TOTR-Fall Race Schedule

It’s Tuesday and that means Tuesdays on the Run (TOTR) with Erica at mcmmamaruns, Patty of noguiltlife and April of runthegreatwidesomewhere.

Tuesdays-on-the-run

Today’s theme is Fall Race Schedule

9-9-2014_fall-schedule

This theme comes at a perfect time as many people are probably starting their training for fall halfs or for folks running marathons they are probably at the half way mark.

I should be in week 3 of my training but due to yet another injury (uuuugh! See here), I am going to have to modify my training.  It is all good and I am not stressing about it at all.

I actually have a very busy Fall racing schedule-all of which I am excited and looking forward to.  I am actually going to list the remainder of my 2015 races so this post will be my Fall and beyond races.

October:

images (65)

October 2-3: Ragnar DC

download (32)

I have the pleasure of running for the Girls on the Run at the Ragnar DC race.  My sole mate Alanna asked me if I would be interested in joining the team and after about a week of contemplation, I said yes!  I am sooooo excited to run this race as I have heard such great things about it. I am excited to run with Alanna- even though she will be in a different van 😦 but we are on the team together and that is all that matters. #likeagirl is gonna rock it!!!

Shameless plug….please help me raise funds for the GOTR by contributing to my fundraising efforts.  https://www.raceplanner.com/donate/I-Run-for-All-Girls-On-The-Run. 

October 10- Rock N Roll Brooklyn

download (31)

When I heard that Rock N Roll was considering a Brooklyn Half, I got so excited. I signed up to be notified when registration opened and stalked the home page for months.  They ended up opening registration about 3 month later than they had hoped to and let me tell you during those 3 months I was probably the biggest pain to them.  I emailed, tweeted and FB messaged every day asking when registration was going to open. HA!!!!

The reason I am so excited about this race is that it is right in my back yard! Well the back yard I grew up in.  My dad is still in Brooklyn so I get to see him, have a place to stay and can enjoy the city in a whole new light.  Yeah Brooklyn!!!

October 17- Baltimore Running Festival Marathon Relay

images (66)      download (33)

This is the race that I have committed to running every year.  The main reason is to participate as a Pacing 4 Parkinson’s/ John Hopkins team mate.  My dad was diagnosed with early onset Parkinson’s over 10 years ago.  The research and doctors at John Hopkins have been instrumental in helping my dad and my family manage his Parkinson’s thus far.  I support John Hopkins in their efforts and research for all suffering with Parkinson’s.

November:

images (68)

November 26- YMCA Turkey 10k

images (67)

This race will mark the 2nd anniversary of me racing.  In May of 2013, after a football injury where I tore my ACL and medial meniscus, running was a part of my rehab.  My goal set for myself and supported by my Dr. and Physical Therapist was to participate in the 2013 Turkey Trot 5k (4 month post ACL/meniscus surgery).  As the race got closer, I was committed to running the race. On race day, I set a goal of 45 min. Well I crushed that and ran the race in 38!!! I missed the race last year but still ran a 5k that morning on principal and have committed to run the YMCA 10k this year.  This is an increase in distance but that will allow me to enjoy more Thanksgiving deliciousness-right!!??!!

December:

images (69)

December 5-Rehoboth Half

images (70)

I am really excited about this race as well.  Cynthia over at You signed up for what? bullied   (lol!) convinced to run this race. She is running it also and she has even offered me a place to stay.  She is such an awesome sole mate!!! I am looking forward to running by the beach and meeting my goal of finishing my last half of the year in 2:15.

December 13- Jingle Bell 8k

jingle bell

This will likely be the last race of the year for me.  I love this race because I usually dress up just a bit and I think that makes the race a bit more fun :).

That leaves me with a total of 15 races for 2015….I wasn’t even trying for that but that is kind of cool. 15 in 2015 🙂

Well there you have it my racing calendar for the remainder of 2015.   

What’s on your race schedule for the Fall and Winter?

20 thoughts on “TOTR-Fall Race Schedule

  1. Juliana @ 4 Well Rules says:

    the RnR Brooklyn looks like it is going to be AWESOME! I started a tradition of this year running the LA turkey trot ( i still cant believe they never had a turkey trot before) and they offer both a 5k and 10k and I am doing both. It is so great to in the miles before a shower, nap and lots of black friday shopping and food!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    See, I didn’t do winter. I usually do a race in December; we travel to my parents on Thanksgiving, and while I always get a run in, I don’t do a turkey trot – makes for too hectic a day.

    I’ve considered Rehobeth for a few years. I kind of had it in the back of my mind for this year, sort of like Annapolis where I sprang it on my husband right before the half before it. But it would depend on how I get through my fall half. And right now my IT band is complaining enough (not painful, just achy, trying hard to prevent it from getting worse).

    So I’d kind of figured my body was telling me 3 is enough for this year. And now y’all are tempting me because I love meeting up with online friends. 🙂 Pretty sure my husband wouldn’t be too thrilled.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melanie @ Runnergirlinarockingworld says:

    You have some great races on your schedule!! I ran the Baltimore half in 2013. It was a tough half but I enjoyed finishing through Camden Yards. So fun! The DC Ragnar is on my bucket list. It looks like an awesome race! I’ve got my eyes on that Rehoboth Beach Half in Dec. I’m trying to see if I can pull it off or not. 🙂 I’ll let you know if I end up running it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

