5 this week is Good Things…..how fitting for Good Friday!

Here are the 5 things that are good with me right now:

1. My Kids

image

image

I am sooooo proud and in love with my kids.  My husband gets jealous sometimes over this (love you too babe!).

I have a almost 7 year old son (he turns 7 next Thursday!) and a 4 1/2 year old daughter.  The are my blessings and my daily joy!  Yesterday I got to spend most of the day with them even though it was a work day (shhhhh-I got in the office at 3:45pm!).   I went on a field trip with my daughter’s class and then had a early birthday celebration with my son with his class.  It is not often that I get to spend the school day/workday with both of them, so yesterday felt very special!  I love my kids and thank God for choosing my to be their parent! My life and world is better everyday because of them!

2. My fitness goals

image

As I have developed into maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle that started out as just a way to lose baby #2 baby weight, I am continue to change/modify my fitness goals.  Gone are the days of weigh ins and dependence on calorie counting.  Now I am looking at how I look and feel in my clothes, how I feel when and after I lift and run and how I feel when I make the right eating choices. My goals  (long term and short term)are more realistic and attainable and allow for me to be most successful!

3. My Mom

1452481_10152015134207296_601934638_n

Two years ago, my mom had gone into the hospital for what she thought was indigestion or GI tract issues and was scheduled to have a GI tract scope done. Well luckily she was at the hospital because the morning of the scope (April 1st) , she had nervous feelings and subsequently what we thought was an anxiety attack-which actually was a massive heart attack!  Thank the Lord she was at the hospital, in good hands with the Drs and was able to survive what should/could have been a life ending heart attack.  I can’t think about this and not get teary eyes to imagine that instead of celebrating her survival I could be mourning her death.  GOD is Good…..ALL THE TIME!!  She is doing well and continuing to get back to her old self everyday!

4. Spring has finally Sprung

cherry blossoms

As  in the spring time poem/song…April showers bring May flowers, it is raining today but the temps are suppose to be in the 70s and should be nice for the next couple of days! Last night, my son and I went for a quick run and I wore short sleeves and capris! Yes!!! The early morning temps are still a little chilly, so I am looking forward to when they rise as I run between 5:30 and 6 most mornings. I am looking forward to packing up the cold gear, fleece jackets all things related to cold weather! In doing my Spring cleaning today, I am excited to take out my bright colored, lighter material running gear. I am optimistic for lovely weather next weekend for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler!

5. Blogging

become successful blogger and make money

I have been blogging for a little over 3 weeks and I have to say, I am enjoying the experience.  I started this blog to help me get my thoughts and feelings out about health, fitness and running as I think most of my friends and family has started to tune me out or just roll my eyes whenever I talked about what I was doing.  This process has been therapeutic and helpful for me.  I have read so many awesome blogs, I have enjoyed ‘meeting’ bloggers and following blogs and look forward to growing and learning as a blogger.  I hope to meet many of you in person and look forward to developing awesome friendships.

 Happy Friday to you all!!! 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fives and Fitness Friday-What’s Good with you?

  1. Lindsey says:

    Woohoo for spring! Spring time in DC is the best 🙂 Glad your mom is doing well! I don’t know what I’d do without mine! You picked a good link up to join–Mar, Courtney, and Cynthia are awesome and it’s been a great way to get more involved in the blogging community!

    Like

  2. jillconyers says:

    Awesome Friday Favs! I love your change in approach to fitness goals and moving beyond calorie counting. Yay for spring and family 🙂

    Have an awesome weekend and thanks for linking up with Fitness Friday!

    Like

  3. Alanna says:

    You’re kids so cute! It’s nice that you got to spend some extra time with them.

    Yay for Spring, finally! I’m also optimistic for lovely weather next weekend for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. I don’t think having two rainy races in a row would make me too happy. Especially with this one being more about the beautiful scenery.

    I’m so glad that your mom is doing well!

    Like

  4. Alexandra says:

    It finally looks like spring has sprung up here too! Fingers crossed, but for the next week there’s not a flake of snow in the forecast. Have fun at the Cherry Blossom 10 miler – I’ve been seeing so many posts about it recently that I’m officially jealous of all those racing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

