2016 Goals-February Check-In

Happy March everyone!!!

march 2016

 

I can’t believe that today is the beginning of March…..the year is flying by!  In a few days (17 to be exact!), I would have been blogging for a year…..that is UNBELIEVABLE to me!!

 

It is the beginning of the month, which means it is time for a 2016 Goal Check-In.

Featured-Image-Goal-Check

Blog:

-Continue to blog at least 3 times a week-

Week 1- blogged 5 times (wowsers, I must have had a lot to say…lol!)

Week 2-blogged 3 times

Week 3-blogged 3 times

Week 4-blogged 3 times

-Find my authentic blog voice: (this will be a quarterly check in-look for an update on this in April)

-Increase blog subscription to 100

In the month of February, I have gained 10 new followers-I am up to 63. This continues to be pretty exciting for me! I gained some followers from the Blog Hop with Kristy @ Runaway Bridal Planner for sure.

Continue to find my ‘blog tribe’: (this will be a quarterly check in-look for an update on this in April)

Self Host

-I still have not done anything towards this as of yet.  I continue to do some research.

Create Mission Statement for the blog: (this will be a quarterly check in-look for an update on this in April)

Begin to research monetizing: -I still have not done anything towards this as of yet. I am still in the research and debating phase.

Personal:

-De-clutter/organize my house:

The blizzard of 2016 was so helpful in this task. I have kept the order that I established and I am working with the family to put things where they belong (a work in progress but they are on the right track)

So about my closet…yeah I am still working on that…uugh so intimidating but I will tackle it this month….I promise myself!

Study/Pass the NASM Certified Trainer test:

NOPE……still haven’t even looked at the book…..

Begin Developing Business plan for personal training: (this will be a quarterly check in-look for an update on this in April)

In the meantime see above ….;(

Family:

1 family night a week….we have not been consistent with this.  I asked my son to help me with this and to remind me when we are all home together, to encourage us to get in the same room and play a game or something.

We did enjoy the BEAUTIFUL weather we had in the DC area this past weekend and went for a hike at Sugarloaf Mountain. We had a blast!

image

image

 

2 date nights a month…. Nope….not 1 ;(….we have got to do better!

 

Be more present at home. Cell phone on charger/no lap top use until the kids go to bed:

-I continue to make great strides with this.  I would say that I remain consistent at about 75% of the time, I have successfully put the devices away…still a work in progress but remarkably better.  In my de-cluttering, I cleaned off our kitchen table and the kids and I eat dinner together at least 3 times a week.  I am really enjoying the conversations that we have 🙂

Financial:

Continue to pay off debt…miss no payments/ make no late payments:

CONTINUED SUCCESS!! yipee!!!

monetize blog:  I have not done anything towards this as of yet. I am still in the research and debating phase.

complete weekly savings plan:

-CONTINUED SUCCESS!! I have set up automatic transfers to occur weekly. I have enlisted my girlfriend to be the keeper of the funds. She will be a great keeper, I will have to write a dissertation, if I need to get some money out-lol!!

Health/Fitness

Complete 21 day January reset with Laura…..MISSION COMPLETED!

-write-up and recap coming soon

Successfully train for my 1st Triathlon

-I passed my 1st swim class…..Out of 4 adults and the only female…I was the omly one to pass! BOOM!!! #likeagirl

I begin the next level of classes this upcoming Saturday.  I have yet to go to the pool for open swim times to practice but I will work on doing this.

Get to my ideal racing weight while determining how to effectively fuel my body

I have decided to not do the racing weight program.  Part of the program has you weighing yourself every week and i just can’t get with that.  I literally threw my scale away a few years ago because I recognized that I was allowing it to have too much power over my process and progress.

I will continue to use the cookbook though….the recipes are easy and simple and just plain DELICIOUS!!!

Consistently strength train 2-3 times a week:

I am in week 3 of the Ashley Horner Charlie Mike 6 week program.  This has me lifting 4-5 days a week.  My body is like WTH!!!! but I am loving every minute of it!! I am pushing myself so past my comfort zone, it is AMAZING!!

-Remain injury free:

So far, so good. Outside of the pain in my knee from my arthritis, I have not developed any new injuries (knock on wood!!)

Running:

2:00 Half:

I need to add a half to my calendar to accomplish this goal-lol!!!  I am debating between Richmond and Trenton. Any feedback on either or both?

Determine my comfortable race pace in varying distances (5k-13.1):

(this will be a quarterly check in-look for an update on this in April)

continue to increase speed:

-Still no track work but excited to say that when we do start back up, as an official member of the 2016 Luna Chix DC Run team, I will be the person leading the workouts this year!!

 

Overall a pretty good review efforts towards most of my 2016 goals.  I will continue to work harder at those I have not touched yet and hope to report with some good updates in April.

goal check in

How are you doing with the goals you set at the beginning of the year?


Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook


 

17 thoughts on “2016 Goals-February Check-In

  1. runawaybridalplanner says:

    Great job on your goal progress so far!
    I love that you have such a wide variety of goals!
    We have the self hosted goal in common. I’d do it today, except I want to choose all the components I want in it, so I only have to design it all once and be done. So yeah, its one of those waiting goals now until I can decide what I want!!
    I am glad you found some success with the hop!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I would say you’re making great progress.

    I’m researching (sort of) some of the same issues as you (monetizing, self hosting) but have probably made even less progress. Too busy blogging!

    Unfortunately I did develop a new injury which is very annoying but at least I can still work out and it’s slowly (way too slowly) improving.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Run Wright says:

    Congrats on your progress. It’s still early enough in the year that you have lots of time to get to the goals you haven’t made progress with yet. Just keep pushing.
    I love that you have an accountability partner for your savings – it makes the difference, I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. curlycaroline says:

    Awesome! Study/Pass the NASM Certified Trainer test is exciting! I, myself, would like to get certified for personal training and group fitness instruction. I haven’t looked into it much yet though! Clapping for the progress you made last month and will continue to do so this month! Having clear goals is so important!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. MB Jackson says:

    You have made some great strides so far! I had to make a few compromises at home with computer, blogging time as well, so far so good and no one has died! LOL! Stay at the family time and date night, SOOOOOOO important 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Michelle @ Running with Attitude says:

    I think you’re doing great with your goals! So much progress in so many areas. And congrats on the Luna Chix DC Run team!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

