TOTR….2017 race planning begins

Happy Tuesday all.

I am coming to you from Brooklyn NY today. I popped in for a day trip as my dad is having back surgery today and I felt it in my spirit to be here for him.  He is so low key and totally tried to stop me from coming but just like him, I am a bit hard headed and did what I wanted to do! I will head back home tomorrow afternoon or so.

I had said it before and probably until the New Year will continue to say it…..how in the world is it almost Christmas and almost 2017…..like really…how is that possible!!!

As I think about my running year (2016 Race review coming next week), I feel content with the races that I ran and the effort that I gave. Of course with any review the next thought automatically goes to ‘well what about next year?’….or is that just me-lol!

My ability to run races will depend on both my daughter’s and son’s competition and game schedule but I will set up some possible races for now.


So far, I have the usual races with MCRRC, that I tend to run each year. This is a local running/racing club that has a nominal yearly membership and offers low key races throughout the year that if you ran each race on the calendar, you are paying about $1 a race! No fancy medals of anything but a nice local low key race, which I prefer most times.

MCRRC races I plan to run in 2017:

Winter:

  • New Year’s Day 5K
  • Piece of Cake 10K

Spring:

  • Memorial 4 Mile

Summer:

  • Run For Roses 5k
  • Midsummer Night’s Mile
  • MCCRC Suds and Soles 5K

Fall:

  • Matthew Henson Trail 5K
  • Candy Cane City 5K
  • Jingle Bell Jog 8k

 

Other Running Races for 2017:

Winter:

No races outside of MCRRC races at this time

Spring:

Hot Chocolate Philly– this all depends on my daughter’s gymnastics schedule.

Race For The Cure 5k

Summer:

No races outside of MCRRC races at this time

Fall:

Baltimore Running Festival Marathon Relay

 

Triathlons

Spring:

Rev 3 Westfields Sprint

Fall:

Frederick Women’s Triathlon

Now that I put it on paper (the web), I sure do have a nice full racing schedule for next year. I am sure a few will drop off and a few more will be added but for now, this looks pretty good.

Have you decided your 2017 Racing Schedule yet? Any new races for you?



Tuesdays on the Run

I’m linking up today with MCM Mama Runs, Marcia’s Healthy Slice, and My No Guilt Life for the Tuesdays on the Run linkup.

Today’s topic is ‘show me your bling’ but I haven’t finished that post yet so that will have to wait until next week.



 

 

 

13 thoughts on “TOTR….2017 race planning begins

  1. Montana Ross says:

    I typically plan my race schedule about 6-8 months in advance. I have a bunch on my calendar from now until next fall when I run my first full marathon- the Chicago marathon! Other than that I , like you, will most likley add a few random races here and there. I would say I may change some of the ones I had planned but as I’m already registered for all of the ones I have on my 2017 schedule and they all cost a bunch of money I don’t think I’ll be dropping aout of any!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    I haven’t decided yet — but then aside from my halfs, I tend to be go with the flow when it comes to races.So many things I need to work on right now!

    I hope that you are able to do the races you would like to do. Do you get cake at the piece of cake 10k? My kind of race!

    Good vibes for your Dad, too! I hope it goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

