Thursday Throwdown #5- Summer Transition

Hi everyone!  Happy Thursday!

On Thursday’s on the blog, I come together with Sarah, Lex to bring you Throwdown Thursday (TT) Link-up.  This is new link up that we started in April. Initially we were lining up every other week however, we have decided to adjust and post weekly.  We hope this be more convenient and allow for you to join us when you can.

This months theme: SUMMER!!

Week 1- transitioning to summer fitness activities

Week 2- Summer vacation plans (last Thursday of the Spring)

Week 3 – must have summer gear

Week 4-favorite summer activities ( indoor and out)

Week 5- favorite food/drinks for a summer cookout

We hope that you can join us on our monthly challenges — make sure to connect with our blogs, twitters and instagrams!

 

 

grab button for Fit Balling Running Mom

Let’s talk transitioning to summer fitness activities today.

If you have been reading my blog, you know that I have been struggling with running due to arthritis in my right knee.  On Tuesday, I went to the Dr and discussed a few things and options but overall and for right now, it is time to officially make the transition to more cross training and less running.

I am feeling okay with this as it is just about time for me to transition to Triathlon training.  Yup, its getting real.  The Sprint Triathlon that I signed up for is 106 days away…3 1/2 months….14 weeks….but who is counting-right?

I found 2 training programs that will give me a good pre-training and full 12 week training. Both are tailored towards the extreme novice triathlete (that’s me) and I feel pretty good about both.

Here is my plan for transitioning:

-Continue the  Breaking Boundaries 12 week program. I have had a few do-over weeks. I will be repeating week 7 next week and continuing until my trip to Costa Rica at the end of the month.

-Incorporate the Pre-Training Triathlon. I will be getting a borrowed bike this weekend. I have begun swimming outside of lessons and really enjoying it. I have gotten 2 swims in so far. I will start tri training with a strong run base, so I feel good about that part of the training.  Putting it all together…that will be the interesting part.

-Continue with heated yoga.  As hot as it is in the DC area these days….there is nothing like heated yoga to loosen and stretch out these muscles and ligaments.

-Hydrate!!! I have a 2.5 gallon water container in my office and my goal is to finish it every week.  The way this heat and humidity is set up in the DC area….hydrate or DIE!!!  I’ll take hydrate for 200 please Alex!

Well there you ahve it. My current plan for transitioning into summer and summer activities.  I am excited for summer!

tri something new

How will you be transitioning to summer fitness activities?

Jon us on the link -up and let us know!



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Thursday Throwdown #5- Summer Transition

  1. Lex @ Flecksoflex says:

    You are NOT lying about the need to hydrate with this DC weather! The hot yoga classes will definitely get your loosened up and ready for August in the DC area!

    Good luck with your triathlon training! I’m sure the cool pool water is a great relief from the hot days! #ttlinkup

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    It’s been a hard transition for me. After weeks of gloomy weather, it got nice briefly, then Seattle was awful, and I’m back but wasn’t feeling well so haven’t run . . . .til very soon. Like, in an hour or so. I wish I could do it earlier on Thursdays but I just can’t.

    I’m hoping running in the heat will help me with my 5k Sat which doesn’t start til 9:30. It’ll be warm, but hopefully not overly humid.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

