TOTR-Summer Essentials-How I Manage Summer Running/Workouts

It’s Tuesday and that means Tuesdays on the Run (TOTR) with Erica at mcmmamaruns,

Tuesdays-on-the-run

She is joined by  Patty of noguiltlife and April of runthegreatwidesomewhere.

Today’s theme dealing with summer heat while working out/running.

It seems like a thousand years ago that I was writing and fussing about how cold it was in the DC area. Well here we are in June and the weather has shifted to HOT and HUMID! What I hate most about the DC area!
Today’s theme is perfect as last night, I transitioned my winter workout clothes for my spring/summer.

Side Note:Who remembers this from Biloxi BLues?

Eugene Morris Jerome: Man it’s hot. It’s like Africa hot. Tarzan couldn’t take this kind of hot.

Here are a few ways that I manage the heat during the summer while I workout.

1. Workout in the morning
I am an early morning riser in order to workout before the kids and hubby wake up. I am up at 5:30 am and working out or out the door running by 6 am. The AM hours tend to be cooler as the sun is just rising helping the temps to stay a bit cooler. In the DC area, once the sun has risen, the heat and the humidity are a killer!!

2. Hydrate Hydrate Hydrate!

images (38)
Drinking plenty of water is essential for the summer workouts!! I have made it a goal to drink 2.5 gallons of water a week. I find that I tend to drink more water when the temps go up and my body response well to it. I had one episode of de-hydration during a race in the fall and I vowed to never let that happen again! After that race, I purchased a hydration pack and use it for any runs/races over 6 miles.

3. Replenish Electrolytes

download (15) download (16)
Adding electrolyte tablets and powders have been a new habit that I have developed. I used to always think, just drink water and eat a banana and you will be fine. Yeah-not so much!

I have begun using Nuun and Coco Go as my after run/workout replenishment. Both come in berry/fruity flavors that are supper yummy and tasty!

4. Sunscreen!

Some people think that because they have brown skin, they don’t need sunscreen. STUPID! STUPID STUPID! I have had a close experience with melanoma in my family and was vigalent about sunscreen before that and even more now!
I am a brown girl with freckles and so my face is extremely sensitive to sun.

On my face, I have come to love Neutrogena Clear Face, SPF 55. It goes on clear (even on dark skin), is not oil and dries almost matte.

4_neutrogena-clear-face-sunscreen

On my body I use Blue Lizard Sensitive Sunscreen SPF 30+. It’s chemical and fragrance free and covers well and handles the heat and sweat well.

download (17)

5. Visor

wpid-IMG_20150606_073549.jpg
Along with sunscreen I always wear a visor when I am actively in the sun. I recently bought an AMR visor which is made using the HeadSweats visor product. Not only does the visor have a wide brim to protect the sun from my face but the head sweats brand has a ‘sweat band’ on the inside. Ideally this would absorb the sweat that often runs into your eyes while working out. I sweat A LOT and the sweat band didn’t really absorb all of my sweat. But the visor is functional and does the job overall.

Something I am considering is looking into SPF clothing. I am not too sure about this technology and will need to do some more research before I purchase.

How do you deal with/tolerate the heat of the summer when you are working out? Have you used SPF clothing?

Have a Fit-Tastic Day!!

Follow me on:
Twitter: @Fit_MamaMeeks
Instagram:@ Fit_MamaMeeks
Facebook: @Fit MamaMeeks Gotta Run.Play.Lift

9 thoughts on “TOTR-Summer Essentials-How I Manage Summer Running/Workouts

  1. Alanna says:

    I love your visor! I’m so excited to get mine, hopefully next week!

    I really need to work on hydration. For some reason I feel like having to carry anything extra is such an inconvenience. I need to realize that it’s very necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I just got some blue lizard sunscreen for the first time. Loving it it!! I like to fill my hydration pack half way the night before and freeze it. In the morning of my long run I top it off with extra fluid and it’s like a back ice pack! Keeps me nice and cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

