Financial Fitness

Today’s post is about a different type of fitness-One that is just as important to me as my physical/mental fitness!

If you have been reading my blog for a little, I shared with you a while back how humbling the past 2 years has been for me.

A Quick recap:

-I left my job in 2014 to support my mom through the her heart issues;

-I thought I would find a job quickly;

-I didn’t;

-The limited savings that I had, got gobbled up faster than I imagined;

-I fell deeply into debt and all of my accounts went into default

Once I finally started working in July of 2014, I made a commitment to myself to get back on financial track.  Being in default and way over in debt was/is something that I am not AT ALL comfortable with.

Being the planner that I am, I started thinking of and developing a plan.

My plan:

-contact all of my creditors and set up payment plans (accomplished);

-consistently pay on time; (accomplished)

-by the end of 2016, pay off 2 debts (on track to be accomplished)

-begin savings plan (accomplished)

-Contact my current bank to discuss benefits of applying for a secured credit card (accomplished)

As I was developing my plan, I remembered the importance of SMART goals and how I had discussed SMART Goals as it pertained to fitness a little while back. For sure, SMART Goals as it pertains to financial fitness works just as well.

My SMART goals towards my financial fitness:

Specific:

-I will get back on a positive financial track;

Measurable/Attainable:

-By the end of 2016:

  • I will have paid off 2 creditors;
  • I will have increased my credit score by 100 pts;

-By the end of 2017

-I will reduce my creditor debt by 1/2;

Relevant:

-Being financial fit is so important to me. I have desires to move out of our townhouse and into a house within the next year and a half.  I need to be financial fit to be able to do that successfully.

Time-Bound:

-I have a time-bound goals for the end of 2016 and 2017.

 

I am always so thankful for resources that will allow me to make the best decisions based on my needs. Contacting my bank and sharing with them my financial goals, allowed for me to discuss options that will support my financial fitness. In speaking to them, they advised me to apply for and responsibly use a secured credit card.  This action will work well with my efforts of paying on my debts and will support my financial fitness goals.

When I decided that getting a secured card would help my in my desire to reestablish my credit and improve my credit score, I was glad to have been told about a great resource for Credit Card options. Credit Card Insider, was created as a resource for consumers, by consumers.  According to their website, it’s their mission to provide actionable advice and content to help you understand credit and take it into your own hands. What I liked best about this website, was that it gave editor and consumer reviews for all the credit cards in their system.  From secured cardspre-paid cards to reward/travel, they have a credit card description, review and insight.  I was so happy to see that my bank’s secured card was reviewed and scored well on the website.

What I liked most about the website was the informational break down provided in the Insider Academy.  Here they walk a consumer through an example scenario to explain some common credit card terms and how  actions can impact credit history. The visuals and the language make it helpful and easy to understand with an example scenario of getting, using, and paying on a credit card.

I am so excited about my 2016/2017 Financial  Fitness outlook and looking forward to putting as much focus and effort into it as I do my physical/mental fitness.

Strong mind, body and pocket book 😉 !

financial fitness2.jpg



Do you find that you are financial fit? What tools did/do you use? Any tips for me? 

It has been a while and glad to Link up with Jill for Fitness, Health, and Happiness.

jill conyers link up


I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Financial Fitness

  1. jillconyers says:

    Financial fitness is so so important but too often overlooked. Your goals are on the right track for financial fitness.

    Thanks for sharing with the Fitness Health & Happiness community. Have a fantastic weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

