Fitness Friday & Friday 5- 5 Things about Race Day and May fitness goals…

It’s FRIDAY!!!!

I don’t think I have ever been looking forward to a weekend as I am this Friday! It has been a hell of a week and I just want it to be over!!!! #overit

Friday link- ups today:

DC Trifecta of Cynthia, Mar and and Courtney for Friday Fives

dc_linkup

&

 Jill for Fitness Fridays!!

FitnessFridayRev3

Fitness Friday:

Today is the 1st of May and a perfect time to share with you my May fitness  and health goals:

My May goals are:

-Continue training for Zooma  while reducing running from 3 times a week each week to running 2 times and 3 times alternating weeks.

-Begin lubrication injections in my knee to reduce arthritis discomforts.

-Weight training days at a minimum to 2 days a week.

– Rock Your Core Challenge #rockyourcore

-Eliminate processed food and carbs

-Drink 2.5 gallons of water a week.

-Look into a yoga studio in the area.

Bring it on May…..I am ready for you!

Today’s Friday 5’s Theme is 5 things about race day….

I am excited to see how people use this theme….

My take on the theme is:

As a new racer runner……

images (6)

1. Feelings of excitement, nervousness, and anxiety:

download

As a newer racer runner, I still have crazy emotions pre-race day and race day. Feelings of excitement as I walk around the expo, hear people talking about the race, taking pictures, meeting new people. Nervousness questioning my training, how will I do, will I PR, do I want to PR, can I trust my training. Anxiety, will I get enough rest, sleep, fuel. Will I get up in time, find my corral, get to the start on time, do my best.

2. Fueling and nutrition: 

images (7)

images (8)

images (9)

As a new racer runner, I am still trying to figure out what my body needs to be properly fed and fueled for long races.  To carb load or not to carb load? To eat breakfast or not to eat breakfast? To Nuun or not to Nuun? Hydration belt or Hydration pack?  To Gu or not to Gu? There

As a new racer runner, I am still trying to figure out when to take in fueling supports. I am still trying to recognize and respond to my body and provide it what it needs to get me through the race.

As of today, I have been using UCAN Berry Pre-Race and I use a hydration pack that I use to intake water when I am passing the water stations and I have Gu chomps on deck. I have also used berry Nuun after races.

As I am getting up in mileage for my Zooma training, I am going to try a few new fueling/nutrition products to see how my body responds. I will keep you posted on that…..

3. Tapering

download (1)

As a new racer runner, I am still working on how to properly taper without going crazy.  To go from a very structured training scheduled close to 20 miles a week and weight training up to 3 times a week to maybe running 5 miles and maybe weight training 1 time a week feels CRAZY!!!! I know it is the right things to do because race day and racing will wear the bod down and out but Geez Louise!!!

4. Checking the list and checking it twice

raceday-checklistI

As a new racer runner, I use this list plus a few added item to help me I make sure that I have everything that I need.  I am a list person-and I am old fashion with the pen and the check off.  All these to do apps and such…nope note for me! I am printing this list, adding my additional items and checking each item off with a pen as I place it in my bag.

5. Gear Check and check and check and check and Flat Mama PicIMG_20150313_211141_edit

As a new racer runner, I have found that laying out my clothes and gear the night before it the way to go! No need to do any extra ‘running around’ (pun intended) to find things in the morning. Nope, I mentally get dressed and lay out all of my items so when I wake up- BAM! This also significantly helps with my race day anxiety.

Honorable Mention:

Pre-Race: Book a hotel room near the start of the race or stay with someone who lives near the start-this will be a given for me even for local races!

What are your May fitness and health goals?

As a new racer runner, I would love to know your 5 things about race day-please share 🙂

20 thoughts on “Fitness Friday & Friday 5- 5 Things about Race Day and May fitness goals…

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      I had my first injection yesterday…actually was not that bad. I was all worked up asking the Dr. all these questions and then it was over-lol!

      Balance-I need that too. I was doing single leg squats today and kept falling over 😦

      Thanks-good luck on your goals as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Jennifer says:

    Yes yes yes to your honorable mention! It also saves on car rental cost (if you do a comparison) if you end up paying a tad more to stay closer (or hopefully with a friend that has a car haha).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Juliana @ 4 Well Rules says:

    I did my friday 5 post about what i eat before meals. One huge tip I have for people is keep a running journal. I do 1 page per race and write out everything i need to pack, and a timeline starting backwards. So I start at what time the race starts and work backwards to figure out what time i need leave, eat, get up, go to bed, eat dinner, etc. it has really helped me stay on track and not feel rushed on race morning

    Liked by 1 person

  3. alsoranagain says:

    Those are some great goals you’ve set for yourself!

    My 5 things about race-day are race don’ts: don’t start in the wrong area; don’t start out running too fast; don’t be a jerk; don’t try anything new; and don’t forget to have fun.

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    It’s definitely important to figure out your pre-race fuel, so I’ve made sure to have plenty of practice on my long runs so I know what works best for me on race day. That’s a great race day checklist! I think the feelings of nervousness/excitement never really go away! You just have to trust that you did your best to prepare for the race.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Ahhh yes, the taper crazies. I am definitely no stranger to those. I find keeping yourself extremely busy with a to-do list around the house helps. I’ve finally gotten to the point where I embrace it. My body thrives on the rest and I find my body runs better with the rest, so I sit back, relax and enjoy!! As for carb loading, I don’t typically carb load anymore. I eat a diet with healthy grains anyway, and I find using the typical pasta or carb loading the night before just makes me feel full and blah. I do like to have sweet potato fries the nights or two before a race, but not sure if it’s just become a “thing” for me, or if it actually helps 😉 Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Truth-there are so many things that I can be doing around the house……for sure!!

      My body does enjoy the rest and I am working on embracing that!

      Sweet potatoes are the way I ‘carb load’ too.

      Enjoy your weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

