Am I being too ambitious…DAMN RIGHT!!!!

images-ambitious 2

Ever since getting the news from my RheumatologistI have tried to have a positive attitude and have tried to think about how to adjust my race schedule and training to accomplish the already ambitious race schedule for October.  When I 1st contemplated my October races back in the Spring, I had thought then that I was being ambitious and now with my confirmed diagnosis…..I know that I am being overly ambitious. 

Yup-linking up with Deb for Wednesday Word…..

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word: AMBITIOUS

ambitious

adjective

1.

having ambition; eagerly desirous of achieving or obtaining success, power, wealth, a specific goal,etc.:

2.

showing or caused by ambition or an earnest desire for achievement or distinction:

3.

strongly desirous; eager:

4.

requiring exceptional effort, ability, etc.:
In my heart of hearts I know that I should reconsider/change/cancel some of my races in October but the ambition that I was born with just won’t let me do that.
images (77)I think my plan of modified training (running 2 days a week) and letting go of a specific timed desired finish for each of my races (Ragnar DC, RnR Brooklyn Half, Baltimore Running Festival) will ensure that I can participate and enjoy my races in October. Additionally, since the cortizone shot worked so well for me in May for Zooma, I am confident that it will do the same for me in October.
images-ambitious
My ambition may totally back fire and I may be hobbling into the month of November but I DON’T CARE! I am ambitious, determined and motivated to not let this arthritis get the best of me even if I am totally pushing myself too far.  Am I being overly ambitious…..absolutely! Is my over ambition going to stop me….absolutely not!
images (76)
Are you ever over ambitious? Do you listen to the little voice in your head telling you not to be?
16 thoughts on “Am I being too ambitious…DAMN RIGHT!!!!

  1. ishouldrun says:

    I’m really sorry to hear about your confirmed diagnosis. I have no idea how that must feel to you physically to have to try and train through that. I hope the shots do help you with all of your ambitions though! And yes, I’m definitely guilty of being overly ambitious with my plans vs my time, ability, and responsibilities. Unfortunately I don’t often listen to the voice of reason telling me to take it back a notch. I wish I could though sometimes. Hang in there and stay positive positive about the races! You never know!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. esrigby says:

    This is awesome. Having that ambition is truly a gift & you definitely don’t want to ignore it. I think you’re doing the right thing. Only you know what’s best for you, body & soul. My problem is a lack of ambition. I’ve been wanting to get back into running since I had my first baby, but don’t seem to have the motivation to overcome all the obstacles. Any advice on how to build up this kind of ambition?

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      I found running to be my only me time and so I had to make it happen. I wake up at 5:30 most days to get up, out and back before the family gets moving. i am not a morning person but for my sanity, I had to become one -lol. Maybe pick a race so you have something to motivate you to get prepared?

      Like

      • esrigby says:

        There’s no way around it, is there? I’m in the same boat. The only way I’m going to be able to get back in shape is if I wake up before the kids. Ugh, that is SO HARD! But I think if I finally admit to myself that that’s the only way I can do it, I’ll be able to make the change. I’ve been living in denial. Signing up for a race would definitely give me some motivation!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    You know what? People confound their doctors all the time. Darlene at My First 5k & More was told she would never run again after almost shattering her ankle. Yet she continues to win AG awards & gather PRs.

    Go for it and make sure you enjoy it and we’ll be cheering you on!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    I think you hit on two fabulous points, participate and enjoy. My sister has had 3 knee surgeries and is getting ready to try stem cell therapy to replace cartilage. She has been told repeatedly not to run. But she still does on a much more limited basis. Her motto is “I’d rather run 10 years slow than 1 fast race.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

