Soleful Saturday on Sunday…..United Relay


image

What are you doing June 1st at 2:55pm??? Why don’t you come and join me in Washington DC to run a group leg of the United Relay of America?

image

 

What is the United Relay of America?
The United Relay of America is the first non-stop running relay setting off from Seattle, San Francisco and Los Angeles and meeting in New York City!

Three routes from the West to the East coast of America, over 9,000 runners and one aim: inspire, empower and connect people across America – to not just be part of running history, but to be united for a better world!

image

9,000 strong….I will be one of them….will you?

image

Racing coast-to-coast to save children’s lives. Will you one of them?
I first heard about The United Relay from a FB SPONSORED post. I clicked on it and was immediately intrigued!! I checked the DC, VA, MD routes and put feelers out to my running crews to see if anyone would be interested. I am still waiting to hear back from some people but I have decided I would run with or without others.

A few days later, I got an email from FIT Aproach/Sweat PinkFIT Aproach/Sweat Pink, looking for sweat pink ambassadors to join them in the United Relay. When I opened the email, I saw that they were looking for people to join them in Seattle for the beginning of the race…I was totally bummed. I emailed Alyse and Jamie and asked if there were opportunities for non-Seattle based runners to join the team…..turns out, I didn’t read the email fully and correctly….If you’re unable to be in the Seattle area on 4/27, but want to participate in another leg of the relay, APPLY and let us know where you’ll be running. We’ll be selecting a few outside of Seattle to get Aftershokz headphones and join us for this FUN adventure of a race!…..reading is fundamental!!!

Well this had to be sign right….and I could get a free pair of Aftershokz headphones…..yes please!!!

So I applied and waited paitently…and continued to stalk the United Relay website.

During my research stalking of the site, I found out about Alicia Keyes We Are Here Movement and that they are a Global Non-Profit Partner of the United Relay of America.

What I thought was so cool was to learn that, The We Are Here Movement, founded by Alicia Keys, takes the guesswork out of where and how to give, by curating a coalition of the best organizations, causes and campaigns to provide you with a one-stop shopping to change the world!

Funds donated to the We Are Here Movement are split equally among the We Are Here charity partners so your fundraising efforts help a wider range of causes than ever before!

There are so many great charities and this would make it so much easier for me and not have to choose just one charity to give to...PERFECT!!!

If I run for the We Are Here Movement, I can help all these amazing charities and causes…

imageimageimageimageimageimage

imageimageimageimageimageimage

imageimageimageimage

How awesome is that!!! Such great causes/charities….right?

Where do fundraising dollars go:

75% goes to your chosen charity.

25% goes to the charity Concern Universal, who are organizing and funding the event.

Your sign-up fees

Concern Universal receives the sign-up fee income for the event. Concern Universal is organizing and funding the event. Sign-up fees will be used to cover the organizational costs of United Relay of America with any surplus donated to the charity Concern Universal.

Yup totally in!!!

A few days later, I got an email from Fit Approach….

Hi Tamieka,

Hope the week is treating you well – it’s almost the WEEKEND! WAHOOO! Just a quick reminder to all our Aftershokz and United Relay bloggers….

We’re so excited to be partnering up with Aftershokz and the United Relay and are so glad to have all of you amazing runners, walkers and ahem, joggers out there Sweat Pink’ing this course up with us!

Oh yeah – AND CONGRATS – because you’re in for the #unitedrelay #aftershokz campaign.

Yippeeeeee!!!!

I even get to share the love with you all! I get to give my readers, my family and my friends 30% off the registration fee using the links below:

*Seattle 5K – https://unitedrelay.org/run/red/1/?p=30

*Everywhere else – http://www.unitedrelay.org/?p=30

So what to you say……will you join me in Washington DC or anywhere along the United Relay of America???

I hope you will!!!


This post was sponsored by Aftershokz. All opinions express are my own. I truly appreciate all of the brands that support Fit Approach and the Sweat Pink community.



Join me at RunningMoms.com-It’s Free!



Are you joining me at any of the Zooma runs?

If so, don’t forget to use TAMIEKA16 for 10% off.

InstaText_104.png



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Soleful Saturday on Sunday…..United Relay

Leave a Reply

