TOTR-I love me some water!!!

Hello everyone!!! How is it September already!!!! I actually saw X-mas decorations up in the strore the other day….. I AM BOT READY!!!!  Holding on to summer just a little bit longer!!!

Linking up with the Tuesdays on the Run (TOTR) ladies;  Erica at mcmmamaruns, Patty of noguiltlife and April of runthegreatwidesomewhere.

Tuesdays-on-the-run

Today’s theme is: Hydration

images

 I swear I have never consumed so much water in my life as I do now living a fit and healthy lifestyle!!  I have gone from drinking apple juice, orange juice, cranberry juice, mango juice, etc to basically drinking mostly water.  At first the transition was difficult with water tasting….well like water (lol) and having no flavor.  Once I discovered fruit infusion for water, it made all the difference and allowed me to change the way water taste if I wanted it.

As I thought about hydration, I started to think about how much water I  drink a day and actually realized that I have no idea.  I just know I drink a lot of it.  My weekly goal is to finish a 2.5 gallon that I have in my office.  That does not take into account the amount of water; I am drinking outside of the office, during workouts and on the weekends.

How much water do you need? 

This is an individual thing and water requirements vary from person to person. The amount of water one needs depends on a number of factors, including our size, activity level, stress level, the climate or temperature and their diet.   I have learned that a good basic rule of thumb is to take your body weight (in pounds) and divide it by 2. This is the number of ounces of water that you should be drinking each day. Divide this by 8 to get the number of 8-ounce glasses you should be drinking.

Are you Dehydrated?

images (79)

Definition of Dehydration:

The process of losing or removing water or moisture. A condition caused by the excessive loss of water from the body, which causes a rise in blood sodium levels.

If you are dehydrated it means your body does not contain as much water as it requires.

Did you know that without perspiration, the normal daily turnover of water is approximately 4% of the total body weight in adults.  In a 150 lb adult, this is equivalent to 2.0-3.0 litres/day

Dehydration can be mild, moderate or severe – based on how much fluid is lost or not replenished.

Detrimental effects on cognitive and physical performance are known to be proportional to the degree of dehydration and is highly significant at 2% dehydration for all mental functions e.g. short-term memory, arithmetic efficiency, and visuomotor tracking; motor speed and attention

Urine is used as an index of fluid balance in the body.

download (37)

I have totally memorized this pee chart and I check my pee every time I go to the bathroom (sorry TMI) but true!

Since beginning running, I have wasted money on tried so many hydration drinks ( Nuun, SOS, CocoGo, Generation UCan-to name a few).  Ok maybe wasted money is a bit harsh-I have to admit, they all made water taste a little better but I have to also be honest and say that I have not felt any more hydrated or less de-hydrated while using them.  I have to really admit though that CocoGo is DELICIOUS!!!!  Coconut water and fruit-LAWD!!! If you have not tried it, you really should…so yummy!!!

For me there is nothing more refreshing and hydrating than a plain ‘ole water! Please and Thank You!!

images (78)

How do you hydrate? Do you change your hydration when working out/training?

17 thoughts on “TOTR-I love me some water!!!

  1. HoHo Runs says:

    I can’t handle Christmas decorations yet. Just NO.

    I drink about 64 ounces of plain water at room temperature every day. If I’m running long, I’ll add Gatorade Endurace mix for electrolytes. I just feel plain old horrible if I don’t get enough water. I’m wondering does the world walk around dehydrated? I’m pretty sure I used to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com says:

    Great post and hydration is so important! I too gave up soda’s several years ago and every once in awhile I’ll have a few sips but I just don’t care for it anymore. I love water, yes plain water but I also use Nuun and fresh lemon quite a bit to change it up. I keep my Rt.44 Sonic cup at the office and I sip on it all day. I’ll refill it 3-5 times and I pee all day too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I actually do like plain ole water. I gave up soda many, many years ago. For a while I would take a sip of my husband’s every once in a while, but now I truly just don’t even like it.

    I also really like tea. I didn’t at first, but I’ve found lots of flavored teas I love, including chocolate ones, of course, which I make with almond milk instead of water. In the winter I drink a lot more tea and love a hot chocolate after a cold run!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

