Last week of December 2015-Weekly Wrap

Wait what!!! It is the last week of December of the year 2015….how is that possible!!!

Well no other way would I want to end the month than linking up with with, my friends Holly from HoHo Runs and Tricia from MissSippiPiddlin for the weekly wrap-thanks for the opportunity  ladies!

WeeklyWrap-300x300

Make sure to stop by and check out how other bloggers spent their week.

 

Weekly Workout Re-Cap

I have decided to use this off season to really work on building my muscles and have decided to reduce my running and increase strength training.  In the past I have had great success using the Body For Life weight training technique and so I have decided to use this weight training method again as a part of my off season training. I will also be doing 21 day reset in January with Laura Peifer Wellness (I will post more about this next week)

The routine is as followed:

  • Select one exercise and conduct five sets with it, starting with a set of 12 reps, then increasing the weight and doing 10 reps, adding more weight and doing 8 reps, adding more weight for 6 reps. Then reduce the weight and do 12 reps. Immediately perform another set of 12 reps for that muscle group using the second selected exercise.
  • For each muscle group, rest for one minute between the first four sets. Then complete the final two sets with no rest in between, wait two minutes before moving on to your next muscle group, complete this pattern five times for the upper body training experience and four times for the lower body training experience.

 

Monday-Rest Day

After suffering from a cold and recovering the week before, I got out for a run over the weekend.  It felt good to get out and get in some cold fresh air but my body was still recovering and so I rested on Monday to recover a bit more.

Tuesday: Upper Body

 

image

 

Wednesday: Track Work

Track workout with a 12 days of Christmas theme.

1200m warmup

11×100 drill (we added lunges, backwards running and a stride )

1000m (smooth and steady)

90 seconds recovery

800m (increase pace)

70 seconds recovery

600m (fast)

50 seconds recovery

400m (fast)

30 seconds recovery

200m (all out)

1 minute recovery

Cool down

 

image

 

Thursday: Lower Body

My son took these pictures without me knowing.  You never know when they are watching!

image

Friday

Yeah no workout on Christmas when you were up until the wee hours of the night wrapping gifts…lol! I had every intention of getting a HIIT workout in…really I did 😉

Saturday

Yup another great plan to do a full body workout…..didn’t quite happen though….but I did clean up and put away all of the kids Christmas clothes, toys and packed for our mini-trip to New York.

Sunday

2 hour football practice in near 70 degree weather.

 



 

BbAfY_WCMAAo5wi

Family fun times……

Christmas break early morning celebration! I haven’t been off of work for a full week in I don’t know how long. I am so excited for this coming week of extra time with the kiddies.

image

 

Mini Photo Shoot…..no jackets on Christmas Eve….what is happening?

image

 

Ready to make Santa’s cookies:

image

image
Cookies for Santa and carrots for the Reindeer.

image

Christmas Day:

image

Even though it felt close to 70 degrees I was still going to rock my glitter tights!!

image
image

 

 

 

Sibling Trip up to New York to visit my dad
image

 

Ended the week in New York with my dad.  Perfect way to end the Holiday week.

 

It has been a great week of family time, love, happiness and fun!

 

How was your week? Did you stay on track with your fitness goals?

 



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

27 thoughts on “Last week of December 2015-Weekly Wrap

  1. Debra @HappyRunningSole says:

    I got my runs done for the week, but not on their scheduled days. We’ve had a lot of rain and storms here over the past week. When I did catch a break in the storms it was so humid and muggy. I love your Christmas outfits! So cute! Hope you have a Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Run Wright says:

    I am so far off my workout plan that I can’t honestly call it a plan anymore. The last few weeks have just gotten away from me, Christmas week kind of passed in a blur and I didn’t do a lot of the things i wanted to do. This week is purely me trying to catch up to meet some of my goals before the end of the 2015.
    Kudos to you for doing Christmas in a big way. Your week looks amazing. I love all those matching Christmas elf tights outfits. I love the cookies and carrots for Santa and his crew. You make parenting look fun! 🙂
    I love those glittery tights. (The tights and skirt combo is one of my fav things to wear in winter)
    Your workout pics are awesome. Good for you that you have your own personal photographer to follow you around and take sneaky pics. Love it!

    Liked by 2 people

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      It has been really hard staying on track during the holidays but I know if I don’t I will be miserable and mean-lol!

      You have a few more days to finish 2015 strong…you got this!!

      I try to make parenting fun but it is HARD work but the fun times balances it out 🙂

      I haven’t work tights and a skirt in sooooo long! I had forgotten how cute it looks.

      He is sneaky but I love it!

      I was in NY late Sun-Tues..sorry I didn’t reach out to get together. I plan to be back in Feb (weather permitting) and hope we can connect then.

      Happy New Year my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    It looks like you stayed on track. I did pretty good only skipping 1 planned day. The 12 Days track workout was a very clever idea. The weather was so un-Christmas like, wasn’t it? I love your matching Christmas outfits. I can bet your kids had such fun last week. It’s great you get to stay home and spend some extra time with them. I appreciate you linking with us Tamieka. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks!

      I am enjoying the extra time with them for sure and sure I will be ready for them to go back to school next week-lol!

      The weather has been crazy but I think it is about to get to what it is suppose to be.

      It started sleating in NY today.

      Like

  4. MB Jackson says:

    that does look like a great week of family time and memories! What is with the boys? My son does the same thing! Getting a good family shot with him in it is like pulling teeth……..Great workout week for you too, looking good mama!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com says:

    What a great Christmas you had! I love the Christmas outfits and I would so wear the tights too! That is a great family picture even with the crazy eyes! I think after my spring races I’m going to concentrate more on lifting and trying to improve my strength. Thanks for linking up with us and I’ll see you in 2016! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    So nice that you could have such great family times together. I *think* I’m about to go back into training mode; I concentrated more on strength training this month, using a KB plan called Lean & Lovely that I’ve used several times already and I could actually see a difference (wish it helped with the weight!). Been doing that for a month so it’s time to start something new this month and really start to think about what I need to do with my running . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

