Running…..blah

It’s March and so far for 2016, I have run less than 10 times and maybe just over 20 miles.  Yeah 2016 is looking nothing like the amazing running year of 2015. It is only the 3rd month of the year but damn where has my running mojo gone? If you see it, can you send it home please and thank you!

I am 4 weeks out from Philly Hot Chocolate 15k and I’m struggling to run 5 miles…shit I am struggling to run 3 mile. Part of it is that my knee is KILLING me! Having taking those cortizone shots last year, I didn’t really have to deal with the pain too much. I am fighting the urge to just go get a shot but I know that is not the right thing to do but DAMN!!!

Oh did i mention…as a part of the Team Luna Chix DC Run retreat, we signed up to run the Charlottesville Ten Miler! Ha! Here I am struggling to run 3 mil3s  and in 2 weeks, I have to run 10…WTF was I thinking!!!  I should be running at least 7miles or 8miles that week anyway (per my training…ha another joke!!) so I will be run /walking the 10 miler with the effort of running at least 7 of it. We will see how it goes.

Thankfully I am still staying pretty active as I am in week 3 of Ashley Horner’s Charlie Mike 6 week program.  This totally fits in with my fit goal for the year of gaining finctioal steenght and leaness and I am really loving the program. It is an ass kicker but it has been exactly waht I need.  The challenge is the program has me lifting at least 5 times a week which leave little to no time for running/training. After the heavy weight sessions, running is the LAST thing that I am thinking about doing and the slotted rest days….I REST!!

I have come to grips with the fact that my 1st 2 and only long races of the year (as of now), will be races that I run and finish. I am not looking for any PRS or great results and will be completely happy participating in the races (both are 1st time races for me), crossing the finish line and getting my medals and enjoying the after parties!!

What I do have to look forward to is that after Philly’s Hot Chocolate, the excitement of training for my 1st Sprint Triatholn will really start to kick in.  I won’t start training until June actually but, I will start looking to but a bike, continue swim lessons and muster up the nerve to work on strokes during open swim times.

The 2016 race schedule through the summer is pretty light and I feel pretty confident that I will do well in those races as not much training   (running) will be needed saving my knee to be able to give full effort on race days.

April:

2-Philly Hot Chocolate 15k

23-Ben’s Run 5k

24th-MCRRC Pikes Peek 10k (possible based on football schedule)

May:

7-Susan G Komen Race for the Cure 5k

30-Jeremy’s Run 10k

June:

4-Zooma Annapolis 10k (USE TAMIEKA16-for 10% off…can be used for Florida and Cape C0d too)

July:

8-MCRRC Mid Summer Night’s Mile

Heading into the Fall, I will be in full Sprint Triathlon training and looking to do a half after the triathlon in either October or November.  I am really considering getting a running coach to hopefully keep the energy and motivation to do well as well as to support training with knee arthritis.  Many of my blogger fiends use run coaches and have great success with them (when they found the right one) and Suzlyfe post today really got me thinking about it a bit more.  I will keep doing some research about it and let you all know what I decide.

 

Have you used a running coach? 


 

I am so excited to join  Running on HappySuzlyfeCrazy Running Girl, and Coach Debbie Runs for the 1st time this week for the Coaches’ Corner linkup!

coachescorner


Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 


 

15 thoughts on “Running…..blah

  1. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes says:

    I used a running coach for the first time for MCM last year and it was definitely the best thing I could have done. It definitely broke me out of a running plateau. And don’t be too hard on yourself for the lack of running. It is what it is and life happens!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dee @ The Hesitant Runner says:

    I’m running the Hot Chocolate 15K in Philly too! I would love to meet up to say hi in person! I started with a running coach in September, and so far, so good (I hit a 10K PR in January, and will be looking for a 15K PR in Philly). The most important part for me is that he keeps me accountable!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I tried runnersconnect one year, but that just didn’t work for me (but others really like it, YMMV). We have a coach in my USAFit group, too, but that’s obviously not a personal coach.

    I wish I could help you with the knee pain. I only have 2 thoughts: yes, it probably is time to drop the longer races, and have you tried acupuncture? I wonder if that would help.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SuzLyfe says:

    I just responded to your comment on my blog, but I wanted to say that with knee arthritis I would definitely seek the help of a pro–a sport phys therapy pro at the very least. There may be some strengthening and other things that you can do to help your knee, and you definitely don’t want to do more harm than good! Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your knee pain, ugh that has to be frustrating! But you are definitely keeping fit and working hard, it’s tough to try to balance everything. I’m not using a running coach now, but I will start up with my coach again soon – she is awesome! It’s a great way to keep motivated and my coach is wayyyy smarter about this running thing than I am!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KME says:

    I’ve used a running coach after my hamstring injury of ’13. She was awesome and helped me so much!
    Have fun at the hot chocolate race. I just did it in Nashville. Awesome series!
    Hope you feel better. I totally understand first hand what you are going through. Hope you are running high mileage again soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. runawaybridalplanner says:

    When I first read your question I was like, nope haven’t used a running coach. But then it occured to me, if you count the coaches in middle and high school. Then my dad as he got me into marathons and trained for them, yeah I have used them! But different coaching then you’re talking about I think!
    You’ve got a fun spring into summer race calendar.
    Coaches corner link up, what a fun idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Oh right I didn’t think about the coaches I had for track but I guess I am thinking more about recreational running and coaching.

      I know right….really cool link up! I hope to learn a few things from the coaches 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

