Friday Fitness and Friday 5s……

It’s a Holiday FRIDAY!!!!

WhhhhoooooHoooooo!

Friday link- ups today:

DC Trifecta of Cynthia, Mar and and Courtney for Friday Fives

dc_linkup

&

 Jill for Fitness Fridays!!

FitnessFridayRev3

Fitness Friday:

This week has been an ok workout week. I didn’t get all of my workouts in but the ones that i did I gave 110% and felt good afterwards!

Monday-Rest Day

Tuesday:  Zwow #2 New and Improved

Wednesday:  Pop Sugar- Leg, Butt and Abs

Thursday- 4 mile run  did not happen

Friday- Upper body  did not happen but i did get to go to Yoga at lunch!

Saturday- Long run planned (up to 12 miles). I have a 10 k on Monday, so I may only do 10 tomorrow -we will see.

Not bad….taper week next week with Zooma Half on Saturday….Yipppeeeee!!!

Friday 5s:

Summer fruits and vegetables

I love summer and the fresh sweet fruit that is in abundance and sooooooooooooo delicious.  Friday 5s today is summer fruits and vegetables and I am going to put a spin on it and give you 5 ‘recipes’ using my favorite summer fruits.  Now when I say recipes, I use that extremely lightly as I do not follow recipes AT ALL.  I will give you the list of ingredients that I use and you can create as you like.

MY FAVORITE SUMMER FRUITS ARE:

MANGOES

images (16)

PINEAPPLES

images (17)

Ways that I like to eat pineapples other than right off of the grind…..

1. Grilled Pineapple

images (18)

I use:

-melted coconut oil

– a teaspoon of brown sugar

-a teaspoon of honey

Mix the brown sugar and honey together, coat pineapple with the melted coconut oil, and sugar and honey mixture.  Put on grill-flip when brown…..enjoy!

2. Pineapple Salsa

images (19)

I use:

-Diced pineapple (how ever much you like)

-Tomatoes (diced)

-red onions( diced)

-lime juice

-dash of sea salt

*I don’t like cilantro so I don’t use it but many people do

Cut, mix, serve, enjoy!

3. Mango Salsa

images (20)

– Diced mango (how ever much you like)

-Tomatoes (diced)

-red onions( diced)

-lime juice

-dash of sea salt

*I don’t like cilantro so I don’t use it but many people do

Cut, mix, serve, enjoy!

Extra- you can add this to guacamole too….soooooo yummy!!!

What’s summer without a few nice drinks….

4. Mango Mojito

images (21)

I use:

-Mango puree

-Diced Mango

-6-12  leaves mint ( depending on how you like it flavored)

-2 lime slices

-1 teaspoon brown sugar

-ice cubes, or as needed

-Good  rum (Wray and Nephew)

– lemon-lime soda

5. Mango Smoothie

My girlfriend is doing the Dr. Ian Super Shred and they have a mango smoothie that she made and I tasted and it was DELICIOUS!!!!

images (22)

The recipe was similar to this but it added 2tsp of sugar which I would not add as I think mango is sweet enough.

-Mango

-Mango juice

-Almond Milk or greek yogurt

-ice cubes

-lime juice

-avocado

Blend and Enjoy!

I didn’t give measurements because when I cook and create I just throw -ish together. If I don’t have enough- I make more and if i have too much I share it or freeze it for later.

Happy Memorial Day weekend! Thank you to all who have served and are serving.  I thank you for your service!!

How do you use your favorite summer fruits or vegetables?

15 thoughts on “Friday Fitness and Friday 5s……

Leave a Reply

