Ultimate Coffee on this Soleful Saturday -May 2016

Happy Saturday All!!

Usually on Saturday’s I would share something with you on Soleful Saturday but it is the 1st Saturday of the Month, so that means that it is time for us to share coffee together and chit-chat.

If you don’t know, on the 1st Saturday of the month, we come together and have coffee with , Coco at Running With Perseverance, Deborah at Confessions Of A Mother Runner, and Lynda at Fitness Mom Wine Country at their Ultimate Coffee Date!

image

Make sure to stop by and enjoy coffee with a few other bloggers.

If we were having coffee, I would let you know that I really can’t believe that we are in May! Like really, how is that possible!!!!

If we were having coffee,  I would let you know that my son was suppose to have a 9am soccer game, so I did not make it to DC for the Race for the Cure. I would also let you know that the game got cancelled and so now I am bummed that I am not participating.

If we were having coffee,  I wold tell you that I am am not one of those folks that believes in superstition and those kinds of things but I find it so interesting that in the DC area, it has been cool/cold and rainy since Prince died. I still can’t wrap my mind around that happening! Prince was one of the few artist that I actually saw in concert. I really do love his music and just can’t believe he is dead!

If we were having coffee,  I would tell you that I am finishing week 4 of my 12 week weight training program and so glad to be moving on to the next phase.  This 1st phase was really hard with really long workouts that I never got all the way through and that really messed with my head everyday.  The next phase is separated by upper/lower body instead of full body workouts and I am hoping this means less time to complete. We will see…

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my kids are loving their activities and continuing to do well.

My son has been struggling with feeling confident in his skills as a soccer player but with practice, a few pep talks and support, he is feeling more confident and doing well.  Due to new United Soccer rules placing kids by their birth year, he will be in U-9 again next year and I am actually glad about that.  This past year he has been playing 2 years up and although he is able to keep up, I think another year of building his soccer foundation will be good for him.

image

My daughter continues  to love gymnastics and we got the official invitation for her to join the competitive team starting in June! We are so excited! She can not wait to be with ‘the big girls’!

If we were having coffee,  I would tell you I am struggling with a severe sweet tooth! I should be using my delicious Nut Butter Nation Rain Forest Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter to get me through but that is just not cutting it ;(. I don’t know what is going on but I need to get it together!

image

If we were having coffee,  I wold let you know that I am so excited to try out the AfterShokz headphones.  With my affiliation with Fit Approach, I was selected to participate in the United Relay while wearing these bad boys!! I have been through 2 pairs of wireless headphones that have not worked well for me.  I am optimistic that these will be amazing!!

image

If we were having coffee,  I would let you know that as a mom, I think everyday should be Mother’s Day, but since I am not in charge, the 2nd Sunday of May will have to do, I guess! Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms. I hope you get to sleep in and do whatever your heart desires!!  I think I might venture out to the pool and get some laps in by myself for the 1st time.

If we were having coffee, I would let you know that I have started PT…long over due!

Well I think I have chatted you up enough, so I will stop hear.

Do you have anything to share with me? Do you drink coffee?



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

21 thoughts on “Ultimate Coffee on this Soleful Saturday -May 2016

  1. Ana says:

    I say everyday IS mother’s day! And I treat them as such!

    I wish I could teach my son to be more patient with sports, and how much practice it takes to perfect it. I hope your son finds his confidence. And way to go to your daughter!!

    Man, if I had the secret recipe to staying away from sweets… I came back with a lot of sweets from my sisters’ bakery.

    It is very sad about Prince :~(

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily @ Out and About says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Tamieka! Congratulations on your son making progress with his soccer, and congrats to your daughter being invited to join the competitive team this summer! You must be a very proud mother. =) That is crazy that the weather in DC has been cool/rainy since Prince’s passing. I still can’t believe he is gone, too. I totally relate to the sweet tooth – I think I have problems with it all the time. =) Yay for starting PT – I think it will make a world of difference for you. My PT was a godsend for me! Big hugs and I hope you had a fantastic weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thank you!!

      We are excited for both of them! They have worked really hard this year and it is showing for sure! My pocketbook may not be as happy as I am -lol!! All for them though!

      PT has been going well…I really need the accountability for sure!

      RIP Prince…it is still so shocking to me!

      Sweet tooth go away….I have a bathing suit to fit into for my girl’s trip!! LOL!!

      Like

  3. Coco says:

    You know I love my Starbucks! Congrats on your little gymnast, an on your son for working to improve his skills. I know there’s pressure for good kids to “play up” in sports, but there are such big differences between physical and mental development at that age. Hopefully he will find his strengths this year. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    How exciting for your son & your daughter! And I think sweet tooths run amok have been going around, although actually I cleaned up my act when I was sick. But next week I’ll be traveling and running a half, sooooo . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michelle @ Running with Attitude says:

    Glad to hear that you’ve started PT! Hope it helps.

    That dark chocolate peanutbutter looks so good! I should not go looking for that one in the stores – it would be my downfall for sure!

    It’s great that your kids are loving their activities! And a big congrats to your daughter for making the competitive team!!

    Hope you have a great Mother’s Day!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks! PT is going really well 😉

      The dark chocolate is yummy! They have a honey PB too…YUMSS!!

      We are so excited. We have an informational meeting on Wednesday….gotta find out how my pockets won’t be so happy-lol!!

      Happy Mother’s Day to you!

      Like

  6. Mar on the Run! says:

    Yes, big coffee drinker over here! You’ve had quite the busy activities! That is so weird about Prince and the rain… hmmm. Did you hear about the radio stations that coordinated playing Nothing Compares 2 U at exactly 7 days and 13 hours since his passing. Chills!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Fitnessmomwinecountry says:

    Tamieka, I love reading about families and fitness. It makes me smile all the time to see how active your family is. I remember the days when our oldest son {he’s 24 now} played soccer on the traveling team. It was intense. Our other two kids did not pick the sport up, but football, swimming, track and baseball are year round sports in this house. Have a fabulous weekend and happy Mother’s Day to you my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Awwww-thanks!!

      It is really awesome to watch them! Even outside of their activities they are active physically and mentally. We were at a cookout last weekend and we were cleaning up, we dumped the ice cooler and they created a game out if ICE!!! 45 minutes of fun! haha!

      Happy Mother’s Day to you as well!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

