Feelings of loss….. plus a PT review

Happy Tuesday everyone!!

Sorry I have been a bit MIA recently ( I feel like I have been saying that a lot recently).

Last week was a little tough for me emotionally and I just needed a little break.  Last week on May 27th it would have been my childhood best friend Joy’s 43th birthday.  I have shared a bit about her with you all here.  It has been 14 years since she was murdered and although I think about her every day, last week she was in my thoughts and my heart really heavy. A few weeks ago, I was going through some old pictures and I found her funeral announcement and an old picture of her 4 beautiful children.  I was blessed to have been named as their God Mother. My heavy heart and sadness set in last week because, it hit me that I have failed as a God Mother. I have not seen any of my God Children since a year after Joy’s death. Their grandmother packed up and moved away after the funeral and I lost contact with them.  They are in their early to late 20s now. I really wish I could find them and see how they are doing.  I think I am going to really devote sometime to finding their grandmother and them.  Something is really pulling me in that direction.

 

image

Way back in the day…..

Ok enough of that….let ‘s do a little PT check in shall we.

Last month, I let you know that I finally started PT…it only took me 1 year to finally go-ha!

Well last Thursday was my last PT session before heading to seeing my Dr this morning.

From the PT’s Progress report:

My initial evaluation 4/11/16:

Pain  level was at a 5 mostly during/after running

ROM (Range of Motion) (The range through which the knee can bend and straighten)

  • Flexion (Bending the joint resulting in a decrease of angle; moving the lower leg toward the back of the thigh) was at 140 degrees  ( I actually don’t think this measurment was right)
  • Extension  (Straightening the joint resulting in an increase of angle; moving the lower leg away from the back of the thigh.) was -3 degreesRange of motion of the knee

Myotome /Strength:

Hip-5/5

Quad: 4/5

HS ( I don’t know what this is?) 4/5

Gluteus Medius- 3/5

Gluteus Maximus-4/5

 

My 6 week progress  evaluation 5/26/16:

  • Pain  level was at a 10 mostly during/after running.  I had not really been running when I got the initial evaluation done…I guess that is why I reported my pain level at a 5 at the time.

ROM (Range of Motion) (The range through which the knee can bend and straighten)

  • Flexion (Bending the joint resulting in a decrease of angle; moving the lower leg toward the back of the thigh) was at 138 degrees  
  • Extension  (Straightening the joint resulting in an increase of angle; moving the lower leg away from the back of the thigh.) was 0Range of motion of the knee

Myotome /Strength:

Hip-5/5

Quad: 4/5

HS ( I don’t know what this is?) 4/5

Gluteus Medius-4/5

Gluteus Maximus-5/5

 

Well overall, I guess there has been some improvement but not much.

After seeing the Dr. today, he is really not sure what we should do next (If I am trying to avoid getting cortisone).

We discussed a few experimental procedures:

Platelet-rich plasma (Abbreviation: PRP) is blood plasma that has been enriched with platelets. As a concentrated source of autologous platelets, PRP contains (and releases through degranulation) several different growth factors and other cytokines that stimulate healing of bone and soft tissue.

-Stem cell treatment takes advantage of the body’s ability to repair itself. With amniotic stem cell therapy, the sports medicine physician injects stem cells from amniotic tissues into your body. These stem cells have anti-inflammatory properties, similar to cortisone and steroid shots.

I will be doing some research on both.

He also let me know that a knee replacement is inevitable sometime in my future…..no time soon still not what I wanted to hear.

Conclusion:

For the meantime continued PT and some stronger meds.

Well there it is.

How have you been? Let me know what you have been up to in the past 10 days? What have you been blogging about?



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

 

 

11 thoughts on “Feelings of loss….. plus a PT review

  1. Michelle @ Running with Attitude says:

    I’m really sorry about your friend – I cannot imagine having someone taken from me in that way. I hope you can find a way to re-connect with your godchildren.

    It stinks that PT isn’t helping you more. 10 is a serious pain level! I hope you can find some relief soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    Sorry to read about your friend. What an awful situation. I don’t have much PT experience, but I often find that time helps me. It is so hard taking time off, but the down time usually helps me. Hang in there !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I am sorry about your friend — truly, I have no words, having never experienced that kind of loss, just sympathy and virtual hugs.

    Well, that really sucks that PT is not helping much. 😦

    10 is an awful lot of pain. 😦 My ankle? Mostly a 1 or 2, on very rare occasions in the beginning a 5 if it got really irritated. If my pain were a 10, I doubt I’d still be running.

    Just got back from a trip to Seattle to visit some of Mr. Judy’s family & a meetup with Paula from neveradullbling (and her husband James).

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      Thanks. Since her case was never solved, it feels so raw ;(.

      Yeah-I am torn about continuing with PT-we will see….

      10 for sure after a long run. but I am also wondering if some of it may just be fatigue. I am only running at the track workouts. I am hoping that when I begin Tri training that the increased use might help a bit….we will see…

      Ohhh Seattle…what was the weather like? So neat to meet a blogger friend-right?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chocolaterunsjudy says:

        The weather in Seattle was exactly what you’d expect, unfortunately. It got beautiful the minute we left (pretty literally).

        10 is definitely a lot, and I don’t know how you do it. My bet is all the cross training will help — at least I hope so!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

