Conscious Eating

Am I the only one who unconsciously ate way too much Halloween candy this past month? One day in my office, I swear I ate over 30 midget Tootsie Rolls without even blinking an eye and really without even realizing it until I was packing up to go home and I saw all the wrappers in my trash can.  I felt a heavy sense of embarrassment and even took some wrappers out of the trash can and put them in a different trash can. Totally pathetic-right? How did that happen? What was happening that I could unconsciously do that?

tootsie roll

Clearly!!!

In making the switch to a healthier lifestyle in practice and in eating over 3 years ago, I have gone through so many different ways of eating.  I have counted calories and Macros using My Fitness Pal, I have tried eating Paleo, I have done a few rounds of Whole 30, I have done meal replacements using Herbalife products and I have ‘eating clean’. In looking back at all the ways I have changed my eating over the past 3 years, I am thankful that each of these different ways of eating has helped me to get to the healthier and fit Tamieka. I have no regrets about the choices I made in my eating. Each of these served their purpose for me at one time or another during my healthy lifestyle transition.

I am also thankful for the lessons that I have learned about myself and my eating habits and patterns during these past three years as well.  When I decide to do something, as long as I have the structure and what I need to be successful….I go all in.  Funny story, during one half marathon training, I was doing the whole 30 (all whole foods, no processed foods and no sugars/sweeteners), I had done well during training and felt confident for the race.  Well, the race was tougher than I thought it would be and my body was over taxed and  I got dehydrated. At the end of the race, I was delirious and cramping in every part of my body. I needed electrolytes and nutrients but WOULD NOT consume any of the packaged items, Gatorade, etc because it was not Whole 30 compliant.  I just about killed myself that day but didn’t break my 30 days-lol!!! I can laugh about it now, but it really wasn’t funny at the time.

I have also learned that deprivation ways of eating does not work for me.  I can do it in short stints but it is not sustainable for me and so therefore not a practice that I choose to follow any longer.  My only deprivation that I will do is during Lent. Each year I do give up something (usually sweets) and for my faith, I will make that sacrifice.

So where does that leave me? As of today, for me, I am choosing to be a conscious eater. What that means to me is choosing foods that will nourish my body and support my active lifestyle on a regular basis.

consious eating

Source: fofihere.com

I will:

-consciously choose to cook my own meals (most of the time);

-consciously chose to eat more fruits and vegetables from the earth;

-consciously choose to drink mostly water to hydrate my body;

-consciously choose to limit my processed food intake;

-consciously choose to enjoy sweets in moderation.

I know that what I put into my body makes a difference in how my body operates functions and responds and I will consciously choose to eat to support me having the healthiest body that I can.

eating

Source: consciousmindbody.com

What are your eating habits? Have you followed a particular way of eating that has been successful or not successful for you?

Today is my first time linking -up with The Fit Dish and the #fitfam hosted by Jill Conyers & Jessica Joy. Please make sure to stop by and see that others are talking about.

Today’s optional theme was Books to engage your mind and energize your spirit (clearly I need to do more functional reading because I had nothing to contribute on this front-lol!)

I would love to stat connected! Follow me:

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram

21 thoughts on “Conscious Eating

  1. jessicajoydurfee@The Fit Switch says:

    This is so inspiring, I had to share it with the world. #tweeted Lady, I am so happy you linked up, and that I had the opportunity to read this. Our journey’s sound very similar as far as trying new things, and it’s great to have found the right balance for you. I love trying different ‘diets,’ because they help me become more in tune with what’s right for me. You go girl! #fitfamlove #thefitdish

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Mears says:

    Love this! I completely agree that deprivation is NOT the way to go. I like the idea of being a conscious eater. I hate to admit it but one of MY worst habits is water. I will lay down in bed and realize I drank hardly ANY water without even realizing it so I am trying so hard to consciously drink more water, as you said 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yes deprivation is not the way!!

      Moderation for sure.

      I have water bottles EVERYWHERE!! 2 in my office, one on my car 3 at the house…if I don’t drink water it has to be because I am making a conscious decision not to (which I wouldn’t but you know what I mean-lol!)

      Like

  3. runawaybridalplanner says:

    I was totally smiling to the throwing wrappers in a different trash can, I did that one at work, LOL I was sitting back in the breakroom alone and there was a huge not even kidding mini tootsie roll jar, and I grabbed a couple, and while I was reading a book for 20 minutes apparently grabbed more than a couple. When I stood up to go, and looked at my wrapper pile I was like eeek.. So I tossed half in one can, and another inside someones office that was on my way down the hall.. Yeah, let them feel embarresed by it, lol. Darn those tootsie rolls!
    I am also the same way as you, I can’t diet or eat a diet that deprives me of what I enjoy. Moderation is the key and sometimes I’ll be the first to admit I have great days and not so great days, I think the key is do our best each day as we can:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ishouldrun says:

    I didn’t eat much Halloween candy this year but I have this problem where I eat pizza and junk food every day for 2 weeks after a marathon. 😦 But all the other times I try to be mindful, like you said about trying to eat more fruits and veggies and not eating preservative filled foods. I’ve tried a lot of eating plans too. And while I don’t stay with any particular plan 100% of the time, I have taken bits and pieces of each plan to put into play on a daily basis. I think it’s still a success if we learn from them like that, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tutuskippy says:

    Love me some tootsie rolls! I can definitely relate! I pack my lunch everyday (thank goodness) so I am a conscious packer 🙂 once the day starts I could easily eat 30 tootsie rolls myself but I only eat what I packed in my bag. Of course some days are meeting days and I love those little bowls of candy they always have out….it is tough!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jillconyers says:

    I’m a huge fan of conscious eating. The philosophy has many different names but not matter what you call it, it was a huge part of my recovery from an eating disorder and feeling so good. Boom! Thanks for sharing with the #fitfam Tamieka xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

