Soleful Saturday….Charlottesville 10 miler plan

This weekend I am with the Team Luna Chix DC Run Team for our team retreat. One of the activities we are doing is the Charlottesville 10 miler. Everybody knows that the way my knee is set up, I am not in ANY shape to run 10 miles but when the suggestion was made, being the newbie on the team I agreed.  I didn’t get the memo that there was an option for us to volunteer….yup I sure would have done that!!

Anyhow….water under the bridge now. Today (Saturday), I will be participating in the Charlottesville 10 miler.

I have no hopes for a PR. The last time I did a 10 miler, I was injured as well and finished 2:14 with run/walk intervals. I did do the Cherry Blossom 10 miler race last year but due to an accident on the race course, it got cut short so technically it doesn’t count as a 10 miler.

My strategy to get through the race:

Run/Walk…I am starting with a 3:00min run/1 min walk interval. I have my Gym Boss Timer set and ready.  I will change it up if need be but for now, I think this will be a good start strategy for me.

My goal for the race:

A. To finish

B. under 2:30 and running to the finish line (it is a nice down hill finish).

 

Start time: 7:15am

The weather: 

at the start: 42 degrees and cloudy

during the race:  43-45 degrees with a 90% chance of rain about 9am….let’s hope they are wrong about that!

 

We signed up for the race late, and are waitlisted runners which means we don’t medals and shirts until after the race and IF there are any left.  They can kept shirt but they better give me my dang medal!!! #IRun4Bling!!! Somehow, I am getting a DAMN medal!!! I am not leaving Charlottesville without one!!!

Well there you have it folks…..wish me luck!

Have you ever run a race you were not prepared for? 


 

I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Soleful Saturday….Charlottesville 10 miler plan

  1. Run Wright says:

    Yes I have and it was a disaster. It was a few years ago and I had a cold the week before and I wasn’t properly dressed (it was colder than I realized).
    My time was horrible but it felt good to have done it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. runawaybridalplanner says:

    I didn’t get back in time to see this and wish you luck.
    But I hope you had a great race! I’m guessing you’ll be fine on getting a medal if you want on. Although races order 20% less than they have participants sign up, there is still 30% or more who don’t show so I’m guessing you got one???
    Looking forward to hearing how it went for ya!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

