My SERENDIPITOUS Life

serendipious

 

When I look at my life, I am still amazed at where I am and how it all came to be  It is quite SERENDIPITOUS for sure!

Here are a few of my SERENDIPITOUS moments

serendipitous-moments-icon-for-mirror-2

Marriage:

-Never in my dreams did I think I would be married.  Growing up, I was never one of those girls who dreamed of their wedding, husband, the white picket fence etc. That just was not me!! And then I met my husband…playing the sport that I enjoyed…..working on flag pulling (that I was GREAT at)….chasing me up and down the football field.  We have enjoyed playing football together (we have won many co-ed championships together). He enjoyed me so much, he became the coach of our women’s team and has been by my side ever since.

donte and i football

We will celebrate 10 years of marriage this October.

wedding jump

 

Parent:

I always knew I would have children….even thought marriage was not on my mind.  I was content with adopting and or Invitro from a sperm bank as long as I could be a mom.  My love for children, being an active part of growing and supporting the future generation was something that I knew I was born to do. Who knew I would end up with the husband too-lol!!

me and the kiddies

Friendships:

-I am a big believer in Reason, Season, Lifetime when it comes to friendships.  I can count on 2 hands my real friends.  I have many acquaintances, people I am cool with but the ‘ride or die’chicks and 1 dude are very limited. Through my lifetime, I have had friendships that were a time in my life for a Reason and Season. They taught me about myself, what type of friend I am and what type of friend I need. My lifetime friends are the ones that I speak to daily, weekly, monthly and even yearly and with each conversation, we pick where we left off. What started out as a’hello’ and a small conversation has turned into friendships that I can’t live without.

jriche mia baby

Athlete:

I was a late blooming athlete.  I was athletic as a child, often winning all the trophies at spots camp but never really pursued a specific sport until my Jr year in high school through my Freshman year in college.  I ran track and cross country..well I used cross country to stay in shape for Spring and Fall Track-ha! What was a sport I choose to occupy my time became something I was really good at.

all county track

1991 All County Track Team

Fast forward past college when at the gym a total stranger came up to me and asked if I wanted to join a women’s flag football team. 15 years later, my sport of choice to this day is a sport that many would not consider a women’s sport.

LAM me pic

Runner:

As I mentioned, I ran track in high school and the beginnings of college but after a really bad ankle injury, I stopped running with purpose all together. I would run a 5k here and there but nothing too serious. In 2013 after my ACL/Meniscus injury, the simple task of running was difficult to do but something I had to be able to do if I wanted to be back on the football field. What was a motivation to get back on the football field has become a renewed passion and love.

medals and running

Blogger:

In a few days, this blog will be 1 years old! That is so AMAZING to me.  What started as a conversation with Cynthia and Alanna as something I might want to do has become an important part of my life in the past year.  The bloggers I have ‘met’, the support of the blogging community, the sense of family from the blogging community is something I can not even explain….I just love it!!  I continue to be excited about blogging and look forward to more friendships and opportunities through this blog.

 

And so there it is….how a chance meeting, interaction, desire, etc has lead to the  SERENDIPITOUS life of Fit Balling Running Mom!

When you look at your life, it is what you thought it would be?


 It’s Wednesday so you know I am linking up with my favorite wordsmith Deb for Wednesday Word!

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word: SERENDIPITOUS 

 

adjective

  1. occurring or discovered by chance in a happy or beneficial way.

 



Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

12 thoughts on “My SERENDIPITOUS Life

  1. Run Wright says:

    Serendipity. I love that word.
    I don’t think life or any of our successes are accidental – I think most of the big things happen because we set things in motion for them to happen. But it’s a beautiful thing when our efforts are rewarded the way we want them to and our dreams come true.
    Congrats on almost a year of blogging. It’s a real pleasure to have met you this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      True!!

      Thanks! I can’t believe I am coming up on a year…seems so crazy!!!

      Surely a pleasure to have met you as well. Hope to meet you in person soon 😉 -I may be up your way during Spring Break…I will keep you posted

      Like

  2. Happy Running Mom says:

    Very cool that you met your husband playing the sport you enjoy most! I didn’t think about a dream wedding when I was younger either. It just came and surprisingly I was the 2nd out of 4 kids to get married in our family. I didn’t think it’d come fast. I also never thought I’d like running long distances. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. curlycaroline says:

    I never put much thought into my own wedding or husband when I was young either! I’ve felt the same way of children though, knowing I’ve always wanted to be a mom even if the husband didn’t come with. I was literally talking to my boyfriend the other day about how I really had no idea we would end up where we are now. Five years later into our relationship still happily dating, and now living with his family together! It’s crazy, gets me thinking maybe I should finally start dreaming up a wedding 😛 Congrats on your bloggiversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Although I also never was that girl dreaming about a wedding, here I am, 30+ years later.

    I certainly NEVER imagined myself as a runner!

    But I knew, even way back when we got married, that I didn’t want kids. I’m not sure why, but I just didn’t inherit that maternal gene.

    This isn’t actually my first blog, but aside from work, it’s the first blog that caught on, and that’s because of the wonderful running blogging community (including you!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

