Workout Wednesday….Squat….Squat…..Squat

It’s Wednesday that means

WOW Wednesday

WOW WORKOUT WEDNESDAYS! with 

The Frugal Exerciser and Femme Fitale Fit Club

This morning, I woke up to see this on Femme Fitale Fit Club blog……

Meet Tamieka the awesome blogger behind Fit Balling Running Mom.  She’s in the spotlight this week so head on over to her blog, show her some extra special love and leave a comment if so inclined.  Also follow her on social media.  Let’s WOW her!!!

cropped-picmix-21-2471.jpg

 Blog | Bloglovin| Facebook | Twitter

THANK YOU!!!! WHAT AN HONOR!!!

Workout Wednesday….Squat….Squat…..Squat

After sustaining runner’s knee, re-occurring IT band issues, and other issues as a result of ACL/Meniscus surgery-the one thing my physical therapist keeps reminding me is that I need to strengthen my leg and glutes muscles. There are many exercises that one can do to target these muscles individually but there is no other exercise move like the squat (in my eyes) that can target so many muscles in one move.

download (4)

When I first started weight training, I thought there was only one way to squat and the only way to change up the squat was to change your equipment (bar bell or dumbbell). Fast forward 3 years and I am amazed at how I keep learning new squat variations all the time! It is quite awesome actually!

The squat…..you gotta love it!!

My current favorite squat variations: 

These can be done with just your body or with weights. On days when my knees are giving me some issues, I will do squats without weights but on the days I feel strong and bad a$$ then I will use either a barbell, kettle bell or dumbbells

I am not an exercise expert nor do I  play one on TV (LOL!)

Seriously, please consult a doctor/therapist/personal trainer on proper form the ensure success and reduce injury. Pictures and You tube videos are representations of what I found that I think show the listed squat variation well. These are for visual purposes ONLY-to give you an idea of what the move should look like. I am in no way endorsing or promoting the youtube channel or video. Feel free to browse you tube for other videos.

 Basic Squat

Start by standing in the beginning squat position with your feet hip-width apart, toes pointing forward, neck straight, and abs tight. Hold your arms out in front of you—straight with palms facing down, bent at the elbows. Or do our favorite arm move: the Aladdin arm cross. Whichever you do, don’t put your hands on your legs. Bend your knees and slowly lower yourself down until the tops of your thighs are parallel to the ground. Push your bottom backward, as if you were sitting on a chair.

images (10)

 Single-Leg Squat

This one I do most often as my post ACL leg is still weaker than other leg. Focusing your squat on one leg at a time has helped me even out some of that muscular imbalance.

Start in the beginning squat position. Lift your left leg up, bending the knee slightly to get your foot off the ground. You can hold your raised foot slightly in front or behind you depending on whatever feels more steady. Using only your right leg, lower yourself down as far as is comfortable. Return upright.

images (11)

 Squat Pulses

Perform a basic squat, but instead of returning to standing, stay in the lowest part of your squat with your thighs parallel to the ground and move up and down, keeping the movement small (a few inches up or down) and fast.

Pistol Squat

I haven’t mastered this swuat at all….but it is a work in progress for me and one I hope to acomplish soon….I will keep you posted

From a beginning squat position hold your left leg straight out in front of you, arms also in front and parallel to your leg. Slowly squat all the way down until your butt is almost to your heel and your lifted leg is fully extended in front of you with the foot hovering a few inches above the floor. Stand back up without falling over or using your lifted leg.

download (1)

 Chair Squat

Using a chair behind you, stand with your feet and legs together. Sit backward and down, pushing your hips out behind you. Lift your arms as high as you can, taking care not to let your chest drop. You can return to standing and repeat the squat, or for more of a challenge, hold it.

download (2)

 Plié SQUAT

Begin by standing with your heels together, toes pointing slightly outward, and legs straight. Without sticking your butt out, bend your knees and lower down as far as is comfortable. Allow your heels to come up at the bottom of the squat. Return to standing.

images (12)

Curtsy Squat

Stand with your feet hip width apart and hands on hips. Move your right foot behind your left leg, as far past your left foot as is comfortable. Using a “curtsy” motion, squat down. Keep your weight in the front leg. Return to standing.

download (3)

Do you love or hate squats? What are some other variation of squats that you use?

6 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday….Squat….Squat…..Squat

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I LOVE curtsey squats, those are my faves. I need to practice the Pistol squat though, I hear that is a great one for runners to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      girl!! Pistol squats are bad a$$!!! I am determined to get that one down!!! With these bad knees thought I am weary but going to keep trying for sure!! I like the curtsy squat-I feel very balanced and secure with that squat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

