How I get stuck in my own head and self-sabotage

This week has been my most unproductive weeks that I can remember in a long time. It started right after my awesome race on Sunday (feel free to read my recap HERE). You would think that would lead me to have an awesome week! Yeah-no so much!

images sulmp

image:wishestrumpet.com

Sunday after my race, I developed a headache that would turn into a migraine and last through Tuesday. I tried to push past it and played in a scrimmage on Sunday and did some ladder drills on Monday evening but it was really hard. Feeling a little better Tuesday night, I decided I would go to Wednesday track workout in the morning. Well the Wednesday morning came around and my alarm didn’t do off and so I didn’t wake up until 5:58 am (workout starts at 5:45 am) and so I missed track workout. I was so upset about it…you would think that I would take that frustration and get a great workout in…..instead I pouted and covered my head and went back to bed until the alarm went off at 6:45 and ended up feeling frustrated and mad at myself all day.  Thursday came and went with…..you guessed it-no workout. So here we are at Friday and I did work up the mental energy to go to heated yoga this morning and I am making plans for a run or a group workout tomorrow morning. I also have 1 but hopefully 2 playoff football games on Sunday and I hope this will help me get my mojo back.

I am not sure what it is but as soon as my week doesn’t start out or work out as I planned it, I have a hard time CTL-ALT-DEL-ing and starting the next day fresh. It’s like I totally get thrown off by the missed or messed up schedule and just can’t bring myself back to start. I really don’t know what it is but I know if drives me freaking crazy!!! One of my serious pet peeves with myself!

Is that self sabotage? According to Psychology Today…..The answer would be YES!!! Behavior is said to be self-sabotaging when it creates problems and interferes with long-standing goals.

images self sabatoge

It may not seem like self sabotage to some as it is just one week off of the normal but it sure feels that way to me.  If this were a one time occurrence, I would chalk it off as ‘just an off week’ but this happens often with me and so it feels a bit deeper for me right now.

I had the opportunity and the ability to get out of my head and get back on track and I choose not to.  Instead I choose to stay in my head and my feelings and not do what I know makes me feel good and keeps me on track with my goals. Remember how I wrote about the #holidaysweat challenge and wanting to get over 200 minutes of activity this week? Hmmm, I wonder how that will happen with my lack of activity this week?

I am keeping notes as to when my self sabotage behaviors are present to see if there may be a pattern and to be able to possibly get a better hold on it.

I am forgiving myself for this week and looking forward to a better week next week. Wish me luck!

Do you find yourself self sabotaging? How do you get past it? Rebound from it?

Let’s stay connected…follow me on

 Twitter,InstagramFacebook

8 thoughts on “How I get stuck in my own head and self-sabotage

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    It’s the all or nothing syndrome; a lot of people fall prey to that — you’re not alone. I don’t have that with working out, but I think we all have areas where it gets ya.

    Another name for it is perfectionism! When it comes to working out, I always tell myself I can quit after 10 minutes if I’m not feeling it. Sometimes I use the method with cleaning, too.

    I can’t imagine a migraine, much less one that lasts for days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

