Fitness Friday and Friday 5s…where it all started

It’s FRIDAY!!!!

TGIF!!!

I am really looking forward to this weekend!

Friday link- ups today:

DC Trifecta of Cynthia, Mar and and Courtney for Friday Fives

&

 Jill for Fitness Fridays!!

FitnessFridayRev3
Fitness Friday:

This week has been a slow return to working out since my week break last week. My plan for this week was to workout Tue-Sun to include #rockyourcore, weight training, running, racing and football.  I workout Tues and did legs and #rockyourcore cardio move, Thur I ran and did all of the #rockyourcore moves, I wll race on Saturday and play football on Sunday.

picmix-08.644 picmix-31.464

Overall not the ideal workout week I was planning for but more that I did last week.  I am hoping now that I am registered for Zooma Annapolis happening at the end of May, that I will be more motivated to stay on schedule with my runs and workouts.  I am participating in the 2015 miles in 2015 with 2 of my gal pals and I am not looking forward to tallying my miles for April because I think they will be my lowest mileage to date.  I am really hoping to get out of this funk and get back to the regular scheduled programming……..to be continued.

dc_linkup

Today’s Friday 5’s Theme is 5 Blogs to Love…..Where it all started

I am looking forward to reading the Friday 5s this week to learn about new blogs.  My work days  I mean weekend and after work (haha!) days will never be the same!

I think this is the coolest theme!  I am pretty new to blogging (just over a month) and I have been so fascinated and motivated by all of the blogs out there.  Who knew?!?!  Every day through different link ups (best idea ever!!!), I am introduced to more and more blogs which in my kiddies voice ‘IS TOTALLY AWESOME!!!’

Since there are so many awesome blogs out there, it is actually really hard for me to name only 5 but since those are the rules, I will take it back to the  very beginning to the first 5 Blogs that I ever read.

1. Cynthia @ You Signed Up F or What:

I met Cynthia when I joined my local Moms Run This Town (MRTT). From day 1 she has been such a great supporter of my running crazy-lol! She is an awesome race pusher (she says to me often-you should totally do it!) and a great example of the mother runner.  She encouraged me to start my blog and for that I am so grateful! She works full-time, is married with 3 children and is into everything fitness! She gets it all done and makes it look like a cake walk! I am so happy to have met her and look forward to many years of running and supporting each other.

2. Alanna @ Madeleines & Marathons:

Alanna is another MRTT sole mate! We met at a impromptu run meet up last year and ending up running every Saturday morning at the crack of dawn during training for Baltimore Running Festival.  She was training for her 1st marathon.  The 1st time I ran with her my legs were not happy with me AT ALL!!! She is a much faster runner than me and it took all of me to keep up with her.  Every Saturday when we ran our long runs, she pushed me (without knowing it) to keep pace with her (usually a 9:30-9:45 pace). I don’t think she knew that I had never run at that pace before (I had to keep up a good front!-LOL). Little did I know that her pushing me would pay off and as we met to run every Saturday morning, running at a faster pace became easier and easier for me.  I credit her for my current pace achievements thus far.  We both PRd on our races in Baltimore-she just under a 4 hr marathon and me just under a 2:20 half marathon!  We haven’t run together in a while but I know we will get back at it soon and I can’t wait!

3. Jen @ Run Jennifer Run:

I have never physically met Jen but that is ok.  Her blog is very fun, informative and honest.  Her running mantra of ‘finish the race’ is very refreshing for me.  She too is a type-A peronality and that mentally isusually not meant for folks like us-haha!  As a new racing runner, I have tried (I really have) to keep Jen’s Mantra in my mind but sometimes that Type-A just beats out!  She is local to the DC area, so I hope to meet her one day soon!

4. Artney  @ My Pretty Brown:

Artney is a Birmingham blogger shares about running, health, and fitness! She in incorporates Weight Watchers principles and healthy swaps in her recipes which I find to be so awesome!!  I love to cook but tend to stick with the same menu items but I have enjoyed reading and contemplating (I will one day-I promise!) using one of her recipes. She also in a Galloway method runner and that too is so awesome.  My knees probably could benefit from the Galloway method. I enjoy reading her blog and keeping up with her  ‘crazy-fun journey with fitness, food, running, DIY projects, and a little randomness in between’

5.Tara @ Running n Reading:

I found Tara my first week blogging when I found her weekly link up (Weekend Update).  How awesome to find a link-up that let’s you see into other people lives and how them manage every day!  She responds to all of my comments and my links.   As a new blogger it still feels like I am meeting a celebrity when an established blogger takes the time out to comment and connect with little ol me 🙂 . Her comments are not the typical ‘nice post’ or ‘sounds fun’ but very personal and relevant. I enjoy her reading reviews and suggestions.  I have always been a reader but had drifted away from it as life (marriage, work and children)happened.  I recently have begun incorporating reading into my nightly routine and I have a list of book suggestions from Tara that I can’t wait to read.

Honorable Mention:

John @ Run Geek Run Disney:

John is cuirrentl the only male blogger that I follow.  So many Disney runner and bloggers are female and I was fascinated with John’s blog initially purely for the fact that he was a guy.  What I have learned from reading his blog is that he LOVES Disney, which is totally cool!!! He is a Jeff Galloway Blogger and again this is a method that I am considering and I have enjoyed reading his training and motivational tips and am leaning more and more to use this method for my fall half in October.  I am excited to continue following  him on his journey.

So there you have it my 5 Blogs to read….

Have a Fit-Tastic Day!!

Follow me on:
Twitter: @Fit_MamaMeeks
Instagram:@ Fit_MamaMeeks
Facebook: @Fit MamaMeeks Gotta Run.Play.Lift

9 thoughts on “Fitness Friday and Friday 5s…where it all started

  1. ishouldrun says:

    That’s funny about not following many male bloggers. I noticed that about who I follow too. I think guys just run – they don’t write about their running as much? Or maybe I just don’t find as many, but I’m going to look now! And, yes, there are so many Disney run bloggers. Wow. But from running those Disney races down here a lot, people are in the best mood ever at Disney races, more so than anywhere else I’ve run. No wonder they want to go home and blog about it all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

      • ishouldrun says:

        You definitely should! People think it’s going to be silly or lame but it isn’t. They definitely make you pay ($$$), but you never stand around going, where did all my money go?! They show you a great time. And the kids always think it’s a great idea, right? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I had no idea your blog was so new!! And I had no idea you were local either!! Yey! DOn’t you just love Cynthia?!

    Like

  3. Alanna says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I love running and chatting with you! You certainly did put up a good front. I’m glad that I could help you PR, but you are awesome and did all the hard work yourself. I was just there to give you a little support along the way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

