I braved the wind, rain and cold!

I really don’t know where the days and times are going…..how is it Wednesday already??!!!

How is the weather where you are. Here in the DC area, I have on wool and a down jacket…..yes it is Spring….yes it is the 6th of April….no I don’t know what the heck mother nature is smoking!!!!  Come on already!!

Well in very unusual fashion for me , I thought I would give you a race re-cap the week after a race….what!!??!! I know right! I still have race recaps to write from last year-lol!!!

As usual Wednesday word ties in perfectly to my life right now, so I thought why not!!

Before I start let me give a big HAPPY Link-Up Anniversary to Deb and Wednesday word!!! I love this link up as it allows for us to use the Wednesday Word in whatever way fits our lives/thoughts/feelings at the time.  95% of the Wednesday words that I have linked up to have been perfect words for me and how I was feeling and allowed me to write a post with limited thinking and effort.

Thank you Deb for the opportunity every week!

I  love Wednesday Word!

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Today’s word: Brave

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of heading up to Philadelphia (I think this was my 1st time there….not my last though!) to run in the Hot Chocolate 5k/15k race.

We left early Friday afternoon to give us time to not feel rushed. Fridays in and out of the DC area can be tricky.  We had a really smooth ride and got to Philly in just over 2 hours.

car ride philly

 

We decided to check-in at the hotel first as the Expo was right across the street! Totally not planned and that was a great surprise.

 

It was about a 2 1/2 block walk to get to the section of the convention center where the expo was being held.  Ok…you guys know how I feel about Expos.….for me they are all the same and I would rather not go but being as this was a first experience and I was with my sole sistahs….I got into the excitement!

image

It was a pretty small expo actually with less than 10 vendors outside of the Hot chocolate retail area.

image

We spent about an hour in there trying on jackets to make sure we got the right fit, eating marshmallows and chocolate,

image

looking at some merchandise and of course taking pictures!

90s pose

Check out the ’90s pose-lol!!

cute pose expo

Can you believe there were no vendor selling Gu. Clif  or anything!! Blasphemy!!!

So we googled the closest Dick’s Sporting Goods store….it was 6 miles away but in New Jersey.  Cool road trip…2 states in an hr…let’s do it!!

Except as we started driving, the sky got dark and then opened up!!!

rain nj.jpg

Ummm, I hope this isn’t what we have to look forward to for tomorrow.  Seeing that it was still in the 70s and a bit humid it wasn’t that bad. By time the rain stopped, the temps dropped.

I may sound like an old lady when I say this but my knee started aching later in the night and I knew that this meant that my hopes of no rain in the morning where not looking good.

The rain was 60% likely to start about 9am which would but me right in the middle of the race.  As I laid out my clothes, I realized that I really didn’t have what i needed to stay warm and dry for race day.

philly outfit.jpg

Yup….I knew i left something…..my running rain jacket…..Damnit!!!

Well at least I will have the fab Hot chocolate Jacket to wear after the race ;)…these jackets were awesome!!

hot choc jacket

I stayed up later than I wanted to watching Law and Order SUV. There is a reason why I don’t have a TV in my room…uugh.

We were awakened at 5 (not the agreed wake up time) but I didn’t get out of the bed until 6 ish.  We showered, got dressed and headed to the start line.

As we stepped out of the hotel, it started to rain….are you freaking kidding me! The cold rain and wind would stay with us the entire morning.

image

My face when we walked out of the hotel….really rain!!

In hindsight. we should have taken a cab but we walked the mile to the start line, running the last .5 to give my girlfriend Sabrina a little warm up as the 5k was starting shortly. We did a little stretching, found her coral, snapped a few pictures

 

image

image

image

and she was off.

The plan was for me to meet up with her at mile 2 and run the last mile with her. After waiting for my sister and Dorian, finding gear check and trying to stay as dry as possible, I ended up meeting her at about the 2.5 mile marker.  She was just about to take a walk break, when our eyes met and I told her ‘let’s go!

bri and me hot chocolate

We are running in this picture although it looks like we are on a casual stroll-lol!

I ran with her as far as I could before getting to the finish line chute and time tracking.

bri hot chocolate 1

She pushed through and finished strong.  Her last 5k was 2 years ago and she trained hard for that one and did amazingly (she is not a runner!).

This time around she did not train….and PRd like a champ!

bri hot chocolate 2

I waited for her to come through the finisher chute, gave her a congrats hug, snapped a pic and then ran to get started.

image

 

Grabbed a pic with Dee-Dee (my sister) and Dorian

image

then I jumped into the start line since the race had started and my coral had gone by the time I got there.

image

After about 2 minutes, I was off with I don’t know what corral….a corral with runner-lol!!

image


 

Ok so who remembers my goals for this race?:

Goal A: Finish strong, running, smiling and with lots of pictures.

I have to say when the rain started and the sky looked so gloomy, I was having second thoughts about goal A.

I can totally see how the scenery could have been so much more beautiful if the sun were shining.  Don’t get me wrong. The scenery was still beautiful but with the sun, I could see how I could have enjoyed the race a bit more, taken a few more pictures and had a bit more fun.

image

image

oooh are those Cherry Blossoms? Pretty-right?

The course was a down and back, which really are my least favorite types of races. I stayed on the outside of the runner so that I always had the water as a view. This helped a lot.

At mile 4 I realized that I put my Gu in my hydration pack instead of my SLS3 belt. Having to take off my hydration belt was a bit difficult and as I was taking it off, my left hand got stuck.  I started to panic and yanked my arm out and popped the band of my Garmin.  A nice runner picked it up for me.  Feeling frustrated I dropped it into my hydration backpack and decided the rest of the race will be run on how I feel. Since I was not with my corral and had no idea the paces of the runner around me, I thought this was a great way for me to really stick to Goal A and enjoy the run.

At the turn around marker, I had met up with one of the 10:30 pacers which was perfect. I cruised with the group up until mile 8.5 where I pulled off to snap a few more pictures.

image

image

image

As I approached the finish, I refocused on my goal:

Finish strong….check!

me at finish

running….check!

runnign finish

smiling…..not so much-lol!!

not smiling.jpg

Ok this on has a little smile dont’ you think?

philly hot

and with lots of pictures….check!!

To top it off…..I got a PR- finishing 1:39:12. Which would probably be  faster if I wold have run with my corral and didn’t stop for those beautiful pictures

Overall, despite the weather, it was great race and I might actually consider going back next year.

We braved the elements and all finished strong!

image

image

Let me tell you something…this little cup right here….gave me LIFE!!! The hot chocolate was much appreciated as we were wet and cold and that fondue chocolate was DELICIOUS!!!!

image

 

We were lucky to get a late checkout for 2pm, so headed back, showered, warmed up, napped and got dressed to do a little sight seeing sincethe rain stopped, the sun came out and the temps raised just a bit….yup thanks mother nature!!

We visited the Philadelphia Museum to see the Rocky statue….no I am not standing in line to take a picture with a statue….I will just take mine from here…thank you!!

image

image

Even after running 9+ miles, we had to run up the ‘Rocky’ steps….dang..I totally should have done a video!!!

image

image

and had to celebrate with a little victory jump!

image

It was a great race-cation and I am looking forward to the next one.

Did you brave the weather this past weekend? Did you race this weekend?



Don’t forget to come back to the blog tomorrow (Thursday) and join me, Lex and Sarah for  Thursday Thursday!

April Theme: Spring
-April 7 – Spring Cleaning
Spring cleaning (could be cleaning up your diet, cleaning out your winter running gear, cleaning out your training plan)

image

We are so looking forward to you joining us!



Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook


 

 

30 thoughts on “I braved the wind, rain and cold!

  1. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I’m glad to hear that you had a great time at the Hot Chocolate Run! I ran it back in 2011 at National Harbor and they had a lot of logistical issues that year and haven’t been back to the DC area. I had a lot of fun with my friends, but I wasn’t racing. Had I been racing, it would have been awful. The post-race athletes village and food was amazing! Here’s my recap if you’re interested: http://debruns.com/hot-chocolate-15k-race-recap/.

    I really enjoy courses that have segments that are out and back. I love watching for my friends who are either in front or behind me, and having the opportunity to cheer them on.

    Thanks for regularly linking up with Wednesday Word! I really appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chocolaterunnergirl says:

    Congrats on a race well done event though the weather was yucky! I do want to do a hot chocolate 15k race! I did a local chocolate race in 2014, but it wasn’t put together very well so I feel I need some redemption! Lol
    Great pics!! The jumping pic is so amazing! Y’all need to frame that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Run Wright says:

    You are really brave – although I must confess I have run for chocolate – but you went above and beyond. I love the pics, that you were able to share this memory with friends. Kudos to your friend who ran her first race in 2 years and still PRed.
    Great job. I am naming you my athletic mentor and inspiration – I can’t wait to hear about your next event.
    http://runwright.net

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Yes i will actually run for anything sweet!!!

      I love that the Hot Chocolate pics were also free to download!!

      Yeah-she kicked a$$. The last race i ran with her and pushed her the entire way. This time she did it all by herself! so proud of her!

      I accept the honor!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I’m so glad you had a fun time in my backyard (almost literally, I live walking distance from the Art Museum!). Congrats to your friend on her PR…great pics! Running in the rain is NOT fun but it seems to make you want to get it over with a little bit faster! Next time you come to Philly, hopefully I’ll be here and we can meet!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. runawaybridalplanner says:

    Love that you did it with a smile:)
    While I am not a chocolate lover, so they’d have to add skittles or something else to entice me, LOL I’ve heard so many good things about this race through the years, in fact I don’t think I’ve ever heard a negative thing!
    Running in weather, well hey that just makes you stronger and have more kick butt awesome stories to tell!
    Love you did the rocky steps, when I ran the Philly Marathon I did the same thing, went back after to run up them, I don’t have a video either, but I have lots of pictures with my strong arm pose, LOL LOL
    So fun, glad you had such a great time and didn’t let the weather put you down!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Eli Pacheco says:

    I’d run a long way for hot chocolate – with ginger snaps, I’d double it. Love how you documented this whole adventure. And I’m glad to have found you through the Wednesday Word linkup.

    Eli@CoachDaddy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jennifer Pug Pug says:

    Love it! I would really like to do one of the Hot Chocolate races, but they are all so far away from me. Maybe I should hit them up and see if we can get one in NE Florida.

    We were supposed to get bad storms in Savannah, but they held off and gave us bad humidity instead. I don’t know which I would have preferred.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      I thought about you all on Sunday! You all were so brave!! I think I would have backed out ;(
      I had a football game in the afternoon. Thankfully, the wind had died down a little by then.

      It was a good race despite the weather.

      Like

Leave a Reply

