12 Days of Christmas Blogging Challenge-Day 2

Happy Tuesday All!

I am a bit under the weather today and I have been in bed most of the day  :(. Starting to feel a little better though.

The good thing about being sick….I stayed home today and so I got to catch up on reading blog posts. In doing so, I saw that Karen @ Run Wright tagged me to participate in the 12 days of Christmas Blogging Challenge.

What is the 12 days of Christmas Blogging Challenge:

According to Steph @ ScaleSimple:

-it is pretty simple, and a lot of fun and I invite you to join along with me at any point! So are you interested in partaking in this 12 day fun and festive blogging challenge? If so just check out the rules below and let the blogging begin!

The Rules:

-Include the photo below in each blog post

image

-You may start at any point in December
-Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
-Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
-Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
-Have fun!
-Remember to link ScaleSimple while partaking in this challenge. Happy Holidays everyone!

If I did my calculations right, Day 12 should be on Christmas Day and so today would be Day 2 of 12.

Today’s Theme: Favorite Tradition New or Old

The funny thing is, that I really have vague memories of my childhood.  It is the running joke in my family that if I need to remember something from my childhood, I call my sister.  The mental health professional in me wonders if I had some trauma that I have blocked out but the 40+ year old in me says its just old age.  Either way recalling early childhood memories for me is difficult so to speak to favorite traditions that are old would actually be pretty hard for me. So on to Favorite New Traditions.

Since having children, I have really started to try to establish traditions with them that hopefully they will remember and continue when they get older.

For the Christmas traditions, we begin in the 1st week of December and we start with Letters to Santa.  This actually serves a good purpose for me to knowing what they actually want versus me getting them what they need (Pjs, undies, etc.)

image

We promise we have been good this year Santa 🙂

Around the same time is the Christmas Tree Lighting.  We have gone to the Town Center near where we live for the past few years.

image

image

Next up is decorating our tree.  We have  a small town house, so we don’t have room for a big real tree so we have a small tinsel tree. The kids love it and that is all that matters.
image
image

Of course, there has to be some running in the holiday traditions! I have run in either the Jingle All the Way 5k or the Jingle Bell Jog 8k for the past 3 years. This year it was the Jingle Bell Jog 8k.  I started out in a full Ms. Claus costume but the warm temps in the DC area had me down to a sports bra by mile 2!

image

To finish off the holiday season, we will buy gifts for the Giving Tree families (its not just about getting gifts but giving gifts also) and of course baking cookies for Santa on Christmas Eve.

xmas

Well there you have it Day 2 of the 12 days of Christmas…Favorite Traditions New or Old.

What are some of your favorite holiday traditions? Have you created any new holiday traditions?



Each day, I’ll invite 3 more people to participate in the Christmas blogging challenge – start anytime you like. The 3 bloggers I am nominating today are:

Judy

Alanna

Alexis

 

Ok ladies…your challenge is set…

  • Include the photo in each blog post to explain the challenge
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

Link-up your post at ScaleSimple and check out what other bloggers are sharing.



 

I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

5 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blogging Challenge-Day 2

Leave a Reply

