Wednesday Word-Resolutions

As the year draws to a close, it is customary that we begin to think about New Years Resolutions. Every year millions of people set these resolutions and every year millions of resolution get broken.

A few years ago, I realized that I was becoming one of those statistics of the failed New Year’s resolutioner (is that a word?…it is today!) I took a really hard look at the resolutions I was setting for myself and thought about the kind of person that I am, and decided I needed to go about resolution setting a bit differently.

Instead of the broad and basic resolutions to workout out, eat healthy, save money, etc., my resolutions actually needed to be goal that are more refined and structured.

The difference between resolutions and goals:

A resolution is a fact. It’s a “formal expression of opinion or intention”. It’s a resolve or determination to do something. Yes, that is the dictionary definition. It’s an absolute. You are going to do “this”.

A goal is also a fact. It’s the “result or achievement toward which effort is directed. Aim. End.” A goal is something you strive for, you achieve to accomplish something. You see the end result and you make steps to get there.

I can say that my New Year’s Resolution is that I will resolve to set SMART goals in all aspects of my life: Personal, Family, Health, Fitness and Financial.

 

As a special educator, I used SMART goals every time I created an Individualized Education Plan for my students but never thought about creating SMART goals for myself…really Tamieka!

image

What are SMART goals?
S. – Specific
M. – Measurable
A. – Assignable
R. – Realistic
T. – Time based

I have come to realize that SMART goals are good for me but SMARTER goals are ideal for me:
adding the ER makes a world of difference for me!
E.- Evaluate, excitable, ethical…
R – Re-evaluate, reward, reassess…

In choosing my goals, I need to be intentional and careful!  I need to ensure that I am setting myself up for success and want to make sure that I am able put my time and energy into things that matters to me.

I am still working out my 2016 goals and will share them once hey are formulated.

Do you set resolutions or goals? What are your plans for 2016?

Final Wednesday Word of 2015 hosted by Deb.

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word: RESOLUTION

I can’t wait to see what 2016 words will be!

 



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Wednesday Word-Resolutions

  1. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I love how you changed SMART goals into SMARTER goals – genius! I definitely choose to set goals over resolutions for the exact reasons you point out in the definitions. Here’s to all of our 2016 goals being met!

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen says:

    Ha! as soon as I saw SMART, I knew you were a teacher 🙂 Our teachers are required to use the same system (I work in a school office). It is actually a great system and I love the idea of making very specific, attainable things. I have always kept my goals pretty conservative and general, Iike exercise four times week, I am not completely sure how to attack 2106 yet…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

