Something New Happening on the Blog!!!

A few months ago,  Alexis (Lex) reached out to me and asked me if I would be interested in hosting a link-up with her.  Being a newer blogger, I was a bit hesitant at first. I don’t have a large following and who would be interested in a link up that I was hosting.  In thinking about it,  I am really enjoying blogging and I am enjoying meeting so many similar minded bloggers.  Hosting a link up can surely increase my commitment to my blog, increase traffic to my blog and allow me to meet so many more awesome bloggers. So after much thought and consideration, I accepted Alexis’ invitation to join her in hosting a link-up with her and another local blogger Sarah.

Lex and I met each other when we ran Ragnar DC together this past Fall and she introduced me to Sarah last month.

From our first meeting, we clicked wonderfully and had a great discussion and planning meeting to discuss the possibilities of a linkup together.

IMG_6224

From that meeting, we have been actively working on the link up name, button and themes etc.  After much discussion and planning, we are so excited to share that starting starting next Thursday, April 7, 2016 and happening every other Thursday on each of out blogs, we will be hosting

Thursday Throwdown Link up

Thursday Throwdown

 

Here is the run down:

What is Throwdown Thursday?

Thursday Throwdown is an opportunity to link-up with like-minded bloggers. Hosted by Alexis, Sarah, and me — we’re all DC-area bloggers focused on healthy-living, fitness, and enjoying life!

Meet your hosts:

 

Thursday Throwdown
Tamieka {That’s me!]
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook |Pinterest
I am a 42 year old wife, mother of 2, women’s flag football player, weight trainer and runner who lives in the DC area. Since 2012, I have lost over 25 pounds through many avenues; My Fitness Pal, Body for Life, Herbalife, Whole 30-all of which have helped me with my fitness goals. I have kept it off through being committed to a healthier lifestyle and being active. I blog about my life, fitness, health, running, weight training, playing football and my family.

Alexis {Flecks of Lex}
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
Leslie Knope by day, competitive athlete by night! I am a 30-something fitness blogger living in the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan Area. I’m a volleyball player, runner, and aspiring yogini. I love trying out new fitness activities, especially if they involve traveling or getting outdoors! I blog about my efforts to get back into shape, lose weight, eat well, and enjoy life!

Sarah {Cardigan Sarah}
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
I’m a coffee-drinking, instagramming, tweeting, vegan foodie, running, Maryland yogi. I love sharing and connecting through living an active life, good food and internet memes. After a big healthy lifestyle change, I lost over 70 pounds, discovered that I am an athlete, and became a yoga teacher! I blog about mindfulness, food, yoga, and everything that it takes to attempt to lead a balanced and whole life.

HOW TO PARTICIPATE:

  1. Post our badge on your participating blog post so others can see what else is going on!
  2. Leave a comment on each of the 3 blog posts by the hosts: Tamieka, Lex and Sarah.
  3. Add your link to the InLinkz at the bottom of Tamieka, Lex, Sarah
  4. Comment on the link-up post before yours and any others you would like!
  5. Share the love! Make sure to use the #TTLinkUp and #ThursdayThrowdown tags on Instagram and/or Twitter!
Each month, we’ll pick a theme and the Thursday posts will revolve around those ideas.

AprilTheme: Spring

April 7 – Spring Cleaning

Spring cleaning (could be cleaning up your diet, cleaning out your winter running gear, cleaning out your training plan)

April 21 – Earth Day

How do you celebrate Earth Day?

May –

Theme: Motivation

May 5 – May Mantra

What do you use as a mantra to keep yourself motivated?

May 19 – May Motivators

Who motivates you? Have you read anything motivational?

We hope that you can join us on our monthly challenges — make sure to connect with our blogs, twitters and instagrams!

Grab our button!

 


Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook


8 thoughts on “Something New Happening on the Blog!!!

  1. runawaybridalplanner says:

    I think you’ll do great as a host!
    I wish I did theme post link ups like this, if I did I would totally join. My Thursdays are already themed for running and occasionally blog help topics only. I’ll have to keep tabs on it, and if I see a theme come up on something I was planning to run, I’ll definitely link it up.
    Meanwhile, I’ll for sure share the link up for you next month to help get the word out, always like to help fellow bloggers, even if I am not participating!
    Good luck with it girls!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

