12 days of Christmas Blogging Challenge Days 5-8

Last week, I accepted the challenge from Karen to participate in the 12 days of Christmas Blogging Challenge with Scale Simple.

I am a little behind so I will be combine days 5-8 into this post so that I can get back on track and be complete with the 12 days by Christmas.

Day 5- Personal Christmas Wish List

Day 6-Fond Childhood Christmas Memory

Day 7- A Photo day-Christmas past and present

Day 8- Local Christmas Tradition in my town or country



 

Day 5-Personal Christmas Wish List

I thought this would be easy for me but as I thought about it-it really wasn’t. Let me see:

Fitness:

-Bosu

-Pull up bar

-workout clothes

-bike

Triathlon for Beginners

-a girl can never have too many running clothes and shoes…right?

image

Personal:

-light sweaters

-spa day

-bow tie Uggs

-Gift Certificates: Banana Republic, Nordstrom’s, Blue Mercury

-continued good health for myself and my family and friends

 

Day 6-Fond Childhood Christmas Memory

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you know how hard childhood memories are for me so I will fast forward and the last Christmas memory with my aunt and grandmother.  As I child I spent some of my childhood in Jamaica with my aunt Marcia and my grandmother.  Admittedly, they are the 1st memory that I have of love and care.  In my adulthood, my aunt Marcia became a Jehovah’s Witness and stopped celebrating Christmas.  This always made Christmas at my grandmother’s interesting since my aunt still lived with my grandmother. What was most interesting was that my aunt never stopped the celebration of Christmas in the house, she just did not participate.  Sadly both my aunt and grandmother have passed both suddenly and way before their time.  The last Christmas we spent together was most memorable because, my aunt actually participated in our Christmas celebration.  By participating, I mean she helped decorate the house and was present during present exchange, which she hadn’t done in many years. That Christmas was memorable because, it was the first time that Christmas didn’t feel strained or weird with the celebrators and non-celebrators.  We enjoyed our time together as a family and the spirit of Christmas was in the air!

 

Day 7- A Photo day-Christmas past and present

  Sibling Xmas Pic-My sister and I with my kids during my daughter’s 1st Christmas.

254995_10150192944705668_7213280_n.jpg

 

Day 8- Local Christmas Tradition in my town or country

Although I have yet to get into this tradition, I am amused and fascinated by the Elf on the Shelf tradition. I don’t know if this is a worldwide tradition but I know that it is very much a tradition here in the States.

The Elf on the Shelf®: A Christmas Tradition includes a special scout elf sent from the North Pole to help Santa Claus manage his naughty and nice lists. When a family adopts a scout elf and gives it a name, the scout elf receives its Christmas magic and can fly to the North Pole each night to tell Santa Claus about all of the day’s adventures. Each morning, the scout elf returns to its family and perches in a different place to watch the fun. Children love to wake up and race around the house looking for their scout elf each morning.

0203_boxset_dkboy_elfonboxset_silo-800-Main_large.jpg

Every year, I say…next year, I will do this….but never have! Maybe this will be the year (well….next year) that I get my –ish together and we will have an elf on the shelf next Christmas Holiday.

What is on your Christmas list? Do you do elf on the shelf? What Christmas traditions do you and your family have?

Each day, I am suppose to  invite 3 more people to participate in the Christmas blogging challenge to start anytime you like. Since we are in the week of Christmas, today will be the last day that I will tag anyone….I am sure that you all have plenty to do this week.

The 3 bloggers I am tagging today are:

Janelle

Mary Beth

Artney

Ok ladies…your challenge is set…

  • Include the photo in each blog post to explain the challenge
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively
  • Have fun!

Link-up your post at ScaleSimple and check out what other bloggers are sharing.



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

2 thoughts on “12 days of Christmas Blogging Challenge Days 5-8

  1. Run Wright says:

    I’ve fallen behind with the challenge too and I’m planning to make it up today. I have a ton of blogging stuff to catch up on, like reconnecting with my blog-friends like you. Pray for me 🙂
    I have had Jehovah Witness friends since high school and I think their non-celebration is interesting and I respect it but I can’t imagine having some people in the house celebrating and others not. I’m glad your last Christmas together was a big celebration though. That is a really special memory.
    I first thought the Elf thing was weird but you make it sound fun and now I’m kinda wishing I had kids to do this for. Maybe someday 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      This is a busy time of year even without the holidays….I totally get it!

      It was a challenge to have celebrators and non celebrators but we made it work.

      I am so glad to have that memory of them together.

      I do think the elf on the shelf is kind of weird too actually but i think the kids would love it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

