Thinking out loud……Snoring….

This has been my life for the past few months!

images (48)

In the past few months my husband’s snoring has gotten to be RIDICULOUS!!!! I am a very light sleeper-have been my whole life and any slight noise wakes me up. So you can imagine my nights have been MISERABLE!!!

I have been waking up with bags under my eyes, feeling extremely tired and quite irritable! All things that I don’t want.

A bout 2 month ago, my husband actually started sleeping in the Guest/TV room. Although I missed him, can I tell you how I slept like a BABY!!! woke up refreshed and ready for the day EVERYDAY!!!

download (21)

Yeah a much better feeling and so missing it!!!

I have done some research on snoring (who knew this would be how I would spend hours of my life!) because I wanted to know why it happens and how to stop it!

Why it happens:

Snoring happens when you can’t move air freely through your nose and mouth during sleep. Often caused by the narrowing of your airway, either from poor sleep posture or abnormalities of the soft tissues in your throat. A narrow airway gets in the way of smooth breathing and creates the sound of snoring.

How to stop it:

OMG the number of pages that come up when you enter ‘how to stop snoring’ in Google!! 3.4 million!!!! Are you f-ing kidding me!!! There has to be an easier way!!!

I did not go through the 3.4 million ‘remedies’ for snoring but I did find this one rather practical and funny…..Taping tennis balls to the back of your pajamas can also stop you from sleeping on your back.

That would stop me from having to roll him over though-lol!

I found this on Help Guide: This was actually helpful for me in calming my feelings down a bit.

Don’t let snoring damage your relationship

Is snoring causing a rift in your relationship? No matter how much you love each other, the loss of sleep from frequent snoring can strain a relationship as well as put your partner’s health at risk.

When snoring is a problem, relationship tension can grow in the following ways:

  • Sleeping alone. If you or your partner snores, one of the easiest solutions is for you to sleep apart in different rooms. This often results in a lack of needed physical intimacy, straining the relationship. And if you’re the one snoring, you might feel lonely, isolated, and frustrated about something you feel you have no control over.
  • Snoring spats. It’s common to be irritable when sleep loss is an issue, but try reining in your frustration. Remember, you want to attack the snoring problem—not your sleep partner.
  • Partner resentment. When a non-snorer feels he or she has done everything possible to sleep through the night (ear plugs, noise machines, etc.) but his or her partner does nothing to combat his or her own snoring, it can lead to resentment. Working as a team to find a snoring cure can prevent future fights.

If you value your relationship, make it your priority to find a snoring cure so you can both sleep soundly. Working together to stop snoring can even be an opportunity to improve the quality of your bond and become more deeply connected.

Communicating with a partner who snores

So you love everything about your partner… except his or her snoring. It’s normal. Even the most patient amongst us will draw the line at sleep deprivation. But no matter how much sleep you lose due to someone snoring, it’s important to handle the problem sensitively. Remember that your partner likely feels vulnerable and even a little embarrassed about his or her snoring.

  • Time your talk carefully. Avoid middle of the night or early morning discussions when you’re feeling exhausted.
  • Keep in mind it’s not intentional. Although it’s easy to feel like a victim when you lose sleep, remember that your partner isn’t keeping you awake on purpose.
  • Avoid lashing out. Sure, sleep deprivation is aggravating and can be damaging to your health, but try your best to approach the problem in a non-confrontational way.
  • Beware of bitterness. Make sure that latching onto snoring is not an outlet for other hidden resentments you’re harboring.
  • Use humor and playfulness to bring up the subject of snoring without hurting your partner’s feelings. Laughing about it can ease tension. Just make sure it doesn’t turn into too much teasing.

My husband does feel badly about his snoring and although I know I irritate him because I am irritated he is trying. He has bought nose strips, nasal moisturizer and has even ordered a mouth guard. Bless his heart.  I want him to go to the Dr. but he wants to try things first before he goes. I get it but I NEED MY SLEEP!!!! I am resisting the urge of sending him back into the guest room but I am not sure how much more I can take!!!

download (22)

You may be wondering why I don’t go in the guest room-well it is actually my husband’s ‘man cave’ (at the present time) with a sleeper sofa and all of his gaming stuff. I would rather sleep in my Sleep Number Bed that is perfectly calibrated to give me a better nights sleep (you like my plug-lol!!).

We will see how this continues. In the meantime I have been also researching colored noise. Most people only know of or speak of white noise but did you know there are many colored noises? I am going to test out a few at night to see if it helps to drown out the snoring a bit.

to be continued…….

Linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for Thinking out Loud!

Thinking-Out-Loud

Do you have any tips for managing snoring?

10 thoughts on “Thinking out loud……Snoring….

  1. Melanie @ Runnergirlinarockingworld says:

    I’m sharing this with my hubby. I’m the snorer in our house. I’ve tried everything and finally went to the dr. He put me on a nasal spray steroid and it makes it a bit better but some nights are still bad. I’m a side sleeper snorer too. My poor hubby is a light sleeper too. Just tough!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen says:

    Oh my, my husband has sleep apnea, and he was so loud I could hear him if I went downstairs. It killed me for a few years and he eventaully went for sleep test and has a machine now. He feels amazinlgy better! and so do I 🙂
    It’s tough to have your sleep disrupted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Omigoodness. I live alone so I don’t have to deal with this sort of thing, but my mom complains about my dad’s snoring all.the.time. And it got to be so bad at one point, that it would even wake ME up in the other room when I was still living with them 😆 I’m not sure he’s done anything that’s helped, but I think it’s better when he sleeps on his side.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I’m a very light sleeper, too. We both snore at times, tho, so I guess we’re even. My dog used to snore, but no longer does – not quite sure why he stopped. Nothing more annoying than not being able to sleep because of someone else!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

