My efforts to get quality sleep.

At the end of last year, I won the Jawbone Up Move fitness tracker from a giveaway hosted by Wendy at takinglongwayhome.  One of the reasons I was so excited about this win was because the Jawbone tracks sleep.

Daily, I wake up feeling tired and get EXHAUSTED throughout the day.  As a light and minimum sleeper, I have always wanted to track my sleep to help me to make better sleep choices, get into better sleep patterns and routines to improve the quality of my sleep.

In college, I developed migraines due to stress and extremely poor sleeping habits and I have been afraid of developing them again due to poor sleeping habits.

I consciously try to set realistic bedtimes and try to turn my brain off at night to allow for some good quality sleep.  This is a work in progress for me.

sleep jot down

Enter a caption

These articles on the importance of quality sleep are a good read and very informative:

9 Surprising Reasons to Get More Sleep

11 Surprising Health Benefits of Sleep

Why sleep is important.

How much more will you achieve when you reduce your sleep debt?

 

The Jawbone UP Move when connected to the App provides a nightly look at your sleep.

Here is mine from last night:

Screenshot_2016-01-20-11-22-36.png

What do you notice?  For me I notice that I was in bed for 7 hrs and 49 minutes…that is pretty good for me actually.  I also notice that I actually slept for 7 hrs and 38 minutes…that too is pretty good for me. Some good quality sleep right there!!

What I notice most is the amount of light sleep versus the amount of sound sleep.  This actually makes total scene to me because I felt like I was very active and mildy awake a lot during the night last night.

What is Light Sleep?

Light sleep is the term for sleep that falls into the categories stage 1 and stage 2.  It’s a Non-REM form of sleep and differs from heavy (deep) sleep of stage 3.  Stage 1 makes up a small fraction of total sleep time (about 3%) and is mainly a transition between waking and Stage 2.  Almost all light sleep is stage 2 sleep.  Adults spend half (or more) of their nights in light sleep.  Light sleep refers to the stages that are associated with more movement.

What is Sound sleep?

Sound sleep refers to the moments of sleep when the body is particularly still.

Throughout the night, the body enters different stages of sleep which are associated with more or less movement. Sound sleep refers to the sleep stages that are associated with less movement.

My goal is to have more nights where my hours of sound sleep are higher than the hours of light sleep.  A work in progress that I will keep working on!

I know that for me when I don’t get enough quality sleep, I am:

-tired;

-exhausted;

-moody;

-short tempered;

-overall a not so nice person whom I do not like 😦

So, I have set out to get more quality sleep each night!

My goal is to get at least 7 hrs of quality sleep each night.

My plan:

-Get in the bed by 10 pm

-No phone/computer ,etc. in the bed

-Read until 10:20 or until I get sleepy

-Lights out and sleep mask on by 10:30.

I know if I follow this plan, I will have many nights of good quality sleep that will allow me to be more productive, happier and more pleasant!

 

How are your sleeping habits? Do you get sound quality sleep at night? Any tips for me?

Linking up with Wednesday Word hosted by Deb.

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word: Quality



Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



 

I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “My efforts to get quality sleep.

  1. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I love that you tied our word quality into sleep! I’ve gotten better at getting more sleep since I got my Fitbit because it makes me aware (and serves as a reminder) of how little sleep I used to get. And yes, I bought it for the exact same reasons you wanted the Jawbone.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  2. HoHo Runs says:

    I’ve always been a poor sleeper. I use my Fitbit to track sleep. I actually feel as a whole I have gotten a little better. I think seeing that I actually do sleep some (per Fitbit) allowed me to have a little confidence that I could sleep better. It’s weird. Whatever works, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I actually got a Garmin Vivoactive to help track my sleep although I already knew I slept terribly. But the reason for that is my 4 year old who hasn’t slept a night in his life. There are times where it’s like having a newborn. If we could fix that my sleep would get soooooo much better! I spend most of my time in light sleep as well!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

        No, haven’t taken him for a sleep study yet. We’ve been using a star chart and that has actually been working pretty well. We had a week straight when he slept all night, but then he got sick and we had to start over. We are now on 3 nights in a row! whoo hoo!

        Like

  4. Odessa says:

    I need to pay more attention to my sleep habits. I do know I also grind my teeth with stress which means also waking up with a HORRIBLY sore jaw . Good advice here

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim Hatting says:

    UGH. Sleep (or lack thereof). I seldom ever get more than 5 hours…and I seem to function OK. I know it’s gonna catch up with me someday. My brain just does NOT want to turn off…I don’t think I”m stressed, just too many thoughts LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. runawaybridalplanner says:

    That’s cool you are enjoying your Jawbone. I have a Fitbit, they also track sleep. But I am one of those rare people who have zero problems sleeping, if anything I have a problem waking up, LOL I can fall asleep anywhere at anytime, LOL I am pretty sure I have my Epstein Barr to blame for that haha
    Good luck getting your ZZzzz’s. I hear routine and keeping electronics out of the bedroom helps some people.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      You are most welcome.

      On anoher note-for some reason when I go to your blog…it takes me to your ‘about me’ page and wont let me go anywhere else. Even when I click HOME.

      Could totally be my old a-computer. I will keep trying though.

      Like

  7. lovealwaysashleyj says:

    This is such a great and informative post! I also struggle with my sleeping habits, and find myself exhausted during the day. I may use your routine as a guideline so that way I can get myself into a bedtime routine instead of going to sleep at a different time every night! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Now that Chester is gone, my sleep is much better and I feel much better, too. I was just beyond exhausted with constantly being woken up.

    But like you, I spend more time in light than deep sleep. And of course perimonopausal symptoms come into play, too. I don’t get night sweats, but sometimes I might get a very mild hot flash — still enough to wake me up.
    I’ve always been a really light sleeper, tho.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

