Charlie Mike Training Review

When 2016 began, I made the decision to cut back on my running and to increase weight training and strength.  I  had come to realize that with running and race training my weight training had significantly decreased and I think this has contributed to the injuries that I have had over the past couple of years. Before I got into running 2 years ago, I was weight training 5-6 days a week and that dropped to 2 or 3 days (if it was a good week).

When I decided to get back into weight training, I went to BodyBuilding.com (BB) (They say they are:THE WORLD’S LARGEST ONLINE FITNESS SITE)…I totally agree!! I  did a Find a Training search. I got a few suggestions based on my wants. Ashley Horner’s Charlie Mike 6 week training program stuck out to me. I thought a 6 week training was a perfect way to reintroduce heavy weight training back into my routine and without totally shocking my body.   It was something different, something that would push me out and my comfort zone. To top it off, as all of BB training are…it was FREE!!! An added bonus…I could do all of this in the comfort of my home!. I don’t belong to a gym and sometimes BB trainings are hard for me to use because they are gym equipment dependent. I had most of the things I needed and was able to be creative on the things that I didn’t without compromising the workout.

A little bit about Ashley Horner:

Ashley Horner is a pro fitness competitor, triathlete, and Bodybuilding.com spokes- model.

She is helping others learn how to take their fitness and health to the next level through her  e-book trainers. She is the owner of PHIT magazine, and in the spring of 2015, launched her very own clothing line, Valkyrie. Ashley is also an owner and trainer at the Virginia Beach training facility, SledXDogs.  They forgot to mention so I will….she is a BAD A$$!!!

On Saturday, April 9th,  Ashley began running 280 Miles to raise money for the Safe Haven House in North Carolina. She left shortly after the end of Camp Valor (one of her boot camps) in Virginia Beach and is running until she reaches her destination in North Carolina. Stopping only to catch a few z’s and recover for short periods at a time…..talk about BAD A$$!!!  If interested in supporting her cause, please go to:

 

Ok back to it:

Once I signed up, weekly, I got emails with motivational support, weekly workouts, workout log, preferred food list, a sample meal plan and a recipe or 2. I wished they had provided a weekly meal plan for the entire program that would have been really helpful for me.

A note about the Charlie Mike Training Program:

Charlie Mike is not for beginners. It’s specifically designed for women who are physically and mentally ready to perform challenging lifts and hard-as-nails conditioning work. I can give you the tools and be in your ear every day, but if you’re just going to half-ass it, you may as well quit before you’ve even started. If you’re ready, then commit to the program and commit to yourself.

Some Inspiration from Ashley:

“When you try something new, regardless of what it is, you’re awkward and lack confidence. When you’re out of your element, it’s easy to feel inadequate and even uneducated. But the moment you get frustrated is the moment you open yourself up for mental defeat.

I suppose this struggle is the reason we should always try new things. I love making myself uncomfortable. I hate the feeling that I’m incapable, so I work as diligently and with as much drive as possible to make myself proficient. The same will happen for you. Give it time. Soon you’ll be rolling with the pros.”

This was so helpful for me.  I have come to realize about myself that I often underestimate my ability. I feel confident that I can get things done but I often play it safe on how hard I will push it.  This program was perfect for me in that sense!

Goals for Charlie Mike:

-Give it my all;

-Get through each workout;

-Find my true 1RM (1 rep max);

-Get comfortable with getting out of my comfort zone.

-Loose some body fat

6 Weeks Themes:

Week 1-TRY

This week, you’re going to be tested. You’re going to be asked to do things you may be afraid of. But your mission for week one is to try. Attempt every circuit, every lift, and every rep. Today, you may get to do something you’ve never done. Enjoy the challenge

Week 2-BELIEVE

During Week 2, I will ask you to do something you may not have done before: Believe in yourself. You’ve already been through a week of training, so you know what you can look forward to. Now it’s time to believe you can do anything you put your mind to.

Week-3-COMMIT

Week 3 is a notorious dropping-off point for most people. But you’re going to do the opposite, and commit to completing the program. You’re going to get through the week and know that, at the end of the mission, you’ll still be standing tall.

Week 4-CONQUER

This week, I want you to conquer your fears. Is there an exercise you’ve been skipping? Have you been slacking on your big lifts or going easy when you know you could push it? Jump past your weaknesses and limitations. Conquer.

Week 5- EARN IT

This week, ask yourself this question: “What else can I do?” If you want to make everyone in the gym believe you’re the badass you already know you are, you have to earn it. Think you can just slide through the final two weeks? No way? If you want to complete your mission, you need to earn the right to do so.

Week 6-PROVE IT

If you’ve been doing the lifts and completing the conditioning circuits as prescribed in the program, then you’re ready. You’re ready to prove to the world—and more importantly to yourself—just how incredible you are. Run faster, row harder, and lift heavier than you ever have!

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!

You’ve done it. You’ve completed each and every challenge that I’ve thrown at you over these last six weeks and can now proudly bear the badge “MikeCharlie”—mission complete. The culmination of all the sweat, effort, and hurdles you’ve overcome have made you a stronger person, inside and out. You made it, and that’s a big deal. Take a moment to celebrate, but realize that your mission is never over. Push yourself—in the gym, at work, and in life in general. Remember, you’re capable of becoming whoever you want to be!

Goals Check-In Charlie Mike:

Give it my all;

Mission Accomplished! I worked my tail off during this training.  I even repeated a week because I felt like I was unable to give it my all and wanted to be able to say that I had!

Get through each workout;

Mission Accomplished! LAWD!!! Let me tell you …these workouts were NO JOKE!!! After heavy lifts, each workout was followed by 3-5 rounds of metabolic conditioning using body weights, dumbbells and barbells and kettle bells.

Find my true 1RM (1 rep max);

Mission Accomplished!

 1st week lifts:

Chest press: 70

Press Push: 72.5

back squat-105

deadlift-135

front squat-80

6th week lifts:

Chest press: 75

Press Push: 72.5 (no improvement here)

back squat-125

deadlift-152.6

front squat-95

Get comfortable with getting out of my comfort zone.

Mission Accomplished!  The weights I lifted are numbers I never would have attempted on my own. Never imagined lifting and still amazed at my accomplishments.

Loose some body fat:

Mission Accomplished!  I never did a Body fat measurements. (tsk-sk) but in looking at the pictures, I can see some fat loss in my stomach area and legs for sure.

image

Week 1                                  Week 6

image

Week 1                              Week 6

image

Week 1                                    Week 6

 Final words from Ashley:

Remember, never limit yourself. You never know how far you can go or how high you can reach. You are capable of becoming whoever the hell you want to be!

TRUTH!!

Overall, I LOVED this program and will likely do it again some other time. I highly recommend this training and I am so glad that I did it.

How are you at pushing yourself past your comfort zone? Do you weight train? Lift heavy?



Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Charlie Mike Training Review

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Sorry for the late post.

      I found it hard to do running/race training while doing this program.

      I did this during my off season when I had no races planned that would require too much running.

      I hope that helps.

      Good luck with your marathon training….which race are you training for?

      Like

  1. Run Wright says:

    You’ve done great and you’re getting some fab results. You don’t look like you had a lot of body fat to lose in the Week 1 pics but you look so much leaner in Week 6. Good for you my dear!
    That Ashley person is crazy! 280 miles! Whoa! Just kidding. I know athletes do what other people think is crazy. Good for her though. It’s wonderful to be able to push your body to new limits.
    Thanks for sharing this with us

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kimberly Hatting says:

    Yikes. Go YOU! This indeed looks tough. I did P90X several years ago…and have just “maintained” since. I don’t have interest in doing heavy lifting, but I certainly love doing strength work routinely (though I have not been very consistent recently). I want muscle tone and not skinny limbs 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Sounds like a great program — I’ll have to check it out. How many days a week is it? I only do ST 2-3 x week — I strive for 3 x, but some weeks, like this one, I barely squeaked out 2!

    My heaviest weight at home is only 20 lbs. tho. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. runawaybridalplanner says:

    Very cool, and look at your amazing results! She sounds like she has a pretty hard core, but unique program. I kinda like that its for people that aren’t beginners, but more advanced. So many programs now days target only beginners, what a nice change!
    My sister just got me into strength training, as I seem to have hit a plateau in my weightloss journey right now and she swears by it. So heavier weights a couple of days a week (started yesterday) is what’s in the plan. I’m no where near your level, but I’ll have to keep this program in mind for when I get built up a bit more.
    Thanks for sharing! I love her “Never limit yourself” motto, that’s a good one!!!
    Great job on your results and all the training you pushed yourself to do, your awesome!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks!

      I really have missed weight training and am so glad to back at it!!

      Body Builder has plenty of training from beginner to advance-I am sure you can find a program that would work well for you.

      Good luck with adding weight training. I know when I hit a weight loss plateau, it let me focus on something else. the scale never moved again actually but my body has changed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

