I love being in the SPOTLIGHT!!!!

I am so excited to be participating once again in Kristy’s Blog Hop. This is my 2nd time and this time around I joined for 2 sessions. This time,  we have been meeting bloggers who blog about different topics and subjects as well as fitness and health blogger. This is kind of exciting because it really opens up the number of awesome bloggers that I get to meet.

If you are visiting me for the first time through the Blog Hop, WELCOME WELCOME WELCOME!!! I am so glad you are here! I hope you will hang around for a while and follow in my adventures as a FIT BALLING RUNNING MOM!

In the last blog hop, I shared with my readers an Introduction to Fit Balling Running Mom and  Who is Fit Balling Running Mom Part II and I’m in the spotlight…. If you read my About Me page, you would have seen these links there as well.

 

image

I am not going to move away too far from the way I have spotlighted myself with you all in the past.

This time around I thought I would share the 2016 goals for FIT BALLING RUNNING MOM

 

FIT:

wpid-IMG_20150605_072156.jpg

Before I fell back in love with running, I had falling in love with weight lifting and was working on getting stronger and lifting heavier.  When I began running again, I stopped lifting weights as much and seemed to only lift weights ever now and again.  My running suffered greatly and I strongly believe that my many injuries happened due to limited weight/strength training.

In 2016, I am committing to be more consistent with weight training and setting the following lifting goals:

Bench Press: 80 lbs

Dead Lift: 95 lbs

Back Squat: 100 lbs

Front Squat:…I am working to figure this on out

Pull Ups: 10….as my daughter will tell you….’mommy can do none!’ she teases me because she is able to do 5 pull ups….she is 5 years old!!

I have a ‘look’ that I  am working towards as well but I will keep that to myself and share at another time.

BALLING:

10454058_1500655840167965_433724329_a

Playing a team sport, it is a bit hard to really set individual goals but I have thought about a few.  Last season,  I have to admit I was a bit frustrated with my team and I became a bit dis-engaged and did not make much effort to be at practice and to participate fully. I did not make it to not one practice during the Fall season.  Honestly, my son had soccer practices at the same time and day and so I decided I would rather do that than go to practices.  Yup, I played the ‘soccer mom’ card to justify my absences.  In hindsight, as a veteran on the team this behavior was really unacceptable and I take total ownership of my behavior.

This season, I commit to:

-attend as many practices I can (My son really does have soccer practice on the same day and time) but I will work it out.

-I will organize a some team functions for team building

-I will work to mentor and train a newer member on the team

RUNNING:

12115924_10154232456609018_6689280654533329502_n

2015 was an amazing year for me running wise and 2016 will be awesome as well.

My 2 running goals for 2016 are:

-Run a 2:00 Half Marathon…..I am debating between Richmond and Trenton….has anyone run either? Any insight on them?

-Become a Triathlete.  I have Savage Man 20 Sprint Triathlon on the schedule and I am super excited.  I started taking swim classes this past January and will sign up for more classes on Tuesday 🙂

Mom:

wpid-IMG_20150606_104638.jpg

A few days ago, my son sat me down for a talk….he is 7 going on 8 (he was serious too!)

He let me know that he sometimes feels that i raise my voice too much and that he would really like for me to work on not raising my voice so much.  I agreed and asked that he and his sister work on following my directions the 1st time.  He agreed….
I will keep you updated on our progress.

A few other goals:

-be more present at home. I have committed to plugging up and not having my phone from the time we get home to the time the kids go to bed.  I have even downloaded an app that locks my phone during that time, so that I  don’t have access to it, even when I am tempted!

-Have family time at least once a week that does not include a screen

-Volunteer at the kiddies schools at least once a month


 

Thank you for sticking around and finding out a little more about me.  I have enjoyed sharing just a bit more with you all and I hope you have found me a bit interesting…lol!

What are your goals for 2016? Tell me something about you?




Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs? If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

75 thoughts on “I love being in the SPOTLIGHT!!!!

  1. Lisa @ Lisa Runs for Cupcakes says:

    I hope 2016 is your year! I’m sure you will get your sub-2 now that you have your eyes set on it. I look forward to meeting you at a ZOOMA event! This year, one of my goals is to take the pressure off running so I started heart rate training. It is keeping me injury free and happy so far… let’s see how it goes the rest of the year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachael Novello says:

    I am SO excited to see how you progress toward your goals! I love the idea of being more in the moment with your family – this is something we struggle with in our house because my business is primarily done online so I’m in constant contact with my clients. Good luck with your triathlon! I have done two sprints and loved them! You will have a great time and I’m sure you’ll do amazing! I

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Farrah says:

    Yay! This is my second time participating in Kristy’s blog hop too! :] I love lifting weights as well–I unfortunately haven’t had access to any in a while, so I’ve been subbing it with other activities. You have awesome goals going for 2016! I have a pullup goal too (somewhere in the realm of 10-15 in one go)! :]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Great to see you in the hop Tamieka! Your young man was very brave (and sweet!) to have that little talk with you. That’s pretty amazing. How wonderful that you plan to become a triathlete. That really takes commitment and dedication. I have no doubt you will make that happen. My teens have a pull-up bar in the house. This Mommy can do none too. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yeah blog hop!! 😉

      We have a really good relationship (I hope it stays that way…)

      Oh the pull up! I got a pull up bar for xmas…it is on!!!

      With the bum knee my sports Dr recommended the tri. …he knows me well 😉 . I am really excited about it.

      Like

  5. Kathryn @ Dancing to Running says:

    I love how your goals are divided up into each aspect of your blog name. You have some incredible goals that you’re going after this year, and I admire your desire to be more present at home and forcing yourself to do so with that lock app. Which ZOOMA race(s) are you running this year? I’ll be running in Annapolis.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks…my blog name really represents me so the breakdown makes sense to me. Glad you like it.

      Yes the being present at home is so necessary! !

      I will be at ANNAPOLIS! !! we will have to remember to try to see each other 😉

      Like

      • Chocolaterunsjudy says:

        I love that he feels comfortable doing that! I might do it with my parents now (and maybe not so much still!), but never at that age!

        And I think that also speaks volumes to how you’re raising him — in a good way.

        Oh, forgot to mention I did seriously consider Trenton at one point, but now I think I’ve zeroed in on Ocean City for my NJ half. Not sure when that will be, but I am running out of halfs I can drive to!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Amanda @bephoenixfit says:

    Love your goals! Those are some awesome fit goals, and I am forever trying to work on my pullups as well haha. At least I can do a chin up or two — those seem easier. 😉
    I have the same mom goal to keep my voice quiet. I grew up in a very loud home and sometimes it’s difficult to keep it under control!
    Happy to see you in the hop again!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Melissa says:

    Great goals! Mine are all posted on my blog, my first post of the year.
    I love that you’re getting into triathlons! I’m going to look in to SavageMan and see if I can make it. Maybe I’ll see you there! I really want to get some sprints in this year (I did a half ironman last year).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. marissavicario says:

    Your goals are really inspiring and I love the talk you had with your son. What a wise soul he is for 7 years old! Best wishes with training for your first Tri! They are fun and addictive 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Chaitali says:

    Those are some great goals! I especially love the one about locking the phone in the evenings. I ran the Richmond Half marathon in 2014 as my first half. It was a great experience, a really well organized race with a nice amount of crowd support.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Melissa says:

    So many great goals! I have mine posted on my blog.
    I was so happy to see you’re going to give triathlons a try! I’m going to look in to SavageMan and see if I can sign up…maybe I’ll see you there! I want to get some sprints in this year (I did a half ironman last year).

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Ha! !! Wait Savage man craziness. …tell me more….the 20 should be doable right? I libs deep creek so it seemed like a good way to get a good weekend in with the family.

      Thanks….the goals are tough enough to push me! !

      Like

  11. MB Jackson says:

    great set of goals! I had to make some goals/compromises with my computer time as well. I have never heard of an app that can make your phone not usable- that is cool! I do have the hubby talked into ZOOMA Cape Cod, so if you don’t make it to Florida, I will meet you there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      The app is pretty cool actually! It even tracks your daily usage and let’s you know how many times you unlock your phone and what app you used. Very telling! !

      I stop want to do our of state Zooma races…gotta make it work out!

      Like

  12. taleof2halfsblog says:

    Your kids are adorable! It sounds like 2016 is going to be an awesome year for you! My main goal for 2016 is running my first marathon. I just registered the other day for Chicago. I play on a women’s league volleyball team and it can definitely be hard to want to participate when there’s frustrations with the team- I’ve been dealing with some of the same stuff this year on our team.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks…they melt my heart!

      I am excited about 2016 for sure!

      Yeah Chicago!!! If I ever run a marathon Chicago is one for sure that will be on the list! Good luck….I cant wait to follow along with your training!

      That’s the thing about team sports though-right. The ups and downs.

      Like

  13. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com says:

    Aren’t Kristy’s hops so much fun? I was so glad to see you in it as well! Gosh, I almost think any blogger needs to participate in her hops to build a blogging etiquette foundation if nothing else.
    Girlfriend, I am truly impressed with your weight training goals! Bench press 80lbs? Wow! I do good to complete 5-6 push ups in decent form. Thank you so much for including YOUR day in out weekly wrap link up! I know you did not have to do that and we so appreciate the support! Keep it up lady! I look forward to seeing you blow through these goals and on to the next ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Darlene says:

    I am so inspired reading your blog. And though I am A LOT older, I can relate to a lot of it.

    I play tennis and used to play competitively on a team. It was the best. My closest friends are from that tennis team. We are friends even when we are not on the court.

    Injury – I broke my ankle badly – had 8 screws & a plate but even though the doctor thought that I shouldn’t run and definitely not long, I rehabbed and have run stronger and faster since. I ran 7 half last year which may have been too much but we’ll see.

    The one thing that I should do is strength training. I work and just can’t seem to find the time. But I agree with you, it would probably make me a better runner.

    http://myfirst5k.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yup my closest friends are my football girls. We are more than football….we are family!

      Wowsers 8 screws-yikes! 7 halfs-awesome!! My 4 last year were a bit much and so only doing 1 this year.

      For sure strength training will help!

      Like

  15. Josephine says:

    love the family time with out the screen goal, i think its very important to do a balance of things with family! one of my goals this year is to PR at the half distance too, sub 2:00 is probably not happening for me (im slow) i havent run richmond but ive heard great things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lesley says:

    My parents and I had a lot of fun Christmas Eve trying to put together a puzzle. No TV time, just focusing on the puzzle, but the one they chose was a doozey. It provided a lot of good entertainment, though we only completed the frame of the puzzle.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Kim Hatting says:

    plain and simple, I think you’re amazing! I can’t imagine the demand of your team…in all capacities (mental, physical, time, etc.). Your son cracks me up! Kids are so humbling, aren’t they? I volunteered a lot in the kids’ classrooms when they were young…I am glad I had the flexible schedule to make that happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. lazgirlruns says:

    Well hi! This is the first time I’ve visited your blog and I’m excited to get to know you and other bloggers as part of this hop too. You have some awesome goals! I’ve played with the idea of a triathlon at some point but honestly swimming terrifies me! I suck at it- which is kind of funny because I’m a Florida native! Good luck with all your goals this year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Hi!!!!

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      I am not terrified with swimming but I am not good at it but swim lessons are helping for sure. I have arthritis in my knee so I have to really limit my running and the tris will help me to stay active and to push myself just a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

