Thinking out loud….Blessings and a few other things

Hey hey….it’s Thursday…Friday Eve!!!

This week has flown by….I guess I am still coming off of vacation mode.

Linking up with Amanda at Running with Spoons for another edition of Thursday’s Thinking out Loud Link-up!

Thinking-Out-Loud

Blessings:

images (59)

Yesterday, I had one of the scariest moments of my life and as a mother.

The kids and I were driving down the beltway when a tractor trailer ran over what looked like a stick. It hit the car and hit under the car (so I thought). I heard the noise of the collision but thought for sure it had hit under the car. AE and MJ started shouting ‘mommy did you see that?’ I had NO IDEA what they were talking about. I look in the rear view mirror and see a stick lodge in the 3rd row. The ‘stick’ had flown through MaJ‘s open window and ended up in the back seat. I said a few prayers as I continued to drive. When we got to our destination and I go to get the ‘stick’ out of the car….Yeah not a stick at all!! on the other end of the ‘stick’ was a pick ax!!!! That is what came flying through MJ’s window and by the grace of God flew over her head and lodged in the back seat!! No one was hurt and the car was not damaged.

11222360_10153521329392296_6070118144964065963_n 11796219_10153521329852296_7187112592245721545_n

Somebody prayed for us yesterday and I am so thankful!!!

I had nightmares all night about the ‘what ifs’ of the situation and can’t get the thoughts and visions out of my head.  I continue to be teary eyed today.

Ok enough of that!!

On to another blessing……

When we signed my daughter up for gymnastics a year ago, as a parent I thought she was extremely  freakishly strong for a 4 year old (she can curl and shoulder press a 5lb dumbbell!) and had quad muscles and a tight booty that makes me jealous-lol!! I thought all of these would make her a good gymnast.

We started at one gym last year to see if she would like it and transitioned to Hill’s Gymnastics this spring as her skills and enthusiasm grown tenfold!

2 weeks ago her summer class lead talked to me about how good she was and asked if it was ok if one of the Hill’s coaches ‘took a look at her’. I said sure-not really knowing what that meant. Well with that observation, she has been invited to join one of the ‘invitation only’ classes as she has shown the enthusiasm and skills needed to develop into a gymnast!

She started her 1st class this week. The other 2 girls have been in the class for months.  She jumped right in and held her own! She is so excited and so am I!

11218226_10153516207447296_555646580687467570_n11781870_10153516196502296_1648285546514613470_n11796327_10153516195762296_727098609781105703_n11822343_10153516196097296_9073406377388913886_n11828580_10153516197237296_5057607843385583479_n11846647_10153516195357296_8590399285661411797_n

Prayers and positive thoughts…..

Speaking of blessings….I will take any prayers and positive thoughts….For the past week, after a run, I have been having this unbearable pain in the bottom left of my foot.  Pain that makes me walk with a limp.  It goes away after a few days and I think it is fine, I run and it comes back :(.  I am going to the podiatrist today…..I know he is going to tell me to stop running, rest,etc……<insert crying like a baby face!!>

Money Doesn’t Grow On Trees

images (60)

As a parent, i can not be more proud of the athletic abilities and skills that my kids have developed and have been noticed by others.  Both MJ and AE have been elevated from recreational soccer (AE) and gymnastics (MJ) to more advanced skills and training in their sport.  What this means to me as a parent is I have officially been promoted to an ‘sport mom’ and I am sooooo proud!!!

images (62)

What this also means is $$$$$$$!! You know when your parents use to say….’money doesn’t grow on trees!’. You know what….they were right!!!  LAWD have Mercy!  Thank goodness most of my races for the remainder of the year are paid for already! I am going to have to go without for a while to ensure they get what they need.  I guess that it all a part of the mom sacrifice-right!! I wouldn’t trade it for the world!!!

images (63)

Goal Setting:

download (27)

Next week start the get back on track for real!!!  I have been using this week to ease back into scheduled workouts and eating.  This weekend my girlfriend and I will take measurements and get back to meal prepping and get this party started!!! I have decided to track my goals in 1 or 2 week increments.  I have found that waiting a month to see if I have made progress is really hard for me and that makes it harder for me to stay focused and on track.  I am going to start out with weekly check ins and based on that, I may shift to bi-weekly check ins.

Wellness Champion:

download (28)

A few month ago, my organization put a call out for staff to become Wellness Champions. As Champions, we would work with our department to show how ‘living well’ is the way to live.  From movement breaks, walk clubs, health snack pot lucks, etc. Of course, I signed up and was selected to be the wellness champion for my department. This week we had our first walking lunch time.  It was only 3 of us (I have over 25 people in my department) but once we got back, there were about 5 people who said they would join us next time or talked about maybe joining. We will see who shows up today.  I have them scheduled for 2 times a week.  Either way, I am not deterred and continue to be excited to show others how to live well!

My….I have chatted quite a it today.  Thank you for sticking with me as I emptied my brain just a bit today!

Have a terrific Thursday!

Please Help Me Raise Funds To Support Girls On The Run: https://www.raceplanner.com/…/I-Run-for-All-Girls-On-The-Run

Follow me on:
Twitter: @Fit_MamaMeeks
Instagram:@ Fit_MamaMeeks
Facebook: @Fit MamaMeeks Gotta Run.Play.Lift

12 thoughts on “Thinking out loud….Blessings and a few other things

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Ummm, OMG, are you freaking kidding?! How scary is that and a pick ax??? Someone was looking down on you for sure. Go glad no one was hurt!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    OMG, that is very scary. So glad no one was hurt & now you actually have the coolest story. I once had a truck with a ladder driving in front of me & the ladder came flying off but I was able to stop in time. That’ll get your adrenaline going!

    Obviously your kids have inherited your athletic abilities. Make sure you do reserve a little money for yourself. Happy mom = happy kids. Plus you set a good example!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fionajarrett says:

    Thank god you were all okay, what a close call. I’m sure you were massively relieved, moments like that make you thankful for everything you have, right? Hope you get sorted with your foot and not too serious:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thank you so much!! Still a bit shaken up as i can’t stop thinking about the ‘what ifs’ but so prayerful and greatful!!!

      Dr said cuboid syndrome…strained the ligament on the bottom/outside of my foot :(. No track workouts for 2 weeks, ice and rest. I can still do longer runs as long as it is relatively flat. We will see how it goes.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

