Weekly Wrap…. Easter Week 2016

Happy Sunday everyone!

 

If you celebrate Easter…I hope you had a wonderful Resurrection Day.

th (7)

 

I am in New York visiting my dad with the kiddies for the 1st few days of Spring Break.

I am going to go backwards in my weekly recap starting from today (Easter Sunday).

I am going to include workouts and a few family activities as well.

 

For Lent, I gave up sweets and have been counting down the days to put some sweetness in my mouth. I had a stash of Swedish Fish, Gummi Bears and Kilwins Caramel Popcorn  waiting for me to devour on Easter Sunday! Guess What?!?!?……I only took a nibble of the Caramel corn and have not devoured the candy stash as I thought I would!

image

Workout Wrap: Week 5 of Charlie Mike…..This week’s Theme: Earn It!!!

This week is a do-over week. Last week, I started week 5 of ‪#‎charliemike‬but was not able to complete it due to travel and such, so I will CTRL-ALT-DEL and repeat!

Sunday:

Day 32- Chest Press:

How awesome to visit my dad and have everything I need to complete my workout today!

# fitdad

DAY 32..Chest Press…Endurance

95% of my 1RM had me bench pressing 68.8 lbs this morning. 3 sets of 3 reps followed by 4 mile run through Brooklyn.

Love running through the old neighborhood.
Look at these mock parrots they have built a huge nests right in the city…so awesome.

image

Saturday :Unscheduled Rest Day

Friday:

Today’s workout was a mental challenge. I was not feeling this workout at all today. On top of that thr printed workout sheet for today was completely different from what was in the Body Sapce app and that totally threw me off. I decided to go with the printed workout since I had mentally prepared for that.

DAY 31..Push Press

90% of my 1RM had me pressing 70 lbs this morning. 3 sets of 3 reps each followed by 2 sets of 3 rounds of conditioning.

Usually I would have heated Yoga on Fridays as well but since Spring Break started today, my son was home so no yoga…;(

image

Thursday:

DAY 30..Front Squat

95% of my front squat had me front squatting 75 lbs this morning. 3 sets of 2 reps each followed by 4 non stop rounds of conditioning and finished with a 2 mile run with a sunrise greeting!

image

Wednesday:

 

Week 5..Day 31 #CharlieMike program by @ashley.horner

This week’s goal is to ‪#‎EarnIt‬

Today was 3 sets of 4 at 90% of Max Deadlift (120lbs) weight from week 1 followed by 3 and 1 rounds of full body.

image

Tuesday/Monday: Rest Days for my knee after running the Charlottesville 10 miler over the weekend.

Overall, a pretty good workout week. I did miss one day of working out this week but it’s cool. Next week is the final week of Charlie Mike. I have really enjoyed this workout program and looking forward to another Ashley Horner program.

 

A few family pictures from this week:

Sunday:

Today’s adventures included garden clean up at the East 43rd Street Community Garden.

The Skinner-Thomasson clan put in some work picking weeds, flipping soil and putting down pavers!

Can’t wait for our next visit to see the fruits of our labor.

image

 

Saturday:

Flatbush Easter Egg Hunt hosted by East Flatbush and Councilman Jumaane Williams

image

Thursday:

Field trip with my daughter’s school to see Boxes….Boxes….Boxes Imagination Stage. The kids built  great structure with their boxes.

image

Wednesday:

Spring time walk while my son was  at soccer practice. Observing the beauty of the Spring time blooms! Hello Spring! We are so glad you are here!

image

Well that is a wrap for this last week of March (I still can’t believe that!!!)

How was your week? Do you celebrate Easter? 

Joining my friends Tricia from MissSippiPiddlin  and Holly from HoHo Runsfor the weekly wrap-thanks for the opportunity  ladies!

WeeklyWrap-300x300

Make sure to stop by and check out how other bloggers spent their active week.


 

Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

37 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap…. Easter Week 2016

  1. Run Wright says:

    I wasn’t so much that I decided to give up candy but I decided to eat healthier, plant-based foods so I got nuts and lots of fruit to snack on and didn’t feel like popping candy in my mouth every half hour.
    It’s a craving that can definitely be retrained – I hope.
    I love your pics. Look at those parrots building a nest in Bklyn. Way to take back the city. Good for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wendyistakingthelongwayhome says:

    That caramel corn just made me hungry. I swear, that stuff is addicting! I didn’t give up anything for lent. I thought about it…..

    Great week of workouts! Those front squats? Nice. Those are my biggest challenge. Just getting my elbows up high and then the weight?

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      It is so much fun. Especially since the neighborhood has changed a bit, it is always nice to run through like it is a new place.

      My dad lives in a part of Brooklyn that actually has houses and tree lined streets so that makes it even nicer.

      Like

  3. Lara @ Uptite Mamas says:

    Yes! I gave up sweets too!! Although I didn’t notice much in a change in my weight and overall feeling this year, I am still proud I didn’t binge. AND I didn’t gorge myself on sweets either. Although I give you huge props for not shoving that popcorn in your face. That stuff is lethal!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Way to go! Way to stay strong!

      Yeah, I think I was secretly hoping that I wold drop a few pounds or inches….NADA!!!

      It took me two days to eat the popcorn…I did have some help from the kiddies but I am proud I didn’t hide in the bathroom and eat it all by myself in one sitting-lol!!

      Like

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    It’s wonderful you are able to spend time with your Dad. And, that he is a #fitdad. I’m afraid I would have inhaled the stash of sweets after doing without for so long. Kudos for your strong will. Working on the community garden is a wonderful project for the whole family. Congrats on your final week of Charlie Mike! Thanks for linking with us Tamieka.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      It was a GREAT trip. I love seeing the relationship that he is developing with them. It is a different relationship than I had with him and I am just enjoying it 😉

      I ate the bag of popcorn in two days….not bad. I ate the swedish fish on the ride back….totally not worth it. It was not as enjoyable as I thought it would be….this could be a good thing…right?

      Thanks!

      Like

  5. luciepalka says:

    Looks like you had a good week of workouts. Congrats on giving up sweets for lent. Sugar is my undoing. I’m trying to reduce the amount, can’t totally give it up yet. It’s a hard one to give up. Have a great spring break!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. MB Jackson says:

    Happy Easter, looks like a fabulous weekend and a great week of workouts! Enjoy that spring break time. No jelly beans for me either and I am so proud of myself and you too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. runawaybridalplanner says:

    Love those spring flowers, we are a far ways away from them as I am literally looking out the window at a fresh 4-5 inches of snow and it’s still coming (but its okay I love a good spring storm:)
    Stellar workout week!
    Oh, and you totally have me craving caramel corn right now. It’s been ages since I have had that, oh yum!!!
    Looks like you had a great Easter!
    We did too, church in the morning and then a family Easter party that evening.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Whoa…snow in Spring…no ma’am!!! I am so over the cold and snow.

      Thanks…I have been having a good experience with this program.

      The caramel corn was freshly made when I bought it…it was soooo good and tasty!

      Easter was fun.

      Like

  8. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com says:

    Ha I loved the Ctrl – Alt – Delete comment and I so needed it the past two weeks. I got my reset in the form of Church yesterday and let me just tell you I don’t know why I waited so long for it. Things just seem to all fall in place when you look to the heavens and let God handle them instead of hanging on! I’m so glad you had a great week! Good job on giving up sweets!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yes!!! The caramel ppcorn was soooo delicious. I got it fresh made when I was in Charlottsville last weekend and have been counting down the days….so worth it!!!

      Good luck on the sweets fast…you guys will do great!!

      Like

  9. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Aw, it looks like you had a wonderful time this past weekend! Oh man that caramel popcorn looks soo good! If I gave up sweets for Lent I don’t think I would have been able to hold back!

    Great job with those workouts! You’ll be at Hot Chocolate in Philly this weekend, right? Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pam says:

    I totally understand about giving up sweets for lent and then having a stash to eat. After such a long time without them, you lose your taste, which actually is a god thing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

