I had to take the initiative……

Wednesday link up with Deb Runs for Wednesday Word. Deb states:

Wednesday Word, a weekly linkup for everyone, not just health and fitness bloggers. Each Wednesday you will have a single word prompt to write about.  Let your imagination run free and share with your readers your interpretation of that word, or simply use it as inspiration for your post. She’d love to have you link up, and if you do, please remember to follow her six simple rules.

I think Deb lives in my brain sometimes-lol! Her Wednesday word choice always seem to fit right into my life and what I am dealing with or celebrating.  A few weeks ago her Wednesday word was Friendship as I was boarding the plane with my girlfriends for a girls weekend in Miami. Miami shenanigans made it difficult for me participate that day but I use the example that Debs Wednesday Word is always right on time!  Thanks Deb!

For today’s post,  Wednesday Word is Initiative

WednesdayWordScrabble

in·i·ti·a·tive iˈniSH(ē)ədiv/
noun
The ability to assess and initiate things independently.
“use your initiative, imagination, and common sense”
download (34)
For the past couple of weeks, I have not been feeling myself.  I have been tired, sleepy and overall just EXHAUSTED. I was dragging every day to do what I usually do everyday without a problem.  I was finding it harder and harder to wake up in the morning s to work out, in the middle of the day while I was driving I felt myself falling asleep at the wheel (YIKES!!! ) and overall just couldn’t make it through the day without wanting to take a nap and I am not a nap person.  Yeah that’s when I knew I had to take the initiative to see my primary care Dr. pronto!!!
Thankfully, I was able to get an appointment pretty quickly-less than a week from when I called.  When I got there, she asked the typical questions ‘how is your eating?’ I eat pretty well. ‘do you work out?”  Yup, almost obsessively actually. ‘Any significant changes in your routine?’  Actually things are more relaxed as it is summer. I am less stressed and rushed each day.  ‘Ok well let’s draw some blood and see how your numbers looking’ OK!
A few days later, my Dr. calls and lets me know that I am Vitamin D deficient and anemic-not severely but significant enough to explain my sluggishness and exhaustion. I use to be anemic when I was younger and thought I had gotten past this.  In the grand scheme of things-this is not the end of the world and totally manageable but still a bummer.

WHAT IS ANEMIA?

Anemia is a condition that develops when your blood lacks enough healthy red blood cells orhemoglobin. Hemoglobin is a main part of red blood cells and binds oxygen. If you have too few or abnormal red blood cells, or your hemoglobin is abnormal or low, the cells in your body will not get enough oxygen. Symptoms of anemia — like fatigue — occur because organs aren’t getting what they need to function properly.

Iron-deficiency anemia, the most common type, is very treatable with diet changes and iron supplements.

Iron-deficiency anemia occurs because of a lack of the mineral iron in the body. Bone marrow in the center of the bone needs iron to make hemoglobin, the part of the red blood cell that transports oxygen to the body’s organs. Without adequate iron, the body cannot produce enough hemoglobin for red blood cells. The result is iron-deficiency anemia.

Interesting fact for me…..This type of anemia can be caused by:

  • Endurance training ( would training for half marathons be considered endurance training?)

Treatment:

My doctor recommended Slow Fe

download-iron

Why is Slow Fe® different than other iron supplements?

Slow Fe® contains ferrous sulfate, the ingredient most recommended by doctors. And with a special controlled delivery system, Slow Fe® provides high potency iron while being gentle on your stomach, so you experience fewer side effects (nausea and abdominal discomfort) common to iron use.

VITAMIN D DEFICIENCY

For a number of reasons, many people aren’t getting enough vitamin D to stay healthy. This is called vitamin D deficiency. You may not get enough vitamin D if:

  • You don’t get enough sunlight. -this is wierd to me because I am outside so much between football practice, football games, running, soccer practice, I do spend a lot of time outside.  Here is an intersting fact though that may explain this….Many people don’t get enough sunlight because they use sunscreen. WHAT!!! So let me get this straight, I should get skin cancer so not to be Vitamin D deficient….damn!! Ok, I may be being a bit dramatic but you get my point right!

Are certain people more likely to have vitamin D deficiency?

There are some groups of people that are more likely to have vitamin D deficiency. The following people are more likely to be lacking in vitamin D:

  • People with darker skin. The darker your skin the more sun you need to get the same amount of vitamin D as a fair-skinned person. For this reason, if you’re Black, you’re much more likely to have vitamin D deficiency that someone who is White.
  • People who cover their skin all of the time. For example, if you wear sunscreen or if your skin is covered with clothes.

Well damn!!! That’s 2 for 2!

How can I get more vitamin D?

There are two ways to get more vitamin D: by exposing your bare skin to the sun or by taking vitamin D supplements.

So let me get this straight-I need to lay naked in the sun-lol!!! That would be kind of awkward unless I am in South Beach Miami….I guess I need to plan another trip-haha! Or I guess I could just get some supplements….boring!!!

Follow-up:

I am suppose to go back to her in a month but since I haven’t taking the initiative to pick up the iron or Vitamin-D pills yet, it may be a little longer before I see her.  It is on my to do list this weekend. Get on it Tamieka!!!

Overall, i am glad that I took the initiative to go to the Dr.  I am generally in tuned with my body and knew it was just not functioning correctly.

Do you usually take the initiative?

16 thoughts on “I had to take the initiative……

  1. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    Yes, I realize I’m a full week late commenting – yikes! I have to admit that I totally cracked up when you said, “I think Deb lives in my brain sometimes-lol!” 🙂

    I’m so glad you took the initiative to see your doctor! Yours may have been the most important one I read! Hope you’ve picked up your supplements and are starting to feel better.

    As always, thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meagan says:

    I’m glad you took the initiative to get things figured out, instead of waiting for it to go away on its own (which it probably would not have, in this case). I have dealt with anemia in the past when I was younger and I took Vitamin B12 supplements (I think) to help with it. I also did a lot of cooking in a cast iron skillet to help my iron levels. It’s a tough thing to get through, because you just have NO energy, but when you start treating it things get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tutuskippy says:

    well as I read all this information I hope you are feeling better! Good thing it was not serious and sounds like you made the right call & got in! Great post for all of us to read !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I am not good at going to drs, I’ll be the first to admit it. I wonder about a vit D deficiency myself, living in upstate NY (I didn’t worry about it when I lived in TX), but I don’t even have a primary care dr (I do have a chiropractor & gynecologist)

    But yikes! Falling asleep at the wheel — that’s scary!

    Here’s to feeling better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin says:

    Wow interesting read on the iron deficiency! I use to be anemic too, well who knows I may still be. I know I need to go and get blood work done since I’m training more, yes I need to take the initiative to do that. Thanks for this reminder it was a very informative post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    I was a little shocked to learn I was slightlt D deficient this Winter. I feel like I LIVE outside. I added some yummy chews I found at GNC. I read we should expose our skin for 15 minutes without sunscreen. Maybe that’s not long enough to worry about skin caner? Kudos for finding out why you felt sluggish. You obviously knew something wasn’t quite right.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

