Have I become complacent in my race pace?

It’s Wednesday and today I was going to write a post about my race pace and how I think I have been not pushing myself enough (i.e. complacent) and that my goals for the remainder of the year and into 2016 is to push myself past my comfort zone to increase my race pace.

Wouldn’t you know it…Deb’s Wednesday’s Word of the day is……COMPLACENT!!!

Get out of my head Deb-lol!!

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word is : Complacent

COMPLACENT……contented to a fault with oneself or one’s actions.

When I started running with the goal of running races, I was so focused on my pace. What would be a good pace for me…what are other runners pacing….what pace would I have to maintain to finish in X amount of time? It was rather mind consuming actually.  When I signed up for my first half marathon, I was asked my estimated finish time…I totally had NO IDEA and started calculating/adding/dividing/subtracting. It was rather funny actually.  In the end I put down 2:45.(which would put me at about a 12:45 per mile pace).It felt like a good time which would allow me to pace well and do well.

During training, I kept that estimated time in mind and trained in a way to meet my goal.  Race day came and guess what…..I finished in 2:33 (11:42/mile pace)! Totally blew my estimation out of the water.

Of course after that I was thinking, well damn, I could have probably run a 2:30 half and so since May 2014, the mission has been to reduce my half marathon time. I was not willing to be complacent in that 1st half finish time.  My last half last year I PRd at 2:19:54. I started 2015 with the idea that with each half that I ran this year, I would reduce my finish time with a goal of running a 2:15 half by the end of the year.  At RnR Brooklyn this past October, I nailed it and finished just under at 2:13:50. Boom!!!

image

Well damn…now what do I do? I have one half left for the year!  I could be complacent and  just use my last half as a fun run….I thought about that (for like a second!) but if you know me, I am a bit too competitive to just run for fun (who does that? I am just joking, I know people do…it is just really hard for me to do.)

As my life often mirrors conversations and interactions, this morning at my track workout, our track lead came up to me during the warm up and said ‘so about this Sunday…..’ You see we have an end of the season 5k-I wasn’t going to run it at first because I thought I would have a football game but it turns out our game is not until 1:15 so I will be fine to run a 5k in the morning. Ok so back to the story…she said’ so about this Sunday…..I notice that any time that we are running longer distances over a 400, you slow your pace down but I know you can run faster than what you do. So this Sunday, I have a pace that I want you to push for.’  She proceeds to tell me the pace and I just look at her like she has 3 heads and snakes coming out of her eyes-lol! She proceeded to give me this great pep talk and how she thinks that I have become complacent in my pace increase success but she knows that I am much faster.  I totally respect her knowledge and her confidence in me and it totally got me thinking.

Have I been being complacent in my race pace….I mean I have shaved off 20 minutes of my half time but could I do better?   Am I settling in at a pace that is comfortable but not really pushing me? I feel like I am working hard….sh@# my HR tells me I am working hard, but am I? Have I become complacent and just settling in where I think I belong versus pushing myself to see where I could/should be?

I really don’t know.

What I do know is that this Sunday, I will attempt to run my fastest 5k to date. Last December’s Jingle Bell 5k Run (never gonna happen again finishing time) is about to be shattered. Wish me luck!

complacent

source:refinemelord.com

Do you have areas in your life where you have become complacent? How do you push yourself past it? Or do you?

I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

16 thoughts on “Have I become complacent in my race pace?

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Good luck in your race!

    I am definitely not complacent in my pace, I’m just a turtle. But I am out there trying!

    Maybe a few nights of solid sleep will do me a world of good. I got 5 hrs sleep (if that) all week and that is just not enough for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chocolaterunnergirl says:

    This is so good!!! I know it so easy to get comfy in what we do (in workouts of life). Even this morning my body pump teacher wasn’t going to up her weights till I decided to up mine!
    Love that you have someone who is willing to push you in the right direction! Can’t wait to hear how Sunday goes!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    Interesting. I do think our minds are our own worst stumbling blocks. If we could get our heads out of the way, we’d do fantastic things. I can’t wait to see how you do in the 5k! I bet you rock it! Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    If I ‘got out of your head’ I wouldn’t be able to pick such easy Wednesday Words for you! LOL Okay, so I have to admit that’s it’s a little freaky that more than once the Wednesday Word has been a great word for you, but man, today’s was the exact word you needed!

    I think it’s great that your track lead is setting your expectations higher and making you push. Can’t wait to see how you do at your 5K this weekend! Good luck!

    Thank you for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

