TOTR- Running/Fitness Trackers I have used and currently use

I have had a few fitness trackers during my fitness journey.

When I first started my fitness journey 3 years ago, I got a fitbit for tracking my steps, my sleep and activity. I loved it! It kept me conscious of my activity or non activity and kept me moving. It also helped me see that I actually was getting pretty good sleep even though I thought I wasn’t.

fit bit ultra

Unfortunately, I lost it.:(

Fortunately, I got another one..and then I lost that one too…..

fit bit zip

Note to self…I don’t do well with clip ons!

I then moved on to a heart rate monitor, that I used to make sure, I was working my hardest during my HIIT and weight training. I liked seeing how many calories I burned and this gave me a good effort indication as to my effort any particular workout.

th (1)

When I began running, I started using run apps (Runtastic and Map my Run
) on my phone to track my mileage and pace-these always seemed to be waaaaaay off…it told me I was running paces where I could qualify for the Olympics-lol!! Like really I with the paces they had me at, I could beat Meb! I knew that if I really wanted to track my running, I would need to get a gps watch.

For Christmas, I got the Garmin 310xt

garmin 310xt

This is a triathlon watch  which just might come in handy when I transition from just running to running and biking (maybe this was a premonition…..hmmm??).  Sorry I digressed…..This watch does exactly what I need it to do….accurately track my mileage and my pace.

At the beginning of September, my job in conjunction with Virgin Pulse offered each employee a free Max Pulse tracker.  This tracks steps and activities.  It came originally with a clip…..I was so glad to get the watch band to switch it to….remember what happened to the last 2 clip devices I had-right?  Since September 1, this has been on my wrist tracking my steps! I do transfer back to the clip when I am working out and running as I have my Garmin on and wearing 2 watches would just be silly.

I have to say, I really like this tracker. I had forgotten how much I liked seeing those step numbers every day.  This tracker also sends out nice little messages which I really like.
Well Hello there.....

Good morning to you too!

Boom! I have hit my goal everyday...up to 10 days now!

Although I am a pretty active person, once I get to the office I now realize how inactive I am at work...no bueno

I would still be interested in a tracker that can track my sleep.  I always think that I am not sleeping soundly and sometimes wake up so many times throughout the night. I would love to be able to have something to help me track patterns (if possible).

When I started my fitness journey, I signed on to MFP and was RELIGIOUS at tracking my calories and loved that every week, I was losing weight.

MFP

After, I got so close to my goal weight and then plateaued, I threw away my scale and signed off of MFP.

scale

My account on My Fitness Pal was inactive for over 2 years.

Well I have come full circle and I am am back on MFP (feel free to friend me if you are on there-Fit_MamaMeeks).  I am not counting calories but counting nutrient macros (protein, carbs and fat).  I find that I am too active to count calories, I would be eating all damn day to eat back the calories I burned but the macro counting allows me to ensure that I am eating well and nourishing  my active body. It is a work in progress but one I am committed to (for right now).

I think back to the days when people didn’t have fitness trackers…..how did they do it? I can’t image actually and I am glad for modern technology. Do I think sometimes I rely on my trackers too much….ABSOLUTELY but I am aware of that and I am working on the balance of the devices.

Do you use any fitness trackers? If so, what do you use? If not, why?

Linking up with the Tuesdays on the Run (TOTR) ladies;  Erica at mcmmamaruns, Patty of noguiltlife and April of runthegreatwidesomewhere.

Tuesdays-on-the-run

Today’s theme is: Running/Fitness Trackers

‎THE COUNTDOWN IS ON…….I AM RUNNING RAGNAR DC IN 3 WEEKS FOR GIRLS ON THE RUN….
Please Help Me Raise Funds To Support Girls On The Run:
https://www.raceplanner.com/…/I-Run-for-All-Girls-On-The-Run

Have a Fit-Tastic Day!!

Follow me on:
Twitter: @Fit_MamaMeeks
Instagram:@ Fit_MamaMeeks
Facebook: @https://www.facebook.com/FitMamaMeeks

11 thoughts on “TOTR- Running/Fitness Trackers I have used and currently use

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    Oh, that’s a cool tracker! I’ve never heard of it! I had a fitbit for a while and sold it…I run so much I decided i’d rather spend the money on something else!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HoHo Runs says:

    I have a Fitbit Charge HR. I love it. It helped me realize that I was sleeping more than I thought I was. You can also accessorize it if you don’t like just the plain band. I’ve never heard of the Max Pulse Tracker. I like the messages.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Accessorize! Yes!!!

      Max Pulse is a Virgin Pulse product…I think it is most available for companies that join the virgin pulse workplace wellness campaign. It is pretty basic but it serves its purpose! I love the messages…yesterday’s message was Active is Awesome!!

      Like

  3. fionajarrett says:

    So helpful to hear your reviews on all the different products because they’re all quite different and I’ve often wondered about getting a fitbit or other activity tracker in addition to the garmin that I have. I’ve had a garmin 910 xt for about 1.5 years now, a triathlon watch, and it’s bang on for accuracy and reliability. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

