TOTR-Dear New Running Self

Happy Tuesday all!! How is everyone doing?

Checking in after recovering from birthday filled weekend!

Today’s Tuesday on the Run is a good one for me.

Today we are talking about:  “Advice for your New-Runner Self”.

Droping in quickly today to link up with:

Marcia – Marcia’s Healthy Slice
Erika – MCM Mama Runs
Patty – My No-Guilt

for Tuesdays on the Run. Make sure to stop by and see what other bloggers are talking about today.

image


Last month while linking up with Running on HappySuzlyfeCrazy Running Girl, and Coach Debbie Runs  for the Coaches’ Corner linkup, I shared with you all a letter to my non-injured self.

I am in a better and different space and place and can really enjoy giving  “Advice to your New-Runner Self”.

download (58)

  • As a recovering injured runner, my 1st advice would be to follow Drs. Orders.  When I contacted my Dr. to ask him to re-send me the RX he had given to me for PT for my knee. His response to me ‘you mean the RX I gave you 1 yr ago!’ He had to write me a new one obviously.  A year ago! Not that one goes to PT for a year but for sure it is a year wasted….a year of PT work that could/would have made the pain I am feeling now less pained. A year of PT work that would have had me incorporating strengthening/stretching that would have made the pain I am feeling now less pained. A year of PT work that could/would allow me to run longer distances.  Yup advice #1….FOLLOW DRs. Orders. I went to my PT consult yesterday (Monday) and will be going 2 times a week for 6 weeks focusing on glute/upper quad firing.

 

  • Listen to your body: If you feel tired, worn out, etc. it is okay to have a unscheduled rest day in the schedule. No you don’t have to make it up. Your body will thank you!

 

  • Get a Gait analysis/ Form Check:  Even though I haven’t don’t this yet, I have heard from so many people how helpful this as for them in improving their running and reducing injuries.

 

  • Be Patient:  Building up a foundation of runs and mileage will greatly improve your runs and help you t remain injury free.

 

  • Slow Down and Run Different Paces:  Every run does not and should not be at race pace.  You would be surprised how running 1 min slower than race pace can help you achieve your race goal.  Have you tried HR (Heart Rate) running? Have you ever run without your Garmin/GPS watch?

 

  • Enjoy the race:  Every race does not need to be a PR race. If you are running a new race, new route, with new people, take moments to enjoy it!

 

  • Be proud of what you have done! : Sure someone finished ahead of you in a race but you were there, you worked hard, you accomplished a goal.  Sure someone is faster than you, their miles per min is faster than yours…so what!!!

 

  • Set Goals that challenge you (maybe even scare you!): You would be amazed at how you respond to a challenge 😉

 

What would you tell your “new-runner” self? I would love to hear it!


Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook


 

12 thoughts on “TOTR-Dear New Running Self

  1. lacey@fairytalesandfitness says:

    I have never gotten a gait analysis done either. Luckily I am not injury proned but I think it would be cool to get one done just to see how it goes. But just my luck, I’d find out I was doing it all wrong. But hey I have been doing just fine for so long so why change things up now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lachicaruns says:

    Be patient is the hardest part of your list for me, but certainly great advice for my early-runner self…and my current self. Hope you’re doing better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mkadens1 says:

    I totally understand why you’d blow off PT. I am guilty as charged in that respect as well. When I’m injured the last thing I wanna do is wade through doctors who tell me to stop running, docs who aren’t covered by my insurance, etc. I did find a wonderful sports chiro but he’s not on my plan so I try to be sparing seeing him. It’s awful. Great advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Luckily my drs. haven’t told me to stop running. An arthritis dr told me to stop running but I quickly cut him off my Dr list! lol!

      I need to find a sports chiro…I think it would help some back issues I am having.

      Like

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I love how everyone keeps saying the whole every run doesn’t have to be at race pace — LOL, that is totally not a problem for me!

    Good advice & I hope the PT can help. Mine has helped, but damn, it still is taking a long time and even though in the scheme of things it’s minor, I just want it gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. runawaybridalplanner says:

    Such a great list! They checked my gait a few months back when I was getting my issues with my back diagnosed. I didn’t plan on it, but they did it and didn’t find any problems luckily I was right on spot. Which is good for me, but I asked how often they do find them in people and the Dr said more often than one would think, so for that yeah I guess it’s good for others go and look into that every now and then, especially if they are noticing any problems!
    What would I tell “new” runner self, well the same thing I tell myself often now. If it’s not broke, don’t fix it:) Too often we as runners get caught up in trying the “new” thing and usually those new things lead to problems an injuries. So if your not having problems with something, don’t change what doesn’t need fixing:)
    Great post and list to think about!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      So true…if it aint broke!

      I remember when I was training for my 2nd or 3rd half and I was thinking about changing training programs..then I was like ‘why?’ the one you have been using has done well by you….why change!

      Like

Leave a Reply

