Bday Countdown with a December Whole 30

How…..how is it December already!!!! I really think time is flying….it was just summer!!!

The start of December means the countdown to my birthday…..30 days….14 hrs and counting…yes I am a New Year’s Baby!!! I have a few thoughts in my head about how I want to celebrate, knowing me I will make the final decision on New Year’s Eve…lol! For a planner, I am such a procrastinator-it is pretty funny!

almost-my-bday

For the month of December, I have decided to do a round of Whole 30. It has been about 1 year since I have done a full fledged Whole 30 program-the last time was in Sept/Oct of 2015. A few weeks ago  I shared with you my struggles of getting back to working out as well as getting my eating under control.  I am feeling that my workout mojo is coming back but my eating is out of control (cue the 25 mini tootsie roll wrappers in the trash can!!). I am in serious need of a CTRL-ALT-DEL in my eating and the Whole 30 is a great options for me to do that.

whole 30.jpg

When I did my first round of the Whole30 last year, I got  IT STARTS WITH FOOD  by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. The book was a good read about the science behind the Whole 30 program. I was hoping that it would have provided some good recipes but it only gave a few basic recipes and food plans to get you started on the program.

it-starts-with-food

Since then I have heard that there is a newer book The Whole30The 30-Day Guide to Total Health and Food Freedom.  The Whole30 prepares participants for the program in five easy steps, previews a typical thirty days, teaches the basic meal preparation and cooking skills needed to succeed, and provides a month’s worth of recipes designed to build confidence in the kitchen and inspire the taste buds.

I am still debating if I should get this book…I have already done a round (even though it was over a year ago) and there is always support a click away on the Whole30 website, Google, Pinterest, etc. but having some recipes handy might be good. We will see.

WHAT IS WHOLE 30:

I like this answer as given on the website:

Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you put an end to unhealthy cravings and habits, restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, and balance your immune system.   Cut out all the psychologically unhealthy, hormone-unbalancing, gut-disrupting, inflammatory food groups for a full 30 days. Let your body heal and recover from whatever effects those foods may be causing. Push the “reset” button with your metabolism, systemic inflammation, and the downstream effects of the food choices you’ve been making.

WHAT ARE SOME OF THE BENEFITS OF WHOLE 30:

The physical benefits of the Whole30 are profound. More than 95% of participants lose weight and improve their body composition, without counting or restricting calories. Also commonly reported: consistently high energy levels, improved athletic performance, better sleep, improved focus and mental clarity, and a sunnier disposition.

The psychological benefits of the Whole30 may be even more dramatic. Through the program, participants report effectively changing long-standing, unhealthy habits related to food, developing a healthier body image, and a dramatic reduction or elimination of cravings, particularly for sugar and carbohydrates (did I mention the mini tootsie roll wrappers!!!!)

The Whole30 Program Rules

 Eat real food.

Eat meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds. Eat foods with very few ingredients, all pronounceable ingredients, or better yet, no ingredients listed at all because they’re totally natural and unprocessed.

 Avoid for 30 days.

  • Do not consume added sugar of any kind, real or artificial.No maple syrup, honey, agave nectar, coconut sugar, Splenda, Equal, Nutrasweet, xylitol, stevia, etc. Read your labels, because companies sneak sugar into products in ways you might not recognize.
  • Do not consume alcohol in any form, not even for cooking.
  • Do not eat grains. This includes (but is not limited to) wheat, rye, barley, oats, corn, rice, millet, bulgur, sorghum, amaranth, buckwheat, sprouted grains and all of those gluten-free pseudo-grains like quinoa.
  • Do not eat legumes. This includes beans of all kinds (black, red, pinto, navy, white, kidney, lima, fava, etc.), peas, chickpeas, lentils, and peanuts. No peanut butter, either. This also includes all forms of soy – soy sauce, miso, tofu, tempeh, edamame, and all the ways we sneak soy into foods (like lecithin).
  • Do not eat dairy. This includes cow, goat or sheep’s milk products such as cream, cheese (hard or soft), kefir, yogurt (even Greek), and sour cream… with the exception of clarified butter or ghee. (See below for details.)
  • Do not consume carrageenan, MSG or sulfites. If these ingredients appear in any form on the label of your processed food or beverage, it’s out for the Whole30.

When looking at the ‘what to avoid list’-it sure does feel like a lot- doesn’t it but I choose to focus on what I will eat…real food versus what I can’t.

 

The last time, I did Whole 30, I was also training for a half marathon and ended up a bit too this for my liking due to the increased running in my training. This time around, I will be doing less cardio and more lifting, so it will be interesting to see the difference in how my body responds.

I have taken pictures and measurements but I like that the program does not encourage during this during the 30 days.

The actually list it as one of the rules:

You are not allowed to step on the scale or take any body measurements for the duration of the program.This is about so much more than just weight loss, and to focus on your body composition means you’ll miss out on the most dramatic and lifelong benefits this plan has to offer. So, no weighing yourself, analyzing body fat or taking comparative measurements during your Whole30.

As I was last year doing this program, I am excited and ready.  The reset is completely necessary for me at this time and I look forward to reaping the many benefits of the program right in time to close out 2016, celebrate a new year and my BIRTHDAY!!

Have you ever done a round of Whole 30 or any other elimination program?


I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Pinterest

 

4 thoughts on “Bday Countdown with a December Whole 30

Leave a Reply

