Favorite yoga positions

How the heck is it Friday already!!!

Usually they say time flies when you are having fun…but I am not sure what fun I have been having this week to make it go by so quickly. HAHA!!

I do love link ups  and since it is Friday I thought I would hop over and link up with the those 3 lovely ladies know as the  DC Trifecta (Cynthia from You Signed Up For WHAT?, Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC and Mar from Mar on the Run.)

DC-Trifecta-Friday-Five-linkup

and for the 1st time this year with Jill  for Fitness Health Fridayfitness friday with jill

At the beginning of the month Mar hosted a  14 day Self-Care Challenge (I have a ‘lessons learned’ post to write about this).  It really helped my to realize how much time and effort I give to others and how little time I give to myself daily. Taking time out in a day to care for myself turned out to not be so hard and totally doable.  I also recognized that my morning workouts (before the family wakes up) totally counts as #selfcare and so I am more committed to make sure that I fit those workout in daily.

One of my workouts that I have become pretty religious about is making it to heated yoga on Fridays. I have even put it as a mtg on my work calendar so not to schedule any meetings that would conflict with it…shhhh don’t tell my boss.  I started out alternating between heated and non-heated classes and realized that I really enjoyed the heated better and so in the Fall of last year, I have exclusively gone to heated yoga on Friday mornings.

I am no expert yogi to say the least but I have really been enjoying it so much.  After either running and/or weight training during the week, the heated yoga is right on point and does wonders for me and my recovery. I am enjoying learning new poses and working on perfecting them.

 

7-Steps-to-a-Life-Long-Yoga-Practice-Youll-Love

Here are my  favorite yoga poses (at this time) and their benefits:

Source of pictures and benefits from: yogajournal.com

yoga downward

Down Ward Facing Dog

Benefits:

  • Calms the brain and helps relieve stress and mild depression
  • Energizes the body
  • Stretches the shoulders, hamstrings, calves, arches, and hands
  • Strengthens the arms and legs
  • Helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • Relieves menstrual discomfort when done with head supported
  • Helps prevent osteoporosis
  • Improves digestion
  • Relieves headache, insomnia, back pain, and fatigue
  • Therapeutic for high blood pressure, asthma, flat feet, sciatica, sinusitis

 

yoga cobra

Cobra

Benefits:

  • Strengthens the spine
  • Stretches chest and lungs, shoulders, and abdomen
  • Firms the buttocks
  • Stimulates abdominal organs
  • Helps relieve stress and fatigue
  • Opens the heart and lungs
  • Soothes sciatica
  • Therapeutic for asthma
  • Traditional texts say that Bhujangasana increases body heat, destroys disease, and awakens kundalini.
yoga puppy

Extended Puppy Pose

Benefits:

Stretches the spine and shoulders

 

 

yoga triangle

Extended Triangle

Benefits:
  • Increases flexibility and strength in the legs, ankles, knees, and hips
  • Stretches the hips, groins, hamstrings, and calves
  • Opens the shoulders and chest, extends the spine
  • Improves digestion
  • Relieves lower-back pain and stiff neck

yoga-bridge

Benefits:

  • Stretches the chest, neck, and spine
  • Calms the brain and helps alleviate stress and mild depression
  • Stimulates abdominal organs, lungs, and thyroid
  • Rejuvenates tired legs
  • Improves digestion
  • Helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • Relieves menstrual discomfort when done supported
  • Reduces anxiety, fatigue, backache, headache, and insomnia
  • Therapeutic for asthma, high blood pressure, osteoporosis, and sinusitis

 

A Bonus:

My favorite way to end yoga:

yoga legs up.jpg

Benefits:

  • Relieves tired or cramped legs and feet
  • Gently stretches the back legs, front torso, and the back of the neck
  • Relieves mild backache
  • Calms the mind

 

Do you practice yoga? What do you like about it? Do you have a favorite position?


Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Favorite yoga positions

  1. Sun says:

    I am the worst at making time to attend yoga classes or doing a full yoga session but i do love doing Down Ward Dog after easy runs and also Legs Up the Wall after a tough workout. Makes the legs feel great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Farrah says:

    Yay for yoga! 😀 I’ve been telling myself forever to incorporate it into my life, but…didn’t for the longest time. My friend recently started teaching classes though so I’ve been to both of em’ thus far and I love it! :] I feel so much more at peace with the world after each class!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cardigansarah says:

    You chose such good ones! The benefits from each of them are so varied – I understand the hard decision to pick! Legs up the wall is such a wonderfully restorative and calming pose. It just eases me into relaxation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

