Living My Life Carefree….A work in progress….

image

Living Life CAREFREE

image

It’s amazing how as you get older and wiser your definition or understanding of things change.

When I was a teenager, my thoughts of a CAREFREE life was lounging around and having fun with my friends.  As a young adult, it changed slightly but add in consuming alcohol while lounging around and having fun with my friends. As a blooming adult (late 20s-early 30s), my thoughts of CAREFREE living started to change as I was in full swing of working full time and going to grad school so CAREFREE living took on a different meaning where I looked forward to long weekends and the end of the semester when I could consuming alcohol while lounging around and having fun with my friends and significant other. Fast forward to real adult hood (late 30s to now) and –ish has surely changed.  Although I still wish for and hope for those CAREFREE days of younger years (who doesn’t want to consuming alcohol while lounging around and having fun with my friends?), I know my reality is a bit different now and my visions and thoughts for CAREFREE days are different.

images (81)

A CAREFREE life for my children:

images (82)

I want my children to enjoy their childhood with fun, smiles laughter and love.  I want them to be CAREFREE and not have to worry about things that will dim their brightness and joy.  Any stress and worries that I have, I do my best to shield them from.  I put the face one, give them lots of smiles and hugs and allow them to enjoy their childhood as CAREFREE as possible.

How I intend to live my life CAREFREE:

images (83)

My girlfriend and I joke about the ‘CAREFREE’ switch that clicked for both of us when we turned 40.  That switch that put us in a CAREFREE mentality of living our lives not caring about what other people think.  Saying ‘NO’ to stupid ‘-ish. Making it clear where we stand on certain things but above it all….NOT sweating the small things.

For me,  I have had to really make a mental shift for myself to get to a place of CAREFREE living. I often cared too much about what others thought of me. Often times I would bit my tongue to not upset someone or hurt their feelings. Often times I would put myself in situations that were not the best for me and I have always had a difficult time saying ‘NO’ with worry that someone will be mad at me.

That 40 switch kicked in and kicked in hard!

At this point in my life my desire for a CAREFREE supersedes everything else and my desire to be as stress free as possible takes precedent!

I am now more able to care less about what people are thinking about me.  You don’t know me, don’t know my life, so I could give 2 feathers as to what you think about me.  Your opinion of my does not define me and in the words of my brother….does not affect my bottom line!

I have always been the practical, life lesson person with my friends.  When they want to hear what they want to hear, they go to someone else.  When they are ready to hear what they need to hear and get some tough love, they come to me.  I often wait for people to come to me when they are ready but I have gotten to a place where, if I see that your directional path could be a severe path to take, I will now speak up.  You don’t have to like what I am saying to you, you don’t have to respond to me, but you will listen to what I am saying to you because I care about you and you are important to me. You may be mad at me for a while and I am okay with that but I know what I said or did was because I love you and you are important to me.

Although still a challenge for me but I am getting better at saying ‘NO!’ when it does not serve a purpose for me or greatly inconvenience me.  If I have to move too many things around to make this work for you….NO!  If it changes my plans to suit you….NO!  If you give me attitude and make me feel like your time/task is more important than mine….NO!

Living a CAREFREE life is a work in progress for me daily but I know if I want to live a long life, it is an important step to take.

What does CAREFREE living look like for you? Any tips you can share?

Linking up with my favorite wordsmith Deb for Wednesday Word

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

I am hoping you were able to figure out that today’s word is : CAREFREE


Please Help Me Raise Funds To Support Girls On The Run:
https://www.raceplanner.com/…/I-Run-for-All-Girls-On-The-Run

Have a Fit-Tastic Day!!

Follow me on:
Twitter: @Fit_MamaMeeks
Instagram:@ Fit_MamaMeeks
Facebook: @Fit MamaMeeks Gotta Run.Play.Lift

Join Smiley 360- were you can get free products to review : http://h5.sml360.com/-/xo29

12 thoughts on “Living My Life Carefree….A work in progress….

  1. Meagan says:

    I definitely try to bring a little carefree into my life by not sweating the small stuff. For the most part there’s no sense in worry about things that are completely out of our control. And with careful planning for the future, stress can be reduced as well. When we get around to the point of having kids, I want to do exactly what you do – I want them to have the innocence of childhood, without having to worry about any grownup things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    When I picked the word carefree I didn’t realize it would be such a hard word, or a word that people have a hard time living. I have to admit that my age certainly helps me be more carefree – that, and being empty nesters. It’s easier to be carefree when you have less responsibilities.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I’ve gotten pretty good at saying NO as I’ve gotten older. I think we are just more wise as to what is important and choose not to get involved with all of the extra fluff. I don’t consider myself carefree however, but I do have my moments.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I’m not sure I don’t care what people think yet, but I am pretty good at saying no, for the most part. Probably because I don’t have kids, I’m a little better at taking care of me. Maybe!

    I was never a big drinker. I’d much rather eat, so I gave up drinking decades ago & frankly never miss it. I’d much rather eat!

    I know all parents want their children to have an easier life, but they have to learn how to deal with adversity, too. It’s a delicate balance and one I’m sure I’d screw up if I were a parent!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

