The scale is a LIAR…..sometimes!

If you don’t know…..I DESPISE the scale!!  I literally threw my scale out 2 years ago and have not looked back.

Weight scale next to a waste basket full of discarded weight scales

When I began my transition into a healthier lifestyle, I used My Fitness Pal and weighed every week.  It was so satisfying seeing the number on the scale go down every week…..until it didn’t ;(.

scale cry

 

I had gotten so accustomed to it going down that when it stopped moving, I didn’t know how to handle it.  Mind you although the scale wasn’t moving, my body was transforming by losing body fat and gaining muscle but none of that matter because I was OBSESSED with the numbers on the scale.

Once I threw out the scale, the liberation was AMAZING!!!

measureing tape

Instead of stepping on the scale and getting validation from that, I started paying attention to:

  • How I felt;
  • The numbers on the measuring tape;
  • How my pictures looked;
  • How my clothes fit;
  • How my body was changing;
  • My lean muscle growth;
  • My overall well being.

I stayed in the mindset that the scale doesn’t matter as long as I :

  • Feel good;
  • Look good in and out of my clothes
  • kept my muscle tone

 

Well here I am in the Summer of 2017 and I DON’T:

  • Feel good- I fell sluggish (I can hardly get up to workout and struggle to get through them);
  • Look good in and out of my clothes-I am really struggling with how my clothes are fitting…actually not fitting;
  • have not kept my muscle tone-my muscle tone is just not what it used to be. It used to be that my muscle just popped…now I have to flex super hard to see them ;(

So I did it….I stepped on a scale and

OMG scale

I know…I know….the scale is just a number but when everything else feels like -ish too, the number on the scale totally validates my feelings for me at this time!

As of August 1 2017, I am the heaviest I have been in I can’t remember how long!  My measurements are the highest they have been in I can’t remember how long.  All of my clothes are fitting tighter than they have fit in I don’t know how long. My relaxed  look in workout gear picture is the yuckiest it has been in I can’t remember how long!  I really don’t know what has happened and what is going on but I have got to get my -ish together.

I have worked too hard to have this be my normal. Let me be clear….my normal!

As of today, August 1 2017, I am getting it together!

What does that mean?

Back to:

  • Meal prepping;
  • Limited snacking;
  • Weight training ;
  • HIIT sessions.

Yes, I am still training for my September Triathlon but the above will also be necessary to get me there healthy and fit and ready to compete.  Right now, I feel my weight and increased body fat are the reason I am struggling to improve in all areas of my training.

On top of my weekly Triathlon training workouts recaps, I will post bi-weekly pics, weigh ins and measurements.  Only way to keep me accountable-right?  If you don’t see a post with pics, weigh ins and measurements from me by August 15th…get on me!!! I need the accountability…really I do!!!

Have you ever felt like you are starting all over? How did you overcome it? What did you do?



 

I would love to stay connected:

Follow me on:
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

5 thoughts on “The scale is a LIAR…..sometimes!

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Seems like a lot of us have this very subject on the mind! I’m not up a lot, not enough to be noticeable to others, just enough to make my clothes a little uncomfortable.

    I must say you look pretty darn good in your IG photos.

    But if you don’t think you’re really relaxed on eating, have you been to the dr lately (this is a do as I say, not as I do suggestion). I can tell you that at your age no matter how hard I tried it seemed I couldn’t lose weight. Perimenopause really kicked my booty (and not in a good way).

    I don’t own a scale, btw. Haven’t in decades. But I do attend weekly Weight Watchers meetings — that’s what works for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fitballingrunningmom says:

      I have been reading a few blogs that have talked about the same thing. I guess summer time is the time for relaxation in all aspects.

      I don’t think anyone else is noticing but I sure do…uuugh!!

      Thank God for filters and angles on IG…lol!

      I think I am relaxing on my eating and work outs I am giving myself through August to see what changes I can make. Thanks for the suggestion, I may make an appt with the Dr just to follow up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. esrigby says:

    I have dealt with weight issues my whole life and tried everything – diets galore, different workout programs. I lost 65 lbs at one point and ran a half marathon, but it has all come back. I reached a point when I realized dieting and restricting just weren’t working for me. It was making me an emotional wreck and promoting feelings of despising my body and my self. My dietician friend recently introduced me to the book “Intuitive Eating”. I’ve been reading it and following the principles and it is life changing. I don’t feel out of control with food any more and my emotional health has improved drastically. My body feels happier too. I can’t recommend it enough, especially to someone who is struggling with dieting weight gain or motivation. The book is on Amazon and there’s a workbook too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

