The Power of Pink- What Breast Cancer Awareness Month Means To Me

download (45)

What does the Power of Pink- Breast Cancer Awareness Month mean to me?

As a female, I have to admit that up to almost 7 years ago, I was one of those ladies who thought breast cancer would never be something that I would have to deal with, worry about, and stress about. I always thought breast cancer happened to other people…..not anyone that I knew…not anyone that I cared for or loved.  Yup I was ignorant as hell!!!

Within a few months too many people in my circle were diagnosed with breast cancer and it rocked my world!!!  I had team mates, bosses,  family friends and most recently my best friend all diagnosed with breast cancer.  WTF!!! is an understatement as to how I felt.  This is not supposed to be happening to my circle of friends and influence.

images (98)

I am so happy that each one of them have kicked cancer in its a$$ and we proudly say F-YOU CANCER…..WE ARE STRONGER THAN YOU!!! Every single person that I know personally that has been diagnosed with breast cancer is currently in remission! Take that cancer!!!!  GOD be the Glory….Everybody say AMEN!!!

images (99)

I have had friends of friends or family of friends who did lose their battle to cancer and for them I say a prayer for them and their families and I continue to pray that one day we will find a cure for this horrible disease.

download (46)

Here is what I know:

Early detection saved their lives. Each one of my friends that were diagnosed with breast cancer, found their cancer through self screening or by annual Dr. screening or by their annual mammogram.

I remember I was talking to someone and they said to me, you know you can just get a mammogram every 3 years….you are young and in good health, so you should have nothing to worry about.  I looked at them like they had 3 heads and as if they were talking to me in a foreign language.  I don’t even know what that means…..why would I not make an appointment that could literally save my life.  What is more important than taking 1 hour of my time once a year to get a mammogram…..ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!! I shared with them the close and personal experience that I had with breast cancer and told them I would never skip a mammogram and I would never suggest to anyone that I cared about to skip a mammogram. They quickly apologized to which I told them no apology needed- just do me a favor and please don’t ever try to encourage anyone to wait to get a mammogram. They agreed.

I know for me that since turning 40, I have had a mammogram every single year.  By the time, I am visiting my OB/GYN for my annual check up, I have already made my mammogram appointment and I am just in need of the referral slip from my Dr. Well before, I get the ‘reminder’ appointment card from the radiologist, I had already made my appointment.

images (100)

I am not f-ing with this breast cancer –ish…you hear me!

Did you know:

FACTS ABOUT BREAST CANCER IN THE UNITED STATES 

  • One in eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in their lifetime.
  • Breast cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in women.
  • Breast cancer is the second leading cause of death among women.
  • Each year it is estimated that over 220,000 women in the United States will be diagnosed with breast cancer and more than 40,000 will die.
  • Although breast cancer in men is rare, an estimated 2,150 men will be diagnosed with breast cancer and approximately 410 will die each year.

Banker’s Health Care Group created a nice info-graphic that provides important facts, dispels a few myths and reminds us that early detection and better treatments does save lives. Bankers Healthcare Grouppartners with healthcare providers as well as provides financial solutions for healthcare professional. To read more about them and what they offer click here.

If you like the info-grapic please share it with your friends, family and your social media communities.

The info-graphic is a little small here on the blog but if you click on it, it will enlarge and is readable.

BHG_BCA_month_optimized_v02 (1)

The more information that we have, the more that we share, the more we can all make a difference.

images (97)

Power of Pink-Click to Tweet

What does Power of Pink mean to you?  Have you been personally affected by breast cancer?

 

3 thoughts on “The Power of Pink- What Breast Cancer Awareness Month Means To Me

Leave a Reply

