Training for Tuesday-October Review

fc9a5d7e-bf0a-4ac2-90a7-15303ae47ea0_zps0fz1hr4s

I like the new button 🙂

It’s the last Tuesday of the month and I am happy to link-up with  Alyssa  and Tracy and for Training for Tuesday.

It has been quite a while since I linked up with the lovely ladies.  If I am being honest with myself and you all, it because I hadn’t been as consisnet with my workout and such and writng it down and putting out there was really hard for me.  I have come to realize though that accountability was one of the reasons I started blogging.  If its out there, I am more likely to accomplish my goals, adjust my goals and discuss my goals and progress.  So here we go, using Training for Tuesday as one of my accountability partners to keep me on track for the rest of the year!

accountability

source: kweisler.com

You got this Tamieka!!!

For those of you unfamiliar with Training for Tuesday here is what Alyssa posts on her page:

Training for Tuesday is a monthly health, fitness, and wellness goal linkup hosted by myself and Tracy of A Change of Pace. On the last Tuesday of every month, we welcome runners, yogis, cross-fitters, weight-lifters, cyclists, swimmers, walkers, weight-loss strivers, and everyone else to join us in posting about your recent training wins and woes.

Make sure to stop by and see what other folks are up to.

October Workout Review:

In looking back on October, I am happy to report that October was a good month of workouts and races.

Since the last week of September leading into October, I have consistently followed my workout plan consisting of HIIT, Track workouts, Running and Yoga.  A typical week looked like this:

Monday– short run or short cardio (5-10 min jump rope) and abs

Tuesday: HIIT

Wednesday: Speed Work at the track

Thursday: Rest Day

Friday: Barre Video and Yoga

Saturday: Long run

Sunday: Football

I completed two races this month DC Ragnar (re-caps here, here and here) and Rock and Roll Brooklyn (re-cap here).  Both of these races were new to me and both of these races will always have a place in my heart.   DC Ragnar has been the most emotional and rewarding race to date and RnR DC was a PR race even after injury during training which significantly reduced my ability to properly train.

October Eating:

I started the month of October with a plan of counting my macros of fats, protein and carbs. That was short lived. I remembered quickly how I HATE measuring out food. It is so time consuming and I feel that that is not a sustainable way of functioning for me.

I remain conscious and consistent in what I was eating and have minimized junk foods and sweet (which continues to be really hard for me…..pray for me this weekend during Halloween!!)

Rehobeth Half Training Plan:

My final half marathon of 2015 with be the Delaware’s Rehoboth Beach Seashore Half Marathon.

My 2015 goal was to finish the year running a 2:15 half. If you read my RnR Brooklyn re-cap (here), you will know that I accomplished that in October…yipeee and so at this point I am just going to enjoy this last half of the year and focus on finishing within the 2:14-2:15 window.

I have loosely been following Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half Marathon Training this year and I will continue to use his method for this half.  I will alternate between 2-3 runs a week with a long run on the weekends. Depending on how my knee feels will determine how many miles I increase to.  I will continue my above stated schedule however, I may add a weight lifting day for legs-we will see.

Focus for off training:

After my half in the 1st weekend of December, I will officially be in off season and planning my 2016 race schedule. As of right now my 1st big race for 2016 will be the Hot Chocolate 15k in Philly in April.

During the off- season, I plan to focus on mostly weight training. I will fill you on the specific plan the next time we are together for Training for Tuesday J.

How was your month? Did you stay on track with your training/eating? Do you have an off-season?

18 thoughts on “Training for Tuesday-October Review

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    It’s funny you say you haven’t been keeping up with your workouts, but from what I ready you certainly are! The accountability is huge for me. I wish I could get a trainer, that would force me to stay accountable to strength training which I need!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. erin says:

    Good luck with your upcoming goals! I focused on core strength for a few months after my second daughter was born and am just now getting back into running again.

    I’ve got a half Marathon in 2 weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      You are right…I am my worse critic (aren’t we all?). My summer was poor in terms of training and consistency but i feel like I am in a good place now.

      The weather has been FAB!!!

      I have track in the morning but it is suppose to rain…not looking forward to that though..uugh!

      Like

  3. Kristen Chang says:

    I have found tracking calories/measuring out my foods to be much too tedious. Instead, I now just aim for a more “mindful eating” approach towards nutrition and “all foods fit in moderation” type deal and I’m much happier!

    Best of luck with the rest of your 1/2 Mar training! I love the Hal Higdon plans!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. alyssa says:

    Accountability is a HUGE perk of blogging for me, about everything but especially including my workouts. Happy to be your accountability partners here 🙂 good luck with your upcoming race and off-season goals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

