TOTR: Best Race Ever…..Road to Recovery and beyond…..

It’s Tuesday and that means Tuesdays on the Run (TOTR) with Erica at mcmmamaruns,

Tuesdays-on-the-run

She is joined by  Patty of noguiltlife and April of runthegreatwidesomewhere. Today’s theme Best Race Ever!!

As I am a new to racing, this one is actually a bit hard to me because since becoming a racing runner, I think all of my races have been the Best Race Ever….well all except this year’s Rock N Roll DC (I am still traumatized from that one….recap here if you are interested).

#1 BEST RACE EVER-DC SOME Turkey Trot 5k November 2013.

This race was my first actual race as a racing runner.  The significance of this race is near and dear to me also because this was my goal race after ACL/Meniscus surgery 4 month prior (July 2014).  As i was rehabbibng my PT and Ortho Dr thought that this race was a good goal race to get me running and in football shape to be able to play football in Nationals in January.  Although a bit aggressive for some, both of my doctors and I thought that the Turkey Trot was an achievable goal.

My goal was to complete the race in 45 min…slow and steady (my mantra for the race).  Well as you may know if you have read any of my goal setting post, you know that I do nothing slow and steady-ha! I ended up completing the race in 38:59, which I thought was pretty damn good for 4 month post ACL surgery!!!

BEST RACE EVER BECAUSE: I was able to run 4 months after ACL/Meniscus Surgery!

IMG_20150505_192551

#2- BEST RACE EVER-Frederick MD Half May 2015

This was my 1st half ever and I had set a goal of completion for 2:45…..yup rocked that one too and finished 2:33! Boom!!

I did end up developing runner’s knee after this race (boooo-welcome to running!) but that did not kill the high from the accomplishment!

BEST RACE EVER BECAUSE: This was my 1st half marathon!

IMG_20150505_194257

#3-BEST RACE EVER-Baltimore Half-October 2015

I PRd in this half which is actually CRAZY because Baltimore is soooooooo hilly, I don’t know how I did it.  I do remember being quite delirious after that race and getting crazy cramps all over my body. I was not properly fueled and hydrated at all…..lesson learned!!! My finish time goal was 1:30 with the ideal of 1:20 and I finished 1:19:54.

IMG_20150505_195129

BEST RACE EVER BECAUSE:  I PRd  on this course which was really hilly.

I am excited about the remaining races for 2015 and hope to add some of them to my BEST RACE EVER list for one reason on another.

Is it easy for you to name your BEST RACE EVER?

7 thoughts on “TOTR: Best Race Ever…..Road to Recovery and beyond…..

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I don’t know that I could name my best race. I can’t figure out what qualifies a “best” race? A PR? How i felt? How much fun I had. I’m just not sure! Paris is pretty high on the list though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yeah-it was actually pretty hard for me to list just one so I listed what felt best for this reason or that.

      Ummmm yeah! I think Paris would be #1 for me (if I had run it-ha!) You looked like you had soooooo much fun!

      Like

  2. Emily Swanson says:

    Hmm.. Yeah, it was actually pretty easy to determine it, because it was really memorable. However I do have a few other races I really enjoyed. 🙂 And yes, I have to agree that the one of the most memorable races was definitely my first race + my second marathon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

