40 days of……

Today is the 1st day of Lent. Every year, many who practice Catholic principles begin the 40 (47 including Sundays) days of sacrifice and or celebration from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday. I am Episcopalian….some call it the Catholic-Lite religion….(Difference between the two).

FILE PHOTO OF CROSS DRAPED IN PURPLE OUTSIDE CHURCH DURING LENT

The penitential season, which begins with Ash Wednesday, calls Christians to prayer, fasting, repentance and charity. (CNS photo/Gregory A. Shemitz, Long Island Catholic) (Jan. 26, 2007)

This is often a time of  “fasting” (or abstaining from certain foods or physical pleasures) for 40 days. This is said to be done to imitate Jesus Christ’s 40-day fast in the wilderness (Matt. 4:1-2).

In years past, I have committed to giving up something during lent. My lental sacrifice each year has been sweets.  Hi, I am Tamieka and I am addicted to sweets.

As much as I try, I can not kick the sugar sweet habit.  I just have to have it!!! This year will be no different and today I start the Lental fasting of sweets and added sugars…pray for me ya’ll.

Each year I have been giving up something during Lent.  After doing some more research on Lent, I came across something (I can not remember where I found this) that has me thinking a little bit differently this year.

A NEW PERSPECTIVE:

The real aim of Lent is, above all else, to prepare men for the celebration of the death and Resurrection of Christ…the better the preparation the more effective the celebration will be. One can effectively relive the mystery only with purified mind and heart. The purpose of Lent is to provide that purification by weaning men from sin and selfishness through self-denial and prayer, by creating in them the desire to do God’s will and to make His kingdom come by making it come first of all in their hearts.

The goal is not just to abstain from sin for the duration of Lent but to root sin out of our lives forever. Conversion means leaving behind an old way of living and acting in order to embrace new life in Christ.

Pope Francis says, fasting must never become superficial. He often quotes the early Christian mystic John Chrysostom who said: “No act of virtue can be great if it is not followed by advantage for others. So, no matter how much time you spend fasting, no matter how much you sleep on a hard floor and eat ashes and sigh continually, if you do no good to others, you do nothing great.”

Hmmmm…so what does this mean for me this year?

This year not only will I fast on the sweets but I will be mindful and purposely to add an act of kindness, gratitude and thankfulness each day.

I will:

-Allot time everyday to look at, reflect and give thanks and gratitude for what is right in my life;

-Continue to smile and be kind to others;

To start today….Gratitude, Day 1….Today I am grateful for the sleep I got last night and the ability to wake up this morning.

I found this wonderful journal pdf  on The Least of These Things  This will help me to be more focused and move through these 40 days with intention….perfect! Thanks Maura!

12342511_10153755300102296_6856900165092131099_n

I knew this momentum bracelet was perfect for me!!!

 

Do you practice Lent? Do you fast or add something more positive? What are you grateful/thankful for?



 

 

Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs? If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

11 thoughts on “40 days of……

  1. Aimee says:

    I remember reading a devotional several years ago that said that the purpose of Lent was not to simply give something up, but replace it with something better. It sounds like you are taking the same approach. Good luck with giving up sugar!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Coco says:

    So many people don’t realize that it’s not just Catholics who observe Lent. I admire you for tackling your sugar addiction but I honestly think that G-d cares more about your commitment to being kind. I am trying to focus on kindness myself — especially being kind in traffic!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Yesterday was the first day saying goodbye to alcohol. This is a great message – I definitely want to also use this time to be kinder and more grateful for what I have. Good luck staying away from the sweets!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      I liked this:
      fasting must never become superficial. He often quotes the early Christian mystic John Chrysostom who said: “No act of virtue can be great if it is not followed by advantage for others. So, no matter how much time you spend fasting, no matter how much you sleep on a hard floor and eat ashes and sigh continually, if you do no good to others, you do nothing great.

      Like

Leave a Reply

