Thinking out loud #5-random thoughts…..

IT’S THURSDAY!!!

That means……Screen-Shot-2014-11-11-at-8.49.52-PM

 Thank you for allowing me to link-up with you, Amanda  @ Running with Spoons!

Thought #1- Keeping my thoughts together.

I have come to realize that I have so many blog thoughts throughout the day and night and was having a hard time remembering them come time to blog-haha! So I go this cute little notebook that I can keep in my briefcase/purse/by my bed to jot down my thoughts and refer to them later.  This over 40 mom brain needs all the help it can get!  Working out well so far :).

IMG_20150416_094516

Thought #2-Body Recovery

So I have come to recognize that my body needs more than 1-2 days to recover after a race. My thoughts of beginning half marathon training this week has been just that….a thought! I have gotten better at listening to my body and this week my body has said rest and recover-and so that is what i have done.  I did participate in football practice last night that involved route running and sprinting and I am paying for it this morning. From here on out-after race recovery will be 4-5 days with lost of stretching, rolling and I guess this would also be a good time to look into doing some yoga.

Thought #3-I am ok

Speaking of rest and recovery-I have to also get my mind around that I have not worked out since Sunday and I have to be ok with that! Rest….it’s a part of the program and my body can’t perform the way I want it to if I over train and don’t give it the rest that it needs!!!

rest-days

Thought #4-wardrobe transition to spring running

Spring has finally sprung!!! This means I am packing away my cold gear and hyperwarm gear and pulling out the thin long sleeves, capris and tanks! Who else is excited about this?!?!?! It feels like Christmas in April as I unbox my spring/summer running gear-the bright colors, lighter material makes me so happy.  The early morning runs are going to feel so awesome and I can’t wait.

images

Thought #5-Evaluating my April Goals

images (1)

So about those…….Let’s review and see how I am doing:

My April fitness goals are:

-Have a good race at The Cherry Blossom 10 Miler…celebrate my accomplishments no matter what the clocks/Garmin say—-CHECK-MISSION ACCOMPLISHED.

-Continue training for Zooma including a local race for my son’s school.—-HAVEN’T STARTED BUT WILL START NEXT WEEK

-Reduce running from 3 times a week each week to running 2 times and 3 times a alternating weeks—–CHECK-A WORK IN PROGRESS

-Increasing weight training days for legs and abs to 2 times a week.—-A WORK IN PROGRESS

-I am participating in the Rock Your Core Challenge #rockyourcore with Jill and some other fit-bloggers––A WORK IN PROGRESS….I will need to do Mon, Wed and Thur abs all in one day this week.

-Eat whole 30ish (After Easter) except for fueling purposes during long runs–MISSION FAILED….I have come to realize…if I going to do it-I need to do it…..either I do whole 30 or I don’t the whole 30ish does not work for me. #lessonlearned

Overall doing pretty well.  There are 14 more days in April-going to give it my all and finish the month strong!

Thought #6- In search of a good tasting no/low sugar protein powder

images (2)

I have been using Herbalife protein for about 1 1/2 years and have had no real issues with it however in wanting to reduce my sugar intake, I am in search of a protein powder for making morning smoothies that has no or very low sugar. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great!

Thought #7- Family Run

4116678

The family is all registered for Ben’s run-a race  to benefit childhood cancer, to celebrate the life of one truly amazing boy, Ben Goldfogle and to Benefit my son’s school PTA-Ben’s Run. I am really excited about this because this will be our first run as a family.  My 4 1/2 yr old will be run/walking a mile with my mom, my son and husband the 5K and I am doing the 5 miler. This happen’s next Saturday-I am very excited!

I swear I never mean for these posts to be this long…..but when I start thinking out loud this is what happens. Thanks for reading 🙂

What’s on your mind today? Do you have any suggestions for no/low sugar protein powders?

5 thoughts on “Thinking out loud #5-random thoughts…..

Leave a Reply

