WW-It is not always bad to be an opportunist…right?

Hi, my name is Tamieka and I am an opportunist!

In looking at the definition of opportunists, I think it makes taking advantage of opportunities look bad.

i-think-everyone-is-an-opportunist-if-they-have-an-opportunity-quote-1

Definition:

noun

  1. a person who exploits circumstances to gain immediate advantage rather than being guided by consistent principles or plans.

adjective (opportunistic)

  1. exploiting chances offered by immediate circumstances without reference to a general plan or moral principle.

For me , I see don’t see be an opportunist or opportunistic as a bad thing.

The first example, I think of as being an opportunist is in taking leadership positions.  I was raised by strong leaders who have instilled strong leadership skills in me.  It is not often that when there is an opportunity to lead or be a part of leadership, that I don’t throw my hat in.   I will take every opportunity to be on the side of the decision making. Right now, I am the team manager for my women’s football team, chair of a committee on the PTA and seeking board opportunities on the Parent Association at my daughter’s gymnastics training club. My goal in the next few years is to be the President of the Parent Association at my daughter’s gymnastics training club and President of the PTA.

A few more examples:

At the office:

How I am an opportunist and ‘Lean In’ in the office. I work in a field that is prominently women and for the most part my direct and office meetings are with women. It is very rare that when I go to a meeting that I don’t sit at one of the heads of the table. When I am in larger county meetings that tend to have more men in the meetings, I still look to sit at one of the heads of the conference room table.  It is always interesting to me that the ends of the table tend to be the ones that are left available with most people choosing to sit around or even on the outskirts of the table before sitting at the head of the table.  I find sitting at the head of the table gives me the opportunity to have my voice/ideas heard, for me to make eye contact and to ensure that meeting members know I am invested and interested.

At home:

I cherish every moment with my kiddies and hubby. The time, moments, minutes, hours, days, years are going by so fast! In  blink, I have been married for 10 years.  My son is 8 and my daughter turns 6 on Friday!! I am opportunistic at creating  every memory I can with each of them.

 

10 yr anniversary celebration

 

In friendships:

As a busy mom and wife, I find that my friendships tend to take a back seat to the business of my life. I am so thankful that I ave friends who understand that and are available when the opportunity comes for us to get together.  The shenanigans and fun that we have make every time together so much fun!

 

In Health /Fitness:

I think this is where I am am most opportunistic.  I find that I am always looking for opportunities to do different things as it pertains to me health and fitness.  If there are opportunities for workouts, meals, drinks, snacks, training fuel, etc., I tend to take the opportunity to try something new.  I like mixing things up and finding things that works well with my fitness goals.

When I am racing, I tend to be opportunistic and use someone in front of me to help keep me at a comfortable pace or to push me at the end.

In blogging:

A perfect example of me being an opportunist is joining link-up like this one.  Link-up introduce me to new bloggers and bloggers to me…win…win-right?

I took the perfect opportunity to join Kristy’s blog-hop this Fall to get myself back into blogging and to introduce new bloggers to my blog and to reintroduce bloggers who I had connected to before my blog break over the summer.

 

To me, being opportunistic is taking advantage of a situation to give you the outcome that you desire. To me that is not a bad thing.

I am an opportunist and proud of it!!

It’s Wednesday so that means  Wednesday’s Word with my favorite word-smith blogger friend Deb’s!

Can you guess Today’s word……

WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

 

Make sure you head over and see what other bloggers a talking about today.

Do you have any instances where you have been an opportunist?



I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “WW-It is not always bad to be an opportunist…right?

  1. Montana @ Pretty Lil Mudder says:

    I love this and I don’t feel like its bad at all to be an opportunist! How else will you be able to change things or get ahead in life if you don’t take opportunities when they come your way? Many people won’t step up to the plate, but I enjoy taking on new challenges and showing people my worth. It also makes me feel good to be in charge of things 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Coco says:

    I think it’s the “without moral principle” that makes “opportunist” a negative term. Your examples relate to seizing opportunities that mesh with your principles, which is great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I agree – I didn’t realize the “without thinking about what is fair or right” part of the definition of opportunist until I looked it up when writing this post. I laughed when you said you’re an opportunist by linking up to Wednesday Word. That’s definitely a good opportunist because I love having you join us! 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

